We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Families Pirate adventure”
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We let the children have some imput to where we went this year and they wanted this hotel so I thought we'd go with it. On arrival from the outside, yeh looked good. Over an hour wait for our room to be sorted is too long for kids. Then when we got to our room we were pleasantly shocked that they had not been upgraded like the front and reception of the hotel. This we could have accepted if we didn't have to choose our time to go to the restaurant to eat because it's not big enough to accommodate the guests in the hotel. The style of food was same as, same as and it was obviously a problem trying to keep the food hot as most of the time it was just warm and I have to say unfortunately breakfast was not much better. So pick your time carefully or you will find yourselves in a long queue. As a themed hotel I feel that there's a lot of work still to be done to bring it up to the mark, but we did find the town and the beaches are superb.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
There are newer reviews for Pirates VIllage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

OK first the negatives...Having read the reviews before we went we were already for the food to be bad, and the reviews weren't wrong! we took our 6 yr old granddaughter and all she ate all week was chips and pizza every dinner and tea, there were chicken nuggets but they looked like they had been there since the previous week! There were other choices for adults but like other comments the meat was very tough on many occasions, the food ran out, the plates ran out and the queues for food were horrendous and we aren't even in peak season yet! The dining room is far to small and inadequate for the amount of guests!
When we arrived mid afternoon we had a two and a half hour wait for our room to be ready, not ideal when you've left early hours of the morning with a 6 yr old in tow.
The sun beds...if you cant beat em join em has to be the philosophy here, be prepared to first secure your parasol with a towel this should be done well before 9am to secure you a place, then at 9am 'on your marks get set get ready' to wait for the man to unlock them! what is annoying here is that people will do all this and then leave there sun bed with towels on till late afternoon!!
The good points...The pool area and slides are fantastic for children, there is a lifeguard there every day, they pirates attack twice a week, which all the kids love, they do a fantastic job of entertaining the children, the kids club is great, they can drop in and out all day, which is brill for kids when it just gets too hot. There is a mini disco every night, followed by some mediocre entertainment, all in all our granddaughter had an amazing time but we wont return unless things improve, which is a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entertainment if you want any sleep!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millymolly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We decided to visit here with the grand kids because of the theme we had 3 kids with us between the age of 4 and 11 the hotel is only 3star and this is lower than we normally would stay in but the kids were so excited about going on a pirate themed holiday, the kids loved every minute of it didn't want to come home .but honestly the the food was terrible we were all inclusive wish we were self catering because we ate out every meal which added a lot of cost to the holiday and we took our own bottles of drink on a night time because the local stuff is more like rocket fuel yuk the rooms are very basic but self catering you do have microwave, toaster ,kettle ,fridge which is what you need, the entertainment team through the day are excellent , especially the days the pirates come and the kids club your kids are very well looked after there really good with them . I think they should dump the illusionist and the parrot night coz sorry it is so boring people are getting wise to the 9am Sunbed thing and just not going in until the men have finished tiying them up at 6.30so they can put there towels on at 5.am don't get me wrong I think this is going to be one of the best themed hotels in Spain or even the world but they just have to improve on a few thing and I hope they do because it will be brilliant
V

Room Tip: Think maybe themed rooms may be better
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scholey152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here in June 2013 after it was only open a few weeks. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff in reception were lovely but the bar staff had trouble understanding our drinks order and we had a few mistakes (other people too had similar issues). The apartments are basic but clean. The bathroom is big which is a must when you have a family of four. All the balconies face onto the pool area which is great. Our biggest complaint would be the entertainment at night. On one particular night the entertainment involved bringing up some holiday makers and getting them to drink a lot and jump around on stage. This wasn't something I felt was ok for kids. If it was adult themed it would be fine. Overall we did have a nice holiday and our kids (5 and 1 at the time) enjoyed themselves but a little improvement on the entertainment at night would be needed in our opinion. (entertainment during day involving the pirates is fantastic).

Room Tip: Rooms further away from stage are better if you have young kids to get asleep. Entertainment goes u...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisheyes1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have just returned from a week in pirate village and have very mixed opinions of the hotel, firstly when we arrived there was 9 of us booked into 3 rooms and only 2 rooms were ready meaning other family had to get changed and leave luggage in the 1 room that was ready which I cant understand why this is the case as they know u are coming so surely the rooms should be ready for you, we were lucky we had the 1 room to go into as it was over an hour for the other 2 rooms to be available. The good points of this hotel are that it looks great the slides and pool are really good.The kids loved the pirate invasion and I cant fault the entertainment staff as they are brilliant but the evening entertainment is lacking, on a Saturday there is nothing on in the hotel at all. It really could do with entertainment such as karaoke, Spanish dancers ect.also the entertainment is too close to the pool and with no barrier round I constantly was worrying when kids were running about also there is no where near the amount of tables and seats for ppl to sit on. The kids club is fantastic and on a Monday the kids who have been in kids club get to take part in the peter pan show which was brilliant. The main thing I have to complain about though is the food and drink, we were all inclusive and ended up eating out a lot as the choice is so limited especially for kids it was chicken nuggets and chips every day, the meats are either so tough you cant chew it or raw. There is always a queue waiting for stuff to be cooked and the dining area is not big enough. The kids did enjoy themselves but im not sure we would go back it wasn't as good as I was expecting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in pirates village from May 10th to May 17th.a wonderful time was had by all especially our four year old as everyone knows a happy child equals happy parents!we went all inclusive the food was great never went hungry.always plentiful,hot and a brilliant selection of fresh fruits and salads.wine,beer and soft drinks were on tap to help yourself so it was great not having torque.our little boy loved the fact he could joust help himself to ice cream whenever he wanted!the entertainment team.........what can I say???????FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!robbie ,Andrea and Lena are fantastic!always there for both children and adults,getting the crowd going and making sure everyone has a good time.the highlight of our little boys holiday was the nightly mini disco where fun was always guaranteed!the nightly entertainment is held out doors but always wound down by 11pm but to be honest we were on the ground floor and the noise never really bothered us.then rooms are basic but spotless clean but you really don't spend much time there at all!couldnt fault any of the other staff from the reception people to the security man on the door ( which was great because you wouldn't get any 'outsiders' coming in and taking over the fab pool!).all in all the only thing I can say is we have our holiday for 2015 booked from the day we got home and cannot wait to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!see ye then pirates!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Accommodation basic, food not good, entertainment poor and very, very loud as held outside. Not enough seats to watch it anyway. No food available on arrival at five past nine because restaurant closed at nine. Only saving grace for this complex are the beautiful swimming pools but sunbeds placed right up to the edge of the shallow pool made it difficult to access at times. Would not return.

Room Tip: As far away from the entertainment area as possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
2,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plazamar Serenity Resort
Plazamar Serenity Resort
#16 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £83 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing