We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Surfing Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ona Surfing Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ona Surfing Playa
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay at Surfing Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a stay here with my parents and 11 year old daughter. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. Everywhere was very clean and tidy. Always managed to get a sun lounger even though it was school holidays. The staff were friendly and the cleaner came everyday with fresh towels. It is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the main resort where there are loads of shops, bars and restaurants. There is full air con in the apartment which is a godsend! The tv only had one UK channel which was BBC news, I would have liked a bit more variety but don't go away to watch tv. There aren't any lifts which wasn't a problem for us but could be a struggle for some people. The pool was lovely and there is a snack bar open until 6.00pm. Free WiFi is also available in the pool/bar area and in rooms for a charge. The apartments are very quiet at night so a good night's sleep can be had, the other end of the resort is the more rowdy end but although full of youngsters they were no trouble. Would defiantly recommended these apartments and consider going again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    103
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
93
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum and 4 other family friends (visiting someone in magaluf for his birthday). We had a brilliant 2 day break. Lovely pool area and great pool bar for breakfast and lunch. Rooms well equipped and absolutely spotless. Lovely balcony also. Courtesy room free of charge was an added bonus and a god send ment we could sun bathe all day and get showered ready for the airport afterwards. Close to a beautiful little beach and the main beach is a close walk. Supermarket over the road and plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again had a brilliant 2 night break. :-)
Thanks Surfing Playa Apartments.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Decent Apartments on the quiet side of the bay, Very clean and tidy the staff are a credit to the hotel, we got a ground floor next to the road apartment it was a little noisy with people coming and going next time I would upgrade to a sea view as I am guessing this would be better, The beds could do with a upgrade and some of the decor is a little dated, But apart from that you can't go wrong staying here.
Fantastic shower / changing room for the last day complete with hairdryers 2 showers and loads of clean towels just ask for the key from the bar.
Also free WIFI around the pool bar get the sunbeds near the bar and you don't have to move ;-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Forest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed as a family of eight and was really surprised after reading some of the reviews how clean the place is. The staff were fantastic, the pool and bar area are really clean. Great for families. Close (5 mins) to loads of restaurants and bars. If your looking for a clean, safe and well looked after place to stay in Santa Ponsa then this is it. Highly recommend. Would return again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve6437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked 2 apartments at the surfing player for a girlie weekend. We could not have found a better place to stay! Apartments are spacious and spotlessly clean, great pool area with plenty of beds and handy for loads of bars and restaurants too! Would highly recommend staying here cannot find any faults whatsoever, staff very helpful too, will definitely return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if you can but all are spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyprusleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the surfing playa apartments! When we arrived, we didn't originally have a sea view but the staff managed to change our room so we had an amazing view of the coast. The rooms were not huge, but big enough for the four of us, with 2 single beds and a sofa bed that was surprisingly comfortable! Absolutely loved the style of the rooms, even though it wasn't as modern as other apartments may be. The pool was great, although it could get quite busy during the day with families. We always managed to get a sunbed without waking up to reserve one, and the people there were lovely. The apartments have a great location - they are peaceful at night, but only a short distance from many restaurants, bars and shops. If you turn right from the apartment, there is a small beach just 2 minutes walk away, and a beautiful marina 20 minutes away. Almost everything else, including the main beach, pirate village and Irish bars are to the left of the hotel. Our favourite restaurant was "Restaurant Rhein" where you can get a 3 course meal for 10 euros! My only criticism is that there was not a bar open at night in the hotel, and no pool table as displayed on the photographs which would have been good, but it did not bother us! All in all, I would definitely recommend the surfing playa, as it is cheap but we still had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: There are no lifts to the higher floors, but they have better views and are much quieter! The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TammyD658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is not the best hotel, and not the worst. We paid extra for ocean view, and ended up with a balcony facing a wall. In order to see the ocean we had to lean out over the balcony - very disappointing.
Also the cleaning was really bad. I expected the cleaning to be either everyday or every other day, but it seemed it seemed they just emptied the trash cans and that was it.
The pool was small but ok. The lifeguard on the other hand was useless, she did not interact at all, even when small kids where running on wet pavement or teenagers / tweenies were playing too aggressive in the pool.
The rooms where not impressive, the beds were ok.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for ocean view, you don't get one. We paid the extra money and we had to lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Henriette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
TRH Jardin del Mar
TRH Jardin del Mar
#25 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Golf Beach
Hotel Golf Beach
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plazamar Serenity Resort
Plazamar Serenity Resort
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Surfing Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Surfing Playa

Property: Ona Surfing Playa
Address: Calle Rey Jaime I, 83, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Surfing Playa Apartments)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Surfing Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Surfing Playa Apartments is surrounded by garden areas and has an outdoor swimming pool. The complex is in a residential area of Santa Ponsa, 100 m from Calo d’en Pellicer Beach. The main beach of Santa Ponsa is 400 m away. There is free WiFi in public areas of the Surfing Playa, including the terrace and reception. There is also a bar. All apartments have a small terrace with a table. The kitchen has a microwave, a fridge and coffee maker. Air conditioning and heating are also included. WiFi is available for a supplement in the apartments. Safety deposit boxes are offered at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ona Surfing Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfing Playa Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Surfing Playa Apartments Santa Ponsa
Ona Surfing Playa Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing