We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not that bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having read the reviews on Pirates Village, our party went with a view to enjoying ourselves no matter what, however it was not as bad as some of the reviews would lead you to believe! The food was adequate, although I do agree with the comments regarding the kids' buffet. My grandchildren ate pasta or chicken nuggets every night as it was all there was on offer. The breakfast was excellent, with a very varied choice, including a full English, cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, pate etc. The rooms are in urgent need of refurbishing and I expected the bed linen to be changed at least once during our week's stay but we used the same sheets for the week and towels were changed twice. The pools are excellent, as are the pirates and the self-serve ice cream machine was a big hit with the kids! (and adults!) All things considered we had a good time but that was more due to the company than the hotel itself.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool and the nightly entertainment is held in this area so it can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    393
    171
    116
    90
See reviews for
1,148
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned last Saturday from a week's stay here, we booked this last minute and mainly on reading the reviews and it seemed perfect for our 10 year old son. Travelled and booked through Jet2 holidays, on the way in our seats we paid and pre-booked were given to someone else (complaint been sent) and on arriving at the hotel they did not have our holiday voucher. I then at 10.30pm after travelling all day and a coach ride for 1 and 1/2 hours from the airport after contact my sister in Englnad to email our copy of the voucher so we could be allowed to stay.
Now the place......All rooms are apartments where you stay self catering or all inclusive, we opted for the latter. The apartments are either the older ones or the new pirate themed ones. Ours was the older one, very dated and basic, uncomfy beds, fridge all rusty and dirty, air con only in the lounge area and only blows out in one spot. Our room was on the ground floor at the side of the complex (number 56) it was also has we found out the night at the entrance for deliveries and staff entrance etc. Noise my god horrendous, lorries making deliveries very early, dustbin men etc. Also on sleeping in the lounge side you get the noise from the bar area, music etc goes off around 12.00am but people still sit outside and children run round until around 01.00am. Then we you think you have peace the staff put the chairs away and then go round emtying all the bins and push a supermarket trolley round to put the bags in which over tiled floor makes a right racket. You can not sleep with the patio doors open because the bedroom ones open straight out onto the communal walkway and there is no air con in the bedroom. So if your looking for a peaceful nights sleep forget it.
The complex itself.... Fantastic looking from the outside and can see why people just wander in for a look because it could easily be mistaken for a theme park etc, it states PIRATES VILLAGE perhaps if it said pirates village hotel then it would stop that. The security guy is a bit weird, never smiles or says hello. The complex is clean and tidy, staff never stop and are all great and friendly, reception staff very helpful. Help yourself for drinks and food if all inclusive, snack bar open majority of the day just place your order at the bar. Food in general expensive and saw many self catering people paying to switch to all inclusive becasue it worked out cheaper. Food sadly huge dissapointment, very little variety and most days just ate toasties from the snack bar. For children all it is is chicken nuggets, chips and pasta. Some people said the beer was also not great. The pool area always clean and tidy until the end of the day when people are so lazy they cant put there rubbish in a bin. If you want a parasol and sunbed then no joke get up at 06.30am for them after that especially when it is busy you have no chance. Many people though do this especially with the parasols then go out all day and just leave them. We say one family do this and came back at 4.00pm then went straight in pool then left. To me management need to sort this and if people have reserved there parasol and sunbed which fine do that, but if your not there within 2 hours they are taken away and given to somebody else. Many families with young children were struggling to keep them cool due to not enough parasols. The pool is ok although would advise young children to take care, there is a small baby pool and then a shallow pool but this has large gaps in the wall area to go through. Once through your in the very deep end without warning. This pool at the other side also starts of shallow then you climb a small wall onto a ledge which is still shallow then step from that and deep water. Many parents presumed it was all shallow and just put armbands on there children and let them go. There are slides in the other pool and a water feature and this area is shallow. The slides are for children not adults because when you land at the bottom it is far too shallow for adults.
Bar area..... not very big and you are all squashed around especially when the entertainment is on. The main thing i found bad is the smoking in this area, there is no designated area for smokers. Our family are non smokers so be sat eating or drinking when somebody is sat close to you smoking is not nice. If parents choose to smoke next to there children there choice but near others not good. It gets that smokey it chokes you. Sadly there is no where else to sit so your stuck with it.
Entertainment.... there is a tv room with large screen which was great for the world cup footie, the entertainment team do there best and the pirates are great very entertaining and the kids love them especially when they do the pirate attack on a Sunday lunchtime. There are some outside shows come in but are not that great. The parrot show was dismal even the kids got bored and then they charge 10 euros for a picture but change that to 15 euros if you want another child on the picture !!! they do kids disco on an evening which the little ones love, also talent contest for kids and adults.
kids entertainment.....our main concern was occupying our 10 year old son and thought this place would cover it - wrong....if your child is under 7 years old then would say no problems but this definatly is no place for older children as they will get bored. They do have a kids club which takes children to the age of 10 years old, and my son did go there and granted enjoyed it, More so because they had a small area to play football and they watched a film every day at 13.30. The staff are great there and have a very strict policy on signing in and out your child, you can leave your mobile but they don not ring because of the cost. We just kept going back every hour to take him drinks and snacks in. They will not let your child leave unless you collect them. Other than the kids club there is no where for them to play football which is what the majority of the older children wanted to do. On an evening they would play football near the pool/reception area despite posters saying no football and it being near apartment entrances etc. Nothing is ever said and they all love there time doing this but the ball on many occassions does go ino the pool and kids do rescue it, many parents watch there children some dont. Luckily i was watching mine when some other child pushed mine into the pool as he was carefully lifting the ball from the edge of the water. This childs parent was nowhere to be seen. It stated on the website there was a games room - what a joke.....outside near the reception entrance is a small area with a pool table (1.50euro per game), air hockey (1 euro for 1 minute play) 2 grabber games you fine at seaside and a tetris style game i never saw a child win. My son spent a fortune occupying his time on pool and air hockey. These should be free you done pay all inclusive to have to start shelling out.
other bits.... you have to pay for the safe i think it was 20 euro returnable for the week, also have to pay for the remote control for the tv in the room but you can work the tv without it just depends if you can not be bothered to walk a few steps to turn the channel..... the tv ok usuall boring foreign channels but can get music and kids tv. I also got D and V on my last day - the day i was due to travel home and all i had eaten was some chicken from the dining room the day before. I overheard some parents also say there child was suffering and on leaving the hotel a small child was laid on the sofa looking very poorly too.
Santa Ponsa itself is clean and not a bad place but very little to do, only a 10 minute walk to the beach and shops.
You also have to pay for wifi which is stupid price, just go to Mcdonalds in the town it's free...
All in all not a mega bad place but does have scope for lots of improvement, i did hear that over the next few years they are updating the hotel and if they get there act together it could be a good place. I would not return here mainly becasue there is nothing for the older child to do plus the odd factors mentioned.

Room Tip: all rooms look onto the pool area but rooms to the right of the bar area ( we were 56) are very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank strikersangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Where to start... On arrival the outside looks pretty impressive, the reception staff very rude and unhelpful. On entering the room my heart sank. Beyond basic with bent, old and rusty utensils and a scary, unsafe balcony. Due to the fact that we had booked for a family of 4 including a young baby, we expected to find a cot, but no. My husband had to go to the rude reception staff and ask for 1, their initial response was "but did you order one?" However, we went to the supermarket across the road which was very handy to stock up on some basics and on return found the cot had been placed in our room.
The pool area was busy and full of yobs, drinking from the moment their eyes opened, smoking and using their empty plastic cups as ashtrays lying beside their claimed sun beds. The first day we found a space and my husband on moving the parasol stood on a massive piece of metal pin, which we later discovered was from the chair legs to stop them scraping, which had been brushed off a balcony and caused him severe pain, had this been a child it would have been really awful, so with a 1.5 inch bleeding wound off he hobbled to reception who were not interested and told him the rep would visit the next day, the lifeguard came over an hour later and offered him 2 compede plasters.
On the second day we went to the beach, which was beautiful and a 5 minute walk away. Lots of nice places to eat out-with the hotel, we ate at the hotel once I had a baked potatoe with cheese... Half a potatoe and a cheese slice! Literally. So we never ate again in the hotel, we were room only thankfully. On returning from the beach we were informed that a small boy had been resuscitated after drowning in the pool, lifeguards had to be present as the majority of kids were unsupervised and left to run riot, as their parents got drunk on their all inclusive specials, so it was no shock that an incident happened.
The 'entertainment' was dire, the bunch of amateur actor types shouted and bawled late into the night, the volume was way too high and even being a good bit away from the stage area with the balcony doors closed it was still really loud, again all the drunken yobs sat with tired and unsupervised kids getting their fill of the 'free' booze. The show was the same every night, the entertainers shouting nonsense pretending to fight then we had to endure the line up of applause, encouraged to 'appreciate' their efforts, one by one they took a bow as well as several group bows it went on and on.
I felt like I needed a holiday after a week here and would never recommend it to anyone beyond the Jeremy Kyle guests.
I read mixed reviews before going and decided to take a chance, but it is honestly NOT a pleasant experience and it was not the stereotypical Germans hogging the sunbeds but the yobbish irish, Scottish and English who would slither down at 7.30, lay their towels or hang them on the parasols before slinking off to sleep off their hangovers.
Domestic staff were pleasant and the towels were changed 4 times in the week. However reception staff and the 'security guard' were pathetic, you would think it was an exclusive 5 star complex they owned as opposed to hovel with clientele from benefits street they were working in.
Good luck if you have booked, my advice? Take ear plugs, go to the beach every day and watch were you step around the pool, if it's not drowning kids it's dangerous metal objects surrounding it, oh and beer/ashtrays.
I'd rather stay a week in barlinnie prison than here. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jollybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

As the name says this hotel has a pirate theme. The hotel looks like scenes from a pirate movie - quite amusing. There are pirate shows every day but it never gets too much. The rooms/flats are old but you are only in the room when you sleep so they do the job.
The pool area has water slides and is also part of the pirate theme so if you have younger children they will love it.
The all inclusive buffet is not very exciting and the childrens buffet is really awful. Pasta and deep fried nuggets every day. There is self service regarding the all inclusive drinks and soft ice which is a very good idea.
The hotel has a policy that states that you should not reserve the sunbeds. I wish they would enforce it. So many people go down to the pool in the early morning to put their towels on a couple of sunbeds and reserving a parasol and they use it maybe two hours during the whole day.
REMEMBER to bring pool/beach towels from home because the hotel doesn’t have a pool towel service. Or buy some in the nearby supermarket.
The hotel is great, the food is not but I still think it was a great vacation because my children LOVED it :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danishtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our group of 5 families from Dublin are just back from our second year in Pirates Village and we will be booking again for for 3rd year again. A brilliant family resort, the pool area is safe and full of daytime entertainment for children. Our children loved the kids club which gave the adults some relaxing time by the pool. The food catered for all tastes and was at a very high standard. The nighttime shows were brilliant and you could see the effort the crew put into them. Finally the staff were exellent and very helpful throughout our stay,
Garreth ( Dublin Crew )

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Letting everyone know how I feel:
Selflessly chose this theme hotel for our children
The room was big enough but the food let it down big time. Spent more on eating some better food in town.
Will now have to take my wife on another holiday to make up.
Would not recommend staying all Inclusive.
Could do more of the pirate shows and pool antics.
Did I mention the food? It's rank.
Not as close to the town as the reps made out.
What we do for our kids.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for a week all inclusive great location for beach and shops the food was good compaired to some places I'd been apartment was spacious although could have been cleaner but no major issues friendly staff entertainment was ok could have been a bit more of the pirate shows Im not sure if I would go back as last year we visited portaventura and the entertainment was first class and better for the children but all in all it was a good experience sun beds were ok if you got up very early after 10 no chance

Room Tip: Try avoid the rooms at the side where they get deliveries it can be very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
0.2 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
39.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
39.0 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing