We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID!!!”
Review of Hotel Miranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miranda
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AVOID!!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I booked my room there tempted by the location and prices. What a disappointment!

During a seven day stay we occupied three rooms! First, we flooded the living room downstairs because a plasticine piece covering a rusted hole in the bath came off. Then, after staying relatively peacefully in another room for a few nights, Linda, the owner stood in our way upon our return and said "you cannot go into your room"; it turned out some work has been carried out while we were out (without our consent of course) and we were left first with a hole in the floor (!) and then with the intensive chemical stink of drying silicone sealant. We had to argue to get another room where you could actually breathe!

The breakfast menu was poor, quality of most ingredients calling for revenge, the atmosphere like in prison, with Linda hovering over "guests". At one of these breakfasts I was asked in front of everyone in a "theatre whisper" if I had pads or something, because my sheet was stained...

The owner is super nice one minute, showing her pet tortoises and fish, and super nasty another minute, as if forgetting we were actually paying customers. This attitude spoiled my whole holiday and afte over a year I still get shivers thinking back about it!

If I ever go back to Santa Ponsa (not very likely though), I will definitely book somewhere else, where I can receive a decent service!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    49
    19
    16
    20
See reviews for
12
55
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiruna, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

As a budget vacation alternative it works. But there is no real cleaning of the room by the staff, they only make the beds, with the SAME sheets. So we slept on the same sheets every night. They don't change towels or clean the floor either. Also, the neighbour has some dogs that bark all the time.

To be fair, the staff were all nice, but still I just experienced to much stress staying at this hotel to give it a good rating.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Drek19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Ponsa hotels

Hersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our flight got us in to the hotel in the early hours of the morning, and the keys had been left for us in the reception. We went up to our room, which was basic but comfortable enough for us. The following day we went for a stroll in the town near the beach which was a very reasonable 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We spent most of the days by the pool, which at first looked quite small, but there was always sun loungers available and was well equipped with outside toilets and shower.
The owner was very pleasant, as were the other staff that worked there. The hotel was ideal for a pool/beach holiday, especially as it was very well priced.
Our room was without air-con, so did get very warm at night, but we were aware of this before we booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel Miranda is a very friendly and quiet hotel so its easy to sleep at night and its only a 5 minute walk to the beach and ten minute walk to the main part of the town...Rooms were very basic, had no air con and had to pay two euro a day for a weak fan and bed clothes were only changed once a week and towels every other day...cleaner is very impolite. the hotel provides bar snacks during the day which is very nice and the owners of the hotel are very friendly as well as their 3 big dogs who live beside the hotel

Room Tip: top floor at end of corridor, usually the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just returned home from 7 night stay in Majorca, stayed in Hotel Miranda and wanted to share what a great experience we had. Linda who owns/runs Hotel is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local amenities and the island as a whole, her Daughter was also very friendly. The room was basic, but very clean - towels and bedding changed daily (as long as you have vacated room by 10am daily) there is a ceiling fan but no aircon, but room was plenty cool enough over night. We ate breakfast at hotel most days, and this was quite sufficient, a selection of cereals, bread, cheese, ham, fruit with Tea, Coffee and Juice. Hotel is in a very quiet location, but only 2 mins walk into Centre of Santa Ponsa. Hotel has swimming pool and terrace which again was very clean and pleasant to use. Overall I would rate this hotel 10/10, excellent value for money and overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is a small clean bed and breakfast with friendly owners. My friend was staying in an other hotel with her kids so i stayed here myself! I have never been in a hotel myself before but i felt totally safe and everyone spoke to each other! The swimming pool was very clean and the sunbeds are very comfy! The breakfast was great plenty of it! If you want a clean basic and quiet at night hotel go there !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shedevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

just had to write and say me and my wife have just come back from a two week stay and we thought it was a good clean well run hotel with linda the owner and daughter were more than helpfull couldnt do enough to help rooms were cleaned every day the pool area was clean and well maintained loads sunbeds sun terrace was pleasant to sit and have lunch and a drink in the evening

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Golf Beach
Hotel Golf Beach
#15 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#12 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vista Club Apartments
Vista Club Apartments
#31 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Beach
Sun Beach
#30 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.8 mi away
TRH Jardin del Mar
TRH Jardin del Mar
#24 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miranda

Property: Hotel Miranda
Address: Calle Puig Blanch 12, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Miranda 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miranda Santa Ponsa
Miranda Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Miranda Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing