We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best position away from rowdy town”
Review of Ona Surfing Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ona Surfing Playa
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Thank goodness we chose these apartments. They are away from the awful centre of Santa Ponsa but near enough for our 18 year olds to walk in and back safely at night. Our apartment was a little dated and lacked a kettle so water had to be boiled up in a pan but otherwise roomy enough and good value. The pool is small and the sunbeds around it rather squashed up but a small beach is just over the road so we parents whiled away the time there as there is nowhere nice to go other than Palma. Santa Ponsa is generally overpriced for what it is and not a very attractive place, nice beach but ugly modern town. In retrospect we wished we had gone to Palma Nova and the girls could have gone in to Magaluf for their partying.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trizz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2008

Have just returned from a 4 night break to the Surfing Playa apartments.
Having visited Santa Ponsa last year, we knew what to expect from the resorts but were very pleasantly surprised by the apartments, given their 1 key rating (no lifts).
We had a top floor apartment with both sea and pool views and 2 balconies, one being the size of a penthouse apartment roof terrace - great for chilling on after a day at the beach and for your morning cuppa.
The only downside to the top floor was the lack of lifts - this meant literally dragging 2 cases up 6 flights of stairs on arrival - other than this it was not a problem and the huge balcony and views more than made up for it.
The apartments have great air con and adequate kitchen facilities, although a kettle would have been handy. We did not even switch the TV on and simply used the apartment as a sleeping base as we had fab weather for the whole of our stay.
I would highly recommend the apartments for a quiet location yet only 5 minutes walk from some great restaurants and the main beach. Mainly occupied by scandanavian and english guests - no noise or trouble and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Just arrived back from 11 great days staying at the Surfing Playa.
We were a party of 3 adults and one child and for the limited amount of time we spent in the apartment found it more than adequate for our needs.
The apartment was clean, and the air conditioning was wonderful!! What a joy to walk into a nice cool apartment after a hard day on the beach!!
The pool area was also very clean though not very large. We only used it a couple of times, and can imagine that during the height of summer it would be very packed, but with 2 great beaches in Santa Ponsa the small beach 2 minutes away and the main beach a 5 minute stroll it really wasn't a problem for us.
The location of the apartments is great - just at the start of the residential area, so whilst there is quite a lot of traffic on the main road it didn't disturb us, and we were in the block nearest the road.
There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, and something for everyones budget. Dinner is our evening entertainment and whilst the food we chose wasn't cheap, it was all good quality and very enjoyable. Just a word of warning if you have the Prawns in whisky sauce from Ureka make sure you don't have to drive a car...........my son felt squiffy!!!! We also ate at Bar 8 grill on the main road twice and were very impressed both times, now I'm not a burger fan, but their gourmet burgers were superb. I managed to eat it all, but had to leave the delicious chips because I was so full!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KKKK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

My wife and I, plus our 11 year old son have just returned from a good 2 weeks in Santa Ponsa.

The Surfing Playa Apartments are in a lovely part of Santa Ponsa, 10 min walk to the main beach and 2 min walk to the Little Beach which we preferred; more importantly they are on the other side of the bay to the Drunken Irish with their extended family's of 18 Plus.

These apartments are made up of seven, four storey blocks with No Lifts; they are basic but clean and the staff very friendly.

The accommodation is clean but could do with an update. The kitchenette is fully fitted with 2 electric hobs, fridge with ice box that worked, own dedicated hot water supply, and microwave that doubled as a toaster, quite good actually, a coffee maker and plenty of storage but no kettle.

The living room had a dinning table and 4 chairs, 1 drawer unit with cupboards and a colour TV, the one English Channel was CNN. A settee that doubled as a single bed, and a pull out single bed from under the settee.

The balcony is small with a table and 4 chairs. There are no sea views due to the complex being built 1 building line back from the sea which is just over the road at the back of the complex.

The double bedroom is just big enough to fit the 2 single beds and the pull out from under the settee; this made the living area more usable. The double wardrobe and chest of drawers was adequate for our needs. However, with no bed side table my specs had to go under the bed for the night.

The bathroom had all the necessary equipment including a good size bath / shower and a hair dryer.

The pool is clean with no silly rules just good fun. We had no problems with getting a sun bed at 11-30 am. Ok it might be in the shade but thats not abad thing here. The Surfing Playa Pool is a real SUN TRAP.

There is no entertainment other than the pool and the pool table. This was a good thing since those with young children had to take them out to keep them occupied rather than let them run riot while mum and dad are in the bar.

On the down side they rely mainly on Scandinavian TUI and try to bump out independent travellers when double booked.

They tried this on us, on arrival at 8:30 pm on a Sunday offering us a 4* in Palma Nova. I pointed out that we had booked and paid in full, in September 2007 and my son was starting a 5 day diving course at the dive centre only 15mins walk away the following day, That was why we had booked the Surfing Playa and Palma Nova was not an option; however, we would accept a 4* all inclusive in Santa Ponsa.

Guess What? An apartment suddenly became available.

As one of only seven English families’ in the complex we had a good time around the pool with the Danes, Dutch, Swedes, Fins and Norwegians.

This accommodation is fine for couples or a family of 3, however, we feel a family of 4 would find it a little cramped; when the pull out bed as to be put away every morning

The Surfing Playa is a Little Gem; would we stay here again Yes.

At the end of the day you get what you pay for.

The following are a few tips.

1) Considering a loaf of bread is £2-50 to £3-40 it's cheaper to eat out. Restaurant Rhine is excellent the 3 of us eat there nearly every night for around £30 including drinks. Since it's always full it's best to order a table for the evening at dinner time.

2) Bar Rumba. A really great bar to relax in after a good meal 2 doors away in the Rhine. No rip off prices £2-50 a pint.

3) The Little Beach is just that, a small sandy cove with safe swimming for the kids and great snorkeling. Mainly used by the locals and expats. There are 2 bars close by but both are very expensive at £3-50 a pint and £2-00 for a tin of Coke. So get a cold bag go to the supermarket and take your own.

4) The only good Chinese is unfortunately right in the middle of the Irish / Night Club area on the other side of the bay, but if you get there early say 9-00pm you are in for a really great meal at no more than you will pay for a take away at home. Walk along the front to the far end, when you reach a Tee Junction with a mini round a bout turn Right and it's 20m on the right and up the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mcg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Just got back from a week in santa ponsa,hotel has air con,clean (no bugs etc) and is basic but great value for money,is made up of 7 three/four storey apartments set around a fair size pool,no problem with sufficient sun beds until large familiy of irish who blocked 18 beds before 4am every morning !
NO KETTLE and limited cooking facilities.
however plenty of eating options locally.our apartment was next to road which is a bit noisy .

Not much going on in hotel as it is so small but this this has its advantages

Plenty of excellent nightlife a 10/15 mins walk , or quiet local bars if you prefer on your doorstep,shop over road
,avoid restaurants with best sea view ! they are rubbish,go to 'rickies' and 'sams bar' for food,bar 'rumba' for drink,best for family entertainment nis 'strings bar'(in irish sector)

there was four of us including two 16/17 year olds.
excellent week I will be returning !

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rocketronSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We stayed at the Surfing Playa apartments for 12 days in June/July 2008. It was a lovely little complex. The rooms were adequate and clean. A bit noisy with peole dragging furniture around very early in the morning.

Most rooms overlooked the pool which did get quite noisy most mornings as families with screeching children were using it prior to the 10am guidline.

There was a mixture of nationalities staying at the Surfing Playa. There mainly Irish and Scandinavians. However, gangs of Irish youths coming back late from clubs most mornings would sit by the pool and make a lot of noise, no respect for other guetsts.

Apartment furninshings were good, could have done with another English speaking channel other than CNN and EuroSports but it was no problem as we did not go on holiday to watch TV.

There was no toaster but we used the microwave grill to cook toast, there was no kettle but we used a pan to heat water for tea or coffee, no big deal.

The resort was excellent, there is a new restaurant called No.8 BAR & GRILL which has opened on Avenida Rey Jaime I, Edificio Astro 78, it was fab, I recommend this place to everyone.

Bar Rumba opposite Playas Del Rey hotel was great too. Jerry thanks for looking after us.

The Golf Bar on the big roundabout was great as they have a happy hour between 9-11 each evening.

The beaches were great, we found a cute little beach just on the outskirts of Santa Ponsa and went there most days.

It can be quite expensive but there are many offers of Menu Del Dia (Menu of the day) on offer in most restaurants.

We are planning to go back in September and can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stacemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Have recently returned from the Surfing Playa (22/06/08 - 03/07/08) and had a very good time for the price that we payed. One thing I must point out is that this hotel does not boast that it is 3-4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms are very clean simply furnished and the air conditioning was a godsend after the hot weather there. In reply to Ben101 OK there is no kettle - we boiled water in a pan. No toaster- used the grill on the microwave and why would you want to watch TV or a DVD on holiday? Surely you go on holiday to get away from your troubles at home.
Personally we had no problems with the sunbeds when we wanted them but we preferred to go to the 'little beach' 150metres away or to the main beach 5 minutes away. The hotel is quiet and in a quiet location and good views of the sea but within 3-4 minutes there are bars and restaurants of all kinds and within 10-15 minutes (slow walk)you have the Irish quarter which is great. Overall a great basic no frills hotel with very helpful staff and would have no hesitation in going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Apartamentos Casablanca
Hotel y Apartamentos Casablanca
#12 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Club Apartments
Vista Club Apartments
#28 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Surfing Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Surfing Playa

Address: Calle Rey Jaime I, 83, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Surfing Playa Apartments)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £50 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Surfing Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Surfing Playa Apartments is surrounded by garden areas and has an outdoor swimming pool. The complex is in a residential area of Santa Ponsa, 100 m from Calo d’en Pellicer Beach. The main beach of Santa Ponsa is 400 m away. There is free WiFi in public areas of the Surfing Playa, including the terrace and reception. There is also a bar. All apartments have a small terrace with a table. The kitchen has a microwave, a fridge and coffee maker. Air conditioning and heating are also included. WiFi is available for a supplement in the apartments. Safety deposit boxes are offered at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ona Surfing Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfing Playa Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Surfing Playa Apartments Santa Ponsa
Ona Surfing Playa Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing