We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken glass around the pool......”
Review of Hotel Golf Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Golf Beach
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just arrived back from Santa Ponsa and stayed a week at this hotel with my husband and 5 year old son. First impressions were good, a good location (only a short stroll to the beach) and the hotel is very clean. Everything was fine until day 4 when my husband stood on broken glass which had been left around the pool. On informing the staff, there was no inspection and I was just handed a brush to sweep it up. It doesn't bare thinking about if it had happened to my son and it put a damper on the rest of our holiday. I don't think glasses and bottles should be allowed around a swimming pool but if they are and they get broken, it should be the responsibility of the hotel staff to ensure it's cleaned up properly for the health and safety of the other guests.
I have to say that on informing Peter of the incident, he was genuinly concerned and throughout the week was always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lima100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Thought long and hard before posting this review.

One member of staff, Peter, helpful, friendly and a pleasant gentleman.

Cannot say the same for the rest.

Unpleasant expereince and would not return to this hotel. Very basic. Pay for all extras. No air conditioning. Rented unit noisy and ineffective.

Order food at bar, will bring to the table if not busy, if they are busy the staff will chastise you.

Room Tip: All rooms over looking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSantaPonsa, Gerente at Hotel Golf Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We think the best way for a good Holiday is checking reviews from other people going all destinations, restaurants, hotels, etc...

We wish to give you our opinion as well, because we think, maybe, you were in a small misunderstanding when you booked our hotel. For that reason we not agree with you.

First of all, all our staff beg your pardon if we make to fell you an unpleasant expereince

In all websites descriptions is clearly said that our hotel is a 2 Stars hotel (Spain hotels are working from 1-5 stars), basic hotel or budget hotel. That means that you get a cheap price for a basic hotel, so that means as well, you have to pay for any extras that you get.

In all websites descriptions is clearly said, as well, that we don´t have air conditioning in rooms where you find a ceiling fan. So, you got that information at time of booking, so you can not complain to not have it.

It´s a pitty for us you didn´t feel as fine as you would like and we hope you could enjoy enough your stay in Santa Ponsa.

Anyway, we hope to see you again in our town and we invite you to visit us and tell us your feels.

Regards,
Francisco-The Management.
Hotel Golf Beach
Santa Ponsa-Mallorca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

All in all the hotel is of a good standard, however the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and the lack of aircon made our stay a stuggle! There is a ceiling fan fitted but this made no difference in the blistering heat. We did hire a fan from the hotel but it was very poor and made very little difference. For the price we paid for our 4 night stay 'Hotel Golf Beach' offered reasonable value for money and is well located. Just 1 hint...buy a floor standing fan from the supermarket across the road and up to the right, its much cheaper than the renting of 1 and is much better quality! The old saying, you get what you pay for comes to mind, with 'Hotel Golf Beach' you get a little more, clean basic rooms, good quality food and friendly staff....can I really ask for more?

Room Tip: None of the rooms have pool views. Any room on the corner will give extra sun time, once the pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jafacake21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Had an absolutely fantastic week in this lovely hotel.... Peter and Tony are brilliant and made my stay one of the best weeks ever.Went to Santa Ponsa to totally relax and get away from it all and this is exactly what I got in Hotel Golf Beach. Would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I went for a week to these apartments in July '11 and traveled with my Grandad. I have all good things to say about this place! The place is spotless and the staff are really friendly. Towels were changed regularly, I think we had ours changed three times during our stay. Bed linen also changed. The location is perfect, 2 minutes walk from the beach/main strip and there is a cheap supermarket 2 minutes away too. The square is a bit further away, about a 10 minute walk. There was no noise and night, the sleep quality was brilliant. The pool area is quite small but its relaxing. When we were staying there was a big family there (about 17 of them) so they took up most of the sunbeds with their towels early in the morning. Some of the guests who came down to the pool late in the afternoon struggled to get a bed because of this. Breakfast was around 4 euros if I remember correctly and it was lovely! Toasties were also nice. Didn't try anything else on the menu so cannot comment further on the rest of the food.

Would definitely return to this hotel and next time I would hope it would be less busy around the pool area (no big families!).

Try Ricky's cafe next to the Portofino Apartments, the food is delicious and you get lots of it!! It was the only place we walked away from feeling full.

Hope this review helps, any questions ask away!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for a week at the end of July. Although the reviews on tripadvisor were great, I wasn't sure what to expect from a 2star hotel. Got there & couldn't be happier for the price we paid. Great hotel, location, staff...definitely would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed with my daughter recently for short break after reading great reviews .we were both very disappointed .When we arrived we were kept waiting 20 mins then a man who was also running the bar came over and was extremely abrupt ,no welcome at all just given our room numbers without any direction. Unable to get sun beds as they were in short supply so had to pay 10 euros to go on the beach every day .Room was like a furnace we had to sleep on matresses on the balcony it was so hot and no air conditioning unless we paid 50 euros for 3 nights which we didnt have spare ! we culd have stayed in a 4 star hotel for an extra 80 euros really wish we had as now feel ready for a holiday to get over it .On the plus side one of the men who seemed to run things was absolutely lovely and very friendly ,nothing was too much trouble .

Room Tip: make sure you have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cazza123barto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSantaPonsa, Gerente at Hotel Golf Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We think the best way for a good Holiday is checking reviews from other people going all destinations, restaurants, hotels, etc...

We wish to give you a reason due your regular review or report about us

You came on July, all Majorca is very busy during those dates, and in our case, our hotel was full up during your stay of three nights. Also we wish to inform you that we had a lot of work in Bar area because we had a 2 big groups of families, eating and drinking during mornings and afternoons, and maybe we were very busy and you had to wait at your arrival. About sunbeds in our swiming pool, it was true, both group of families went every day during your stay at early morning hours, around 09:00 AM ,starting to book or leaving their towels over the sunbeds pratictly in all of them for their use. It´s a pitty for us you didn´t feel as fine as you would like and we hope you could enjoy enough your stay in Santa Ponsa.

Anyway, we hope to see you again in our town and we invite you to visit us and tell us your feels.
Regards,
Francisco-The Management.
Hotel Golf Beach
Santa Ponsa-Mallorca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.5 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#34 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miranda
Hotel Miranda
#27 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
1,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Club Apartments
Vista Club Apartments
#29 of 34 in Santa Ponsa
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golf Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golf Beach

Address: Avenida Rey Jaime I, 106, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £36 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golf Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Beach is a 2 star-family hotel. Situated in the heart of the Santa Ponsa main avenue, one of the best touristic resorts in the island, 18 kms from Palma. The hotel stands within walking distance from the commercial centres and night leisure areas and at only 100 meters from the famous sandy beach. 1 Km from the fantastic golf courses of Santa Ponsa 1 and 2 and 15 minutes away from Bendinat golf, Ponent, Son Vida and Andratx golf courses. The hotel has been completely renovated, making it one of the best in its category. Free Wifi in public areas, payable inside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Golf Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Golf Beach Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing