We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Aaargh. Great holiday”
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oh Aaargh. Great holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went to the Pirate village in June. There were 5 adults and 5 children. The pirate theme was brilliant and all of the children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The entertainment at night was also very good . Be warned!!! There are lots of children running around with swords. They enjoyed it but the adults had to do some nifty footwork to avoid getting stabbed. The pool area was brilliant as well with different depths of the pool to meet all children's ages. The lifeguards are wonderful. We also enjoyed the food and there was plenty of variety. The only downside was no air conditioning in the bedroom and windows that didn't open. Also our room wasn't cleaned very well. We also had to ask for more toilet rolls and clean towels.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will go back again because the children enjoyed it so much.


We will go back again

Room Tip: The rooms to the left of the pool don't get the sun on the bedroom in the afternoon so should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    429
    191
    123
    104
See reviews for
1,291
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As the title says: We visited this hotel as a party of 6 adults hoping to have a look around with a view to returning in the future with grand children.
As 2 of our party (women) entered the reception we were met with a very abrupt security guard who impolitely told us to leave as we were not guests of the hotel. Had this hotel allowed us to look round the grounds ie the pool area and determine if it was suitable to 2 small children we would have booked. The other issue was they were happy enough to allow passers by to spend their hard earned euros in their shop. Since our escapade we have heard all sorts of stories about the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 11 night, good location, nice staff, pools great, rooms a little basic, food not great very repetitive and not much choice, drinks reasonable, get up early if you want a parasol, loungers plentiful. overall a great stay,would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shieldsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed from 6th July -13th July.
POOL-brilliant both of my kids ages 6 & 14 loved the pool, enough sun loungers for all, you need to be up early for a good spot. Lifeguards are brilliant!! Very clean.
Hotel reception - clean, always someone at the desk. Looks more 4 star than 3.
Restaurant- we were self catering so can't comment on the food, but always smelt good, clean and seemed to be room for everyone.
Wifi- should be free isn't unless you are staying in a themed room. We were and got charged on the first day.. Found out on the second day was free for us and we weren't given a refund.
Rooms- we stayed in a themed room, good sized room, could do with more cutlery etc for self catering. Toilet didn't flush on arrival guy at the front door fixed it for us as it was a Sunday only on persuasion from jet2 lady. Reception was no help with this. Thank goodness guy at door did the technical guy didn't arrive until Tuesday to fix it!! Thank you to the door guy!!
Towels- this was a big downfall for the hotel we had two bath towels for four of us all week!!
Bed sheets - changed once!! Again easily fixed we sat and slept on the beds in the living area these need to be changed more than once.
Kitchen area- we were self catering and there were ants, only on the last day were we affected by this our food was kept as high as possible and still the little beggars managed to reach our food All had to be chucked.
We had a brilliant week here restaurants and shops are close by although the girls in the supermarket directly opposite the hotel were extremely rude went once never went again. Santa ponsa is very clean and ok price wise. Pirates hotel could easily be a four star if they changed just a few minor things. Would go back if I thought these were changed. Still had a lovely relaxing week.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cannonhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 night trip to Pirates Village with our 4 year old grand son. The hotel is in a good location with the main front and beach around 10 minute walk away. The room we stayed in was clean but dated and I understand from management the rooms are all getting upgraded later this year. There is no hairdryer or iron in room but both are available from reception for a returnable deposit. The main bedroom is twin with sofa bed in the living room. The swimming pools are fabulous for the children with lots of shallow pools for the younger child. The entertainment is excellent with a show on most nights out by the pool area on a small stage. My only concern was it is located near the deep pool so younger children would need to be supervised when playing around the stage area and pool in the evening. The shows are all singing.. dancing and loud with the pirates encouraging interaction from the children. So if you looking for a quiet evening this may not be your bag. We found the staff all very friendly and great with the children. We opted for all inclusive and this was the only let down of our stay. We found the food barely adequate with everything over cooked and not enough variety. We ate out a couple of nights as was craving a decent steak. The breakfast being the best meal (you cant really go wrong with toast/eggs etc) As we were with our grandson we didn,t really drink huge amounts of alcohol but the drink was good quality. Our grandson got ill the night before we were due to leave and the manager arranged for us to keep our room till 5pm on check out day instead of 12 as our flight was 8pm. This was at no extra charge and was a huge help in giving our grandson a chance to rest out of the sun. I was told the buffet is also to be upgraded next year but until then It may be worth booking self catering and then deciding once there if you want to upgrade to all inclusive as this is possible and works out no more expensive doing it separately.

Room Tip: upgrade to pirates room as these are newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank brummie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked this holiday for myself, partner & 2 kids (11 years & 3 years). We all had a fantastic time. It is very family orientated with a pirate show every night apart from Saturdays. The pools were lovely & not 2 cold like most, beware of the big blue slides, they are 4 kids & not very deep when you land in the water therefore getting a sore bum (signs do say recommended for 1.4mt & under, so not 4 adults lol). We did all inclusive & yes the food isn't great in the dining room but the outside snack bar is OK. The kids menu was just chicken nuggets, pasta & mini burgers I saw once. When we first arrived I was disappointed with the rooms, 1 bedroom with 2 single beds, bathroom & the main living area/kitchen with 2 sofa beds made up, but turns out it was OK, as my partner said "we are only sleeping here, not as if we would be spending much time in the room" & as much as I hate to admit it he was right. We all had a fab time, even my 11 year old (saw some reviews nothing to do for the over 7's) he made friends very quickly as did my 3 year old, they loved it. Can't comment on the TV or Wifi as we didn't use any of it. Fantastic holiday would recommend to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 031, on the bottom floor 2nd room in, near where the kids played football, there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0797shaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Was worried coming here after reading all the bad reviews, left wondering if there were 2 Pirates Villages cos tthis bared no resemblence to what had been said.
You won't have a relaxing peaceful holiday here. That is not the idea. It's designed for kids to enjoy themselves and run around. The entertainment is designed for kids. The entertainers are brilliant.
The reception staff are great (particularly the grew haired lady). The chap on the door was great. He kept people who weren't guests out which was exactly what was needed. Shame there was no preplacement on his day off.
We didn't go all inclusive, so can't comment on the food.
The rooms are basic but have pretty much all that's needed. They are nor plush by any means, but you're not paying for plush.
There were just about enough beds to go round at the pool and some were broken so maybe that could be looked at.
The major two faults that I saw were the dept of the main pool - why is 2 meters neccessary for what is a kids holiday pool? And it was freezing! Even at the strat of July
And then the price of the internet - 30€ for 7 days with a max of 1mbs! Had this have been more reasonable my grumpy teenage son may have enjoyed it more.
Other than that no complaints - it did exactly what it said on the tin.
Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.3 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plazamar Serenity Resort
Plazamar Serenity Resort
#15 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing