We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed with rooms”
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pirates VIllage
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed with rooms”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just back from pirate village, it was our 3rd hols there, the 1st two was when it was the gran santa ponsa so hearing it was now all done up into a pirate village we couldnt wait to go this year with our little girl, and yes the outside off the building is fantastic and they did a great job outside at the swimming pool but abso nothing has been done to the rooms, they are all still the same as they were 2&4 yrs ago, they really are in need of refubishing and a serious clean, i had to go supermarket and buy aload of cleaning products and bleach(and rubber gloves) esp for the toilet. the rim of the toilet was disgusting looked liked it hadnt been cleaned in yrs, it was so bad i was vomiting while trying to clean it. not really what you want to be doing on hols esp when it is so much more expensive to go to then when it was the gran santa. we were only in apt 10 mins and our feet was black with dirt,the kitchen cupboards, fridge /the delph etc, i had to clean it all. yes the cleaning ladies do cme most days with fresh towels and give a quick sweep around floors but they really do need to get a proper clean b4 people arrive for there hoilday. so because of this i would not go back which is a shame as it was our main hoilday spot. we love santa ponsa but next time i think we will be staying in driffrent apts. The entertainment is good and the entertainers are brillant cant fault them on that, the only complaint i would have is it is so LOUD!!! and i mean loud, if u wanted to go to bed early well i dont think you would get much sleep. and if you are there for 2 weeks it can get a little much,( same think every week.). Also when your booking do ask not to be put at a room at the front of the building if you are a light sleeper, this was our 1st time put in a room at front of building, omg the noise all night long, starts @2am with a lorry doing deliveries at the supermarket across the road, and it stays there for hours and then the dustbin men start after that. it felt like there was no windows and door in our apt with the noise. The food!!! well all the rest of the reviews have talked about how bad the food is and i would have to agree with them, and it takes forever to get, looks like just one man doing the cooking one order at a time. and some of the bar staff are so slow its like been in a slow motion movie ha. you gotta laugh i suppose. so all in all was disppointed, they should have put the money and effort into the rooms where people actually have to stay instead of the outside of the building which is off no benfit to anybody apart from looking fabulous and making people think its the best family complex in santa ponsa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms at front of buliding NOISY all night long. and if you do get room 237 at front you will at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diasychain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    425
    190
    123
    104
See reviews for
1,285
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

i went to the pirate village with my daughter and her husband and with their 2 kids two and four and my wife, we went all inclusive what great holiday we had we went for 11days from glasgow. self service food plenty of it wide choices constant flow of all drinks self service for beer ans cold drinks the entertainment was on a pirate theme we had a pirate attack every sunday and we walked the plank to become real pirates we went with jet2 holidays they were great i recomend this for small children and gran and granpa

Room Tip: pirate themed room air coditioned only 3 floors lifts exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zombiehowison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverclyde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for 10 night all inclusive in july and have to say what a fantastic family holiday we had, on arrival we were given a ground floor room much to my wifes distaste, a quick trip to the friendly reception lady and 5 mins later we were on the required 3rd floor.rooms were basic but clean, tv had cartoons and music channels so son and mrs were happy! Towels not changed and room not cleaned by 3rd morning but again after visiting reception this was noted and attended to every 2nd day. That was the only faults i encountered so not anything to complain about.all the hotel staff work very hard and try to make the best holiday for you, duty manager also introduced us to hotel chef as my wife requires a gluten free diet and he souced bread, cookies etc as well as seperate gluten free cooked meals.as for the rest of the hotel, pool great for my 6 yr old son, he had a blast and made lots of friends around the kids pool and slides, pirate themed entertainment was great for kids and maybe not all adults taste but having a happy kid makes our holiday more enjoyable, food was ok, maybe could do with a bit more variety. The pool area was lovely and we had no probs getting loungers/parasols at 9ish in mornings.all in all we had a fantastic holiday and met some lovely scottish/irish/english families who we hope to see again next year as we have all said we would definately return next year

Room Tip: Rooms to right of reception have morning sun and left has afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went to the Pirate village in June. There were 5 adults and 5 children. The pirate theme was brilliant and all of the children thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The entertainment at night was also very good . Be warned!!! There are lots of children running around with swords. They enjoyed it but the adults had to do some nifty footwork to avoid getting stabbed. The pool area was brilliant as well with different depths of the pool to meet all children's ages. The lifeguards are wonderful. We also enjoyed the food and there was plenty of variety. The only downside was no air conditioning in the bedroom and windows that didn't open. Also our room wasn't cleaned very well. We also had to ask for more toilet rolls and clean towels.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will go back again because the children enjoyed it so much.


We will go back again

Room Tip: The rooms to the left of the pool don't get the sun on the bedroom in the afternoon so should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As the title says: We visited this hotel as a party of 6 adults hoping to have a look around with a view to returning in the future with grand children.
As 2 of our party (women) entered the reception we were met with a very abrupt security guard who impolitely told us to leave as we were not guests of the hotel. Had this hotel allowed us to look round the grounds ie the pool area and determine if it was suitable to 2 small children we would have booked. The other issue was they were happy enough to allow passers by to spend their hard earned euros in their shop. Since our escapade we have heard all sorts of stories about the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 11 night, good location, nice staff, pools great, rooms a little basic, food not great very repetitive and not much choice, drinks reasonable, get up early if you want a parasol, loungers plentiful. overall a great stay,would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shieldsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed from 6th July -13th July.
POOL-brilliant both of my kids ages 6 & 14 loved the pool, enough sun loungers for all, you need to be up early for a good spot. Lifeguards are brilliant!! Very clean.
Hotel reception - clean, always someone at the desk. Looks more 4 star than 3.
Restaurant- we were self catering so can't comment on the food, but always smelt good, clean and seemed to be room for everyone.
Wifi- should be free isn't unless you are staying in a themed room. We were and got charged on the first day.. Found out on the second day was free for us and we weren't given a refund.
Rooms- we stayed in a themed room, good sized room, could do with more cutlery etc for self catering. Toilet didn't flush on arrival guy at the front door fixed it for us as it was a Sunday only on persuasion from jet2 lady. Reception was no help with this. Thank goodness guy at door did the technical guy didn't arrive until Tuesday to fix it!! Thank you to the door guy!!
Towels- this was a big downfall for the hotel we had two bath towels for four of us all week!!
Bed sheets - changed once!! Again easily fixed we sat and slept on the beds in the living area these need to be changed more than once.
Kitchen area- we were self catering and there were ants, only on the last day were we affected by this our food was kept as high as possible and still the little beggars managed to reach our food All had to be chucked.
We had a brilliant week here restaurants and shops are close by although the girls in the supermarket directly opposite the hotel were extremely rude went once never went again. Santa ponsa is very clean and ok price wise. Pirates hotel could easily be a four star if they changed just a few minor things. Would go back if I thought these were changed. Still had a lovely relaxing week.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cannonhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ponsa
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
2.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.3 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plazamar Serenity Resort
Plazamar Serenity Resort
#15 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Property: Pirates VIllage
Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing