We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed at Club Santa Ponsa from the 08/08/12 to 14/08/12 and first impression was great. The hotel is set on the top of a huge hill( a difficult walk up) but gives fantastic views of the island. The main pool was of decent size and they had a good resource of sunbeds (get up about 8am and reserve). From the pool side you can see the beach, sea and the mountains which is a breath taking view.
The food of the hotel was fantastic. They give a great variety and it was all cooked to perfection. The bar was good (strong spirits) however only allowed two drinks per person and there was only one person on at a time which resulted in queueing at busy times.
The room of the hotel let my experience down, the room was of decent size and the beds were changed every two days with fresh towels; however I did not have a balcony and my window looked out onto a children's play area this resulted in me not being able to open my curtains all holiday or my window, this was very disappointing. Other rooms looked great and if you had a balcony there would be no issue.
The hotel was very family orientated and the entertainment on a night was mainly based for children; for couples Santa Ponsa had a lovely night life, the left of the town was pubs and clubs which were extremely cheap, and to the right there was restaurants which were very nice.
Overall I had a fantastic holiday and would defiantly suggest to others and return myself.

Room Tip: If in rooms from 712-715 look at room but if not satisfied ask to change rooms straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    413
    163
    54
    39
See reviews for
446
299
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Got back last night from a fantastic week at this hotel, staff are really friendly and they always have a smile for you. The food was varied and of good quality always found something to eat. Met some lovely people who all agreed with me this is a fantastic place to bring your family. My only gripe was that there was no air conditioning. All in all a lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for any rooms starting in the 200 and above these have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BopsWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

As a party of 16, ages ranging from 11 to 40 something, I can honestly say that this was one of my best holidays ever.
The hotel is set on top of a hill and has the most amazing views.
There is a short cut to a beautiful beach that consists off 170 steps, or a 20 minuet walk down the hill. Coming back from the beach we would jump in a taxi, which cost us 3.70 euros and well worth it.
The beach is lovely, but dont believe the "banana boat man" when he says that he will not flip you off, he may not do the actual "big flip" when everyone comes off, but you can still come off,as I personally found out.
The rooms were clean and the food was good, although the snacks were limited, to chips and burgers.
As it got hotter the fan in the room was not really keeping us very cool and at one point I thought I may actually melt!.
The function room was cool and spacious.
There was only ever two bar staff on most night and times there were queues. Miguel and Louis were great and looked after us well, all though im not sure that the men in our group would have agreed, as Louis was very friendly with the ladies and children but did not appear so friendly with the men, this appeared to be noted by other families too, and dont be fooled by Miguel "not understanding English" I believe he understands a lot more than he lets on.
The entertainers worked hard throughout the day and night and were very friendly.
The family pool is very big and gets deep very quick,however saying this some off our best days were spent around the pool.
There is a smaller adult pool at the back of the hotel with a few sunbeds.
I hope you find this honest review helpful, and have a great holiday where ever you go!
Would i return to Hotel Club Santa Ponsa? Absolutely YES!!!!!!!

Room Tip: room 123 is quiet, and has a very large downstairs area consisting of sofa bed and pull out bed, tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and booked this hotel on the strength of the positive reviews that i read on tripadvisor. I travelled with my husband and 13 yr old boy and was so disappointed when we saw the room. The matress on the 3rd bed was stained and bedsheets were dirty. The matress was changed but didn't fit the bed which had to be left out instead of being stored away. The food on the first night was chicken that was not cooked through. We were all inclusuve and then ate out from then on. There were always queues for drinks at the bar for weak halves of lager. This place is a dump and believe it or not after reading this review we are not a fussy family!!!

Room Tip: dont bother going!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at Club Santa Ponsa 31.7.12 to 7.8.12. Would really recommend it! We loved our holiday their.

Rooms were clean and large. Even get kitchen area including fridge. Room did get rather hot, but we hired an extra fan from reception for 14euros.

Food was excellent, always something to eat. Plenty of choice. Slush puppies available all day and night. Ice cream in freezer in bar to help yourself to. Drink choices were good, not watered down. You helped yourself to fizzy drinks, juices, tea/coffee, beer and white/red wine during meal times. Rest of time could have whatever you like but had to ask bar staff for it
(apart from juices, tea/coffee and water). All staff were polite and pleasant. Bar staff liked a little joke with the children.

Entertainment staff tried really hard to get people involved. Activities during day and disco, karaoke then show on an evening. They even walked around pool to fetch children for the children's club then brought them back to you a hour later.

I was slightly concerned about the reviews about all the steps, but did not find them a problem. The steps aren't in the Club Santa Ponsa hotel/apartments, they are to get to the town and beech. A minibus is available at 4/5 times during the day there and back. We paid for a taxi the one evening when was tired, only cost 3.4euros. We also found a route to go where you didn't have to do the steps, just walk up a slight, gradual hill.

Overall we would recommend this hotel greatly. The view are amazing, so relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FeltonWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We arrived at the Santa Ponsa to have a stress free chilled out 4 days after our cruise around the Med.As soon as we arrived we were told that the hotel was full and we were to be sent to another hotel. The reception manager told us that it was the hotels fault as they had overbooked. We asked to speak to the manager who had the 'day off'.He said we would be compensated for the first night and this always happened in Majorca in July and Aug. The Pionero (we were moved to)we were in 1 room.The whole idea was to have a 1 bed appartment as we have a 15year old.All Sunday and most of Mon (when we finally got into our room) was spent living out of a suitcase. We even had to change rooms as the first room was dreadful. We saw the 'manager' who said we would be compensated for the 1st night but that would be the next day. The room had a ceiling fan which gave no respite to the heat. The next day we visited the front desk only to be shouted at by the manager when we asked for our 1st night compensation. He said he would give us only 50euros when we had paid 150 per night. He did not grasp that this was the hotels fault and expected us to just get on with it. As we are 2 middle aged women, I expect he thought he would become intimidating to end the conversation. We walked away as the situation became uncomfortable. The customer service delivered seemed to come from the top down, as the only exception of a courteous member of staff was the young lady in the evening. There were lots of guests moved, even a disabled group of girls. I would not return to this hotel as I believe guests are shipped around to ensure his hotel is full. To stop complaints compensation of a car for the day/waterpark tickets or 50 euros are offered which is not acceptable when it is your holiday. It is strange that in 20years tis has not happened to us!!!

Room Tip: Demand a better room when you arrive as they will try to put you anywhere but where you asked. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlazeWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have just returned from Club Santa Ponsa (family of 3 adults & 2 children) and we enjoyed the our stay although all was not perfect. We arrived at 10pm only to be told that they had overbooked so we were sent to another Hotel for the night...no complaints about that Hotel but it was an inconvenience. When we arrived at the Hotel we met another 3 couples so that meant 5 rooms had been overbooked in one night!!!!! During our stay we met a family who had booked 6 rooms and only got 3 so they were sent to the other Hotel as well. I really think they should review their booking system. They did compensate us by giving us tickets for the Wild West Water Park, which was okay as it would have cost us 120 euros to get in.

There are a lot of stairs in the Hotel and it is on a hill but there is no good complaining about that because it is explained at the time of booking......the view over the bay is stunning. Not everyone can get a room with a good view!!!! We were in room 901/902 so we did not have too many steps to negotiate. My husband and I are in our late sixties and we found the walk down was fine and we just got a taxi back. There is a courtesy bus that runs from the Hotel every hour but it only holds 7/8 people and each time we tried to use it, it was full...so get there early!!
All in all, from the top of the Hotel down to the beach using the short cut, there are around 170 steps but at a leisurely pace it is not a problem.

The rooms were basic and clean with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Our room did not get the sun and our fan was okay so we did not have an issue with the heat. My daughter's room next door overlooked the bay to the side and her fan did not work very well so that was a problem to her. I think you can hire an air con unit but it is quite expensive.

The pool area is highly inadequate for the amount of people in the Hotel and trying to get a sunbed after 8.00am is nearly impossible. The Manager came round in the morning lifting towels off the beds if no-one was there.

The bar was highly understaffed and what staff was there were very rude. The Polish chap was okay but the other two, especially the Jimmy Saville look-alike, took your order, slapped it on the counter and moved on to the next customer....no smile, please or thank you just your drink. That said they did work very hard. Sometimes there was only one bar person and if he was filling the ice-cream fridge, cleaning tables etc etc then you just had to wait till he was finished so by then there was a big queue waiting to be served. One day in particular I waited in a queue for ten minutes with no apology from the barman for us having to wait that length of time. I have been AI before but never had to ask at the bar for soft drinks....had you been able to serve yourself it would have made it a lot easier for the bar staff and the customer.
The food was okay, nothing spectacular, just the usual AI. It was lovely to sit on the terrace for
meals as the views were stunning and there was a cool breeze, which was great as it was very hot when we were there.
Although we had a few gripes it did not spoil our holiday. Santa Ponsa itself is lovely and I would go back but maybe to another Hotel but then we would not have the spectacular view of the bay like we had at Club Santa Ponsa!!!

Room Tip: It is hard to say as the complex is so widespread but we had rooms 901/902 which were just to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#17 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Property: Club Santa Ponsa
Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing