We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here and had a great time.Food was lovely and drinks nice too.Room was spotless although no air con.Adult pool was lovely and quiet and ok the steps r awful but we knew that before we went.I would defo go back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NO1HOLIDAYLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

This was a disappointing hotel to stay at and would not go again. The food was mediocre and often bland. There was no air con!! and it was hot enough to need it, believe me. Our bathroom had no window (a pet hate of mine), although the room was clean. The barman at night couldn´t handle it by himself and was moody and the entertainment was a joke! Oh, nearly forgot hope you like climbing 100´s of stairs too. The views were great and this place has potential shall we say, but as it is right now, it´s not working and is certainly not good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed for 1 week with my partner and children in September 2012. Food was really good for an inclusive hotel with plenty to choose from. Regardless of dietary needs everyone was catered for. Daily and evening entertainment for the children was also provided.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Soco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just got back from here on the 17th Sept 2012.

Transfers.........took just over an hour as we were last stop. But was a fairly pleasant journey.

Check-in.........Arived just after midnight and it was fairly quick and fuss free, considering there were 26 in our family aged from 1yr - 57. Only downside was that 1 room was unavailable untill the next day so 1 of my sisters and her husband had to stay at another hotel, which they say was amazing and was a 5*.

Rooms...........We had booked 5 1bed apartments and 3 studio's, all rooms allocated seemed to be 1 bed apartments. Some had seperate bedroom on same level as kitchen dining room/lounge and some had the bedroom up a flight of stairs which had no door on it, so from my point of view pretty dangerous as I had my 2yr old granddaughter with me. They were however spotless, nicely decorated and spacious, well equiped (kitchen), had large bathrooms and either large balcony or small patio areas. Downside was no air con but rooms did have ceiling fans, and if you left your balcony door open but locked the grill door outside of this and had the fan on then it was sufficient. Also bathrooms had no windows so was pretty hot in there constantly. Rooms cleaned daily except Thurdays and Sundays, maids do a brill job. Cots are charged at 25 euros per week.

Pool..........both pools have amazing views over the bay, even though there were 26 of us we always managed to get at least 12 loungers every day by the main pool and took it in turns to lay on them, we also used lilo's that you are not allowed to use in the pool. We never went to the smaller pool near the restaurant. Its very quiet poolside with no entertainment there at all, although they did have water polo once while we were there, no music, water aerobics or anything, which was pretty boring. No glasses to be taken pool side but thats to be expected and was fine with us, as accident prevention is better than cure.

Bar.........it has a nice seating area outside and inside is where the kids club and evening entertainment takes place. There was only ever 1 barman per shift and although he keeps you waiting sometimes while he clears tables etc, when he does serve you, he is fast and you can get as many drinks as you want. Queues were never a problem as the service is fast. They serve cake around 5pm which is very nice, there is also a freezer here with free ice cream all day, a soft drinks machine and a hot drinks machine.You can also buy ice cold water (lrg bot) for 1 euro,The bar shuts at midnight but you can take your drinks and sit outside, but you do have to keep talk and laughter to a minimum as guests staying in the rooms above the bar complain to reception.

Restaurant.......breakfasts consist of fried eggs, boiled and scrambled, beans, sausages 1 day, bacon the next, fried toms, cereals, yoghurts, bread, rolls, croissants, cakes and much more.
Snacks are served between 12-4 and consist of chips, burgers or hot dogs and a salad selection.
Lunch is 1-3 and has a wide variety of cooked and cold dishes as well as salads and deserts.
Dinner 6.30-9 a;so with a wide choice but a little more variety than lunch, there is also soup, a childrens meals section and a grill section that cooks either meat, fish or pizza on dif days. Beers and wine is on tap during meals too, They have a choc fountain once a week and an outdoor bbq on a monday evening.. Food taken from here must be eaten in the restauant though. The restaurant does how ever have in an out door seating areas. Snacks also have to be eaten in this area and are not allowed poolside or bar area.

Kids club........was from 9-10 doing drawing and painting, and then at 8.30-9 for a disco. Complete waste of time.

Day activities..........crazy golf (crap), archery, good but only 2 arrows with no flights on and then they kept going into the road as board was in a poor location, shooting none existant as no bullets, darts was ok as were two other games i dont know the names of but consisted of pushing either wooden discs into number holes or metal discs across a plastic numbered sheets to score points. Pretty boring as no1 took part except us and moaned when we congratulated each other with whistles or banter.

Evening entertainment..........1 night there were 2 singers, who were not all that, another they had some Brazilian dancers who were good, especially the fire show. The rest consisted of quizes which got boring because of the amount of time they took, after all 5 languages were spoken and the same with bingo.
The animation team did try hard but with the resources they had, shoddy equipment and lack of participation they were flogging a dead horse. It could be so much better if a bit of money was ploughed into it, we were bored stiff most days. Such a shame because its a lovely hotel.

Staff........we found all staff to be very pleasant and helpful, except manager/owner??

There was a gym, sauna and laundry onsite but none of us used these so i can not comment.
Safe deposit boxes are in a locked room under reception which also houses the suitcases for late departures. There is wifi and also 3 computers that are 1 euro for 15 minutes.

Surrounding area......the amazing views here are because this hotel is at the top of a very, very steep hill, with an even steeper driveway to the reception area. The local shops, banks, pharmacy bars and reataurants are a short walk down the hill ( 5 mins) then turn right, and there is a square there that hosts live shows, which are quite good, some of the bars have koaroke, but this does not start till midnight.
If you go straight ahead though the shops have clothes, shoes, bags, jewelery etc aswell as the usual souvenier shops, the tobacco shops are also down here and there is more nightlife such as bars with live shows, discos, gentlemens clubs and the like. The beach is also down here and so is Mcdonalds, burger king and subway lol. Nearly all the bars in both areas are Irish named and have reasonable priced drinks. Restaurants vary from pizza, kebab, chinese etc so a good variety.
The walk back to the hotel is murder as the hill is like a ski slope, but a taxi back is only 3 euros from shops to right or 5 euros from beach. We didnt go any further than this, but my sons, their cousins and our men folk went to Magaluf most nights which is 10 euros by cab.

If you want a hotel thats quite and relaxing then this is the 1 for you, but if you want all day entertainment and some quality evening entertainment then choose a dif hotel as you will be bored stiff especially if you take young children as we did.
Lastly if you have coach or shuttle transfers you have to ring them up 24 hrs before departure otherwise they dont turn up.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the same level as reception, as lower level rooms can be up to 60 steps down. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank imurhuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay here with my partner, yes there are lots of steps but we expected this, the views from the hotel are spectacular.
Ok our room was basic but we did have a fridge and was big enough for us lots of wardrobe space and was cleaned and fresh towels left everyday except Thursday and Sunday.
Food and drink was better than we thought after reading some reviews, all staff friendly especially Paddy the entertainer.
The only negative point for us was on our last day we had to pay 60 euros to keep our all inclusive bands as our flight was not until midnight, all other hotels we have stayed in have allowed this until we leave.
All in all we had a great time and found this great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed in Club Santa Ponsa from 4. to 11. September and we loved it.

The food was excellent. I cannot complain about it at all. There was so much to choose from. For healthy eaters there was plenty of salads and vegetable, fabulous fish, chicken, yogurts and such. "Junk food" lovers could help themselves with fries, hamburgers - make your own style :) friend meat and such. There was sea food that I personally appreciated, fruit, and variety of deserts - even chocolate fountain :)

The reception was very nice, polite and acted very professionally. The room was spotless, cleaned almost daily (no service on Thursdays and Sundays), clean towels given every time cleaned. The pool area was very nice, also very clean and we had no issue whatsoever with sunbeds. We put towels there before we had breakfast in order to reserve it and nobody removed it while we were having breakfast.

The bar area is nice, we preferred to sit outside and have few drinks. We did not like mixed drinks as these were too sweet, but wine, CAVA (fizzy wine), beer or gin&tonic was save :)
The entertainment was good in 2 nights out of 7 only. The quiz nights were pretty boring...

We did not mind a little walk up the hill or stairs as the view from the hotels is worth it.

All in all we liked the hotel very much and thinking of returning back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Spent a short 4 night break here in April 2012.
1.Location:
The hotel is set on an elevation offering spectacular views over looking The town and sea. The sea and town are a 10/15 minute stroll away, but be aware the the hotel is up a very steep curving lane and the path from the road to reception is also extremly steep. The layout is quite querky, not being laid out in a uniform way, but set on differant levels with steps going up and down and along steep little paths. Not reccomended for people who are not too fit or have a disability,You can turn right outside the entrance and walk along, where you will find a set of steps going down to the town and beach, but there are in excess of 200 steps

2, Accomadation and facilities:
The hotel does not have any rooms as such but studios, which are basic but comfortable and clean. there is a small open plan kitchen with hob oven and fridge. The rooms are cleaned daily.
There is a small pool set on a sun patio with sunbeds overlooking the mountains and sea.

3,Food:
I stayed on half board basis. The dining room is very pleasant with crisp white cloths. All meals are buffet style, the variety good with plenty of salads and fruit, home made biscuits and cakes.Red or white wine, juices, water, and beer are available with the evening meal.

4, Getting about:
There is a good and freqent bus service from the town centre, into the larger resorts, like Palma City, Palma Nova, or magaluf, and the North. fares are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank flablon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#10 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £52 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing