We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hote”
Review of Hotel Golf Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Golf Beach
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just returned from golf beach hotel for the 3rd time in two years, and cannot express enough how fantastic this hotel is, and how our stay there is made even more enjoyable because of the staff ther. Peter, Tony and Richard. They make the hotel what it is. Strongly disagree with the comments made against the staff. It is a quiet hotel, with not many children around. The pool area very clean, and quiet with sunbeds and umbrellas available at any time of day. The food is excellent, and portions very big. Peter and Tony excellent hosts , always happy to help . Richard works from midnight to keep the hotel running . He is not a bouncer so shouldnt be held responsible for any bad , loud behaviour from people during the night. He wants all guests to have a restful stay. He likes to have chats with guests who are having a late night drink.
Rooms are spotlessly clean, with daily maid service. There is no air con, although is available for hire which Tony or Peter are only too happy to arrange. We will return to this hotel next time we are wanting to have a chilled , quiet holiday in S.P. Hotel Great value for money.
P.s Want to just highlight how brilliant a host Peter is , one of the worlds most genuinly nice people.

Room Tip: we prefer the rooms not facing the terrace as they seem to be bit cooler. although view from terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Golf Beach for one week from 26th Aug and we can honestly say this was one of the best holidays we have had. We felt very welcome by Peter, Toni and all the rest of the staff. The hotel and the rooms are exceptionally clean, the room we stayed in was very spacious but was hot (but the week we stayed it was very hot and we were aware that there was no air con in the rooms) so we couldn't complain. The food was really nice and received large portions especially if Peter made it. The location of the hotel is ideal, it is just a short walk to the bars and restaurants, the irish bars are just another 10 min walk if you require a livelier night. The pool was very clean and tranquil, it was like having your own private pool at times until our last day when a group of people from Scotland decided that they thought it would be fun to be obnoxious and loud, constant swearing, smoking in the pool, if they wanted to act like this why not go to the deya apartments or magaluf where they would blend in nicely but this would defo not put us off from staying again because this is not the fault of the hotel. My husband is looking to go again next year with his golfing buddies. Thank you to all the staff for our brillant holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClassyladyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time for two weeks from August 23rd till 6th September. The hotel was spotlessley clean as was the pool area.
Peter and Tony were superb hosts. Very friendly and helpfull right from the minute we arrived. Also Richard the night shift guy was lovely and cheery and very helpfull at all times.
However there were a few people causing trouble in the hotel, in one way or another but i must admit that Fransisco the general manager dealt with problems very swiftly.
It is a great pity these troublesome people are trying to bad mouth this wonderful hotel.
the hotel is only rated two stars but deserves more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCES W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Revisit to Santa Ponsa decided on budget Hotel after reading reviews decided on Golf Beach Hotel.
What a great choice everything my wife and I wanted.Spotlessly clean, good prices,Food good.
Hosts where brilliant. Location short walk to beach,short walk to entertainment area.If we choose to visit SP again will have to book this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guzply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I have to agree with others that at this hotel they have a staff problem. Don´t understand why the owner/manager doesn´t sort it out. One bad apple.....
Apart from that it was ok as somewhere to shower and sleep. Its a small hotel so no amenities here. Location of the hotel not the best as on a busy road. Will not go back to Santa Ponsa..... over crowded and expensive. Everyday had to pay 15 Euros for 2 sun beds and umbrellas at the beach! Rip off!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 378J_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSantaPonsa, Owner at Hotel Golf Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us. We know we are going to receive a few reviews like yours from the same group of customers accommodated during the same week. You say in your review that "we have a bad apple in the staff". It´s incredible how a traveller can damage the reputation of an employee, playing with his job just writing a review in a website with which you think you will feel better yourselve trying to damage our repotation. This employee is just following my direct orders to keep the hotel in calm and quiet during the nights. Makimg that people don´t shout during nights, don´t make parties inside the rooms, don´t come inside our hotel with people from abroud that they are not registered and paid for the stay in our hotel, serving the breakfast just between time estipulated, etc...etc...
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, but we think we must reply your review about some missing information about your behaviour and attitude inside our establishment during your stay. As I have replied in the worst reviews we have had during last 4 weeks, we inform you and everybody who is reading this review, that It was very disgusting see how customers from 7 rooms spent their holidays against us having a meeting in our bar area during one hour just arranging how to make a damage to our property through Tripadvisor.com. In 21 years of experience we haven´t had an August like one I´m speaking to (2012). We don´t have to add more information to our review reply because the rest of good opinions or reviews we have received during last 2 weeks from other customers accommodated with you and your friends, have replied you instead us, explaining what happened and complaining about this group of people that is trying to damage our reputation with their behaviour. The secret of a good job in an hotel is not just a thing coming from the hotel, the best thing we have is the mix between our customers and our employees, those lovely customers is what makes us to be one of the best rated hotels in the island. That mix has been broken during 2 weeks in August due a terrible behaviour from some of the customers accommodated in the hotel. We had to increase our work during the nights because those customers thought they could do what they want when they want without the minimum common sense good behaviour in an hotel. Maybe, they think they can do like in their houses and not follow the rules of public establishment like is an hotel. I´m speaking to due both parts, due the behaviour of those customers and our employees defending from those behaviours. But, from reports like yours and from others you can find below from the customers accommodated in the seven rooms I mentioned above (titled as 1.-Bad Staff or 2.- Caroline, eire, staff, 3.- Rooms like saunas, 4.-Night porter nightmare and a few other ones recieved in August and September). We think it´s time to defend ourselves from those words against our employees, and time that customers feel and understand that they have to have an obligation to follow a minimum common sense good behaviour during their holidays. also, maybe it´s time that an hotel could defend from some customers giving to them an score like you are able to do with hotels. Because you can be sure we consider we have a lovely customers in 99% of days but sometimes the customer can give you a lot of problems from the first second of their stay due their behaviour. We are not surprised to see your report in Tripadvisor.com.
Due all this missing information in your report I publicate this reply, because We are not going to accept you do any damage to our reputation as an hotel and to our employees.
Employees are rude , well, sometimes we make mistakes, but you can be sure we try to improve every day in a good customer care way and so many times we improve our job following our customers recomendations. The last thing I have to tell you is that we are not able to change some of our employees because we are not just staff, we are owners of the hotel and we give direct orders to those employees to stop those bad behaviours during the nights from some customers.
And the last thing I reply, you tell that you have to pay 15 euros a day for 2 sunbeds in the beach. I can not understand you, you go to a clean beach every day with 2 sunbeds and a big umbrella, somebody must clean the beach every day, somebody must take care of the umbrella and sunbeds and do a maintenance work, Do you think is going to be free of cost all this job?

Regards,
Francisco-The Management
Hotel Golf Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Had a long weekend @ Golf Beach and this hotel met my expectations and much much more !!!!! Wonderfully clean rooms and the whole of the hotel was so well maintained ..... Staff were wonderful and called us by our names from Day 1 !!! Will most definitely return .... Hotel is in a wonderful location for every part of Santa Ponsa ... Definite recommendation for family or friends .... Thank you to Peter and Staff from Tony and Nicky

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHallsStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is by far the best 2star hotel I have ever been to. The owners are extremely friendly and make an effort to remember your name. The pool is fantastic and the bar serves good value beer and food. There is never a problem getting a sun lounger. Whilst the hotel has no air conditioning in the rooms they clearly tell you this when you book and anyone who expects aircon in a 2 star hotel is clearly deluded. there is a ceiling fan in every room which we found to be perfectly adequate and if it really bothers you aircon units can be hired from the hotel. All the rooms are spotlessly clean and a good size. I can't imagine how any of the bad reviews have come about because the service is first rate and I cannot find fault with this cracking little hotel

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel (*10 *11) are cooler but the rooms at the front (*02 *03) have huge b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#10 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#33 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#11 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miranda Soul
Hotel Miranda Soul
#26 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golf Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golf Beach

Address: Avenida Rey Jaime I, 106, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £24 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golf Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Beach is a 2 star-family hotel. Situated in the heart of the Santa Ponsa main avenue, one of the best touristic resorts in the island, 18 kms from Palma. The hotel stands within walking distance from the commercial centres and night leisure areas and at only 100 meters from the famous sandy beach. 1 Km from the fantastic golf courses of Santa Ponsa 1 and 2 and 15 minutes away from Bendinat golf, Ponent, Son Vida and Andratx golf courses. The hotel has been completely renovated, making it one of the best in its category. Free Wifi in public areas, payable inside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Golf Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Golf Beach Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing