We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel - such a shame about the hen/stag parties!”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Love this hotel - such a shame about the hen/stag parties!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Club Santa Ponsa as we went last year and loved it so much, we decided to go again this year.

We've just got back from a 12 night stay and the hotel is just fab.

The food was fantastic throughout the whole 12 nights. One of our party is Coeliac and the restaurant made sure there was gluten free food for breakfast and every meal time the restaurant manager showed her what she could have. We couldn't fault the food at all and didn't hear any other guests grumble about it either.

The location is lovely. It's tucked away on a hillside and the views are fantastic. Yes, it's abit of a trek down the hill and the stairs but we didn't mind.

The staff were all amazing. They couldn't do enough. Daytime activities were good and the nighttime entertainment was pretty similar to last year. It's not amazing but it's fine. We met some lovely people on holiday so would sit with them on a night.

The all inclusive drinks were great. Definitely no complaints.

The pool isn't huge but we have a 6 year old so it was great for us as we could always keep an eye on her. Both our 12 year old and our 6 year old loved the pool.

Yet again this year there was a small issue with the sunbeds. I dread to think what it's like in summer. I made sure I was up every morning about 8am to get the sunbeds as by about 8.45, they were all gone. In summer, I'm guessing you'd have to get up about 6am! It does say that you're no allowed to reserve the sunbeds but nothing is done to enforce this. We would often see people putting towels on beds about 8.30 and then not even going to them until about 3pm which was unfair on other people.

The room was fantastic. Yes it's pretty basic but it's large, amazing views, enormous balcony and comfortable. It suited us perfectly and we were very happy with it.

We love this hotel. Really really love it. We've been to many many hotels before and nothing can beat this. Every guest we spoke to on holiday said the same thing that it was a lovely hotel but....................... why oh why does the hotel let hen and stag parties stay there.

It really is a huge shame.

We were there over 2 separate weekends and both weekends there was problems. We never encountered any groups of men or women last year and as it's classed as a family hotel, we never envisaged any problems this year either. The first weekend there was 'girls' naked, constant jeering and swearing and just general drunk behaviour. The second weekend involved large groups of 'men' throwing sun loungers in the pool, urinating at the pool side, constant jeering and swearing yet again and it was just dreadful. All of this took place in front of all the kids at the pool side and families were made to leave the pool area because of it.

This hotel is no longer a 'family' hotel in my eyes and I think it's almost criminal as to what is happening to it.

I would have quite happily have come home and rebooked for next year but I will be looking for somewhere else as I don't want my children feeling that they can't go in the pool. On one day, when it was a gorgeous day, there wasn't one child in the pool and this was due to the outrageous behaviour at the poolside and the kids were scared to go near it.

If you don't mind hen and stag do's, then you can't beat this hotel. We're not opposed to people having a good time and the odd bit of bad language etc. but this was way beyond that.

Such a shame!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northyorksgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your review. We are glad to hearing that you loved our hotel. We don't allow guests to book sunbeds and we will be more careful about your reference. Our apologize for this.

And of course we are really sorry about the group of people yoy found at your stay in our hotel. That is why this is one the most important online platforms for us to give the rest of holiday makers this important notice:

"This is a hotel for families and people who want to have a beautiful holiday in our resort.

Groups of people who are thinking of booking for a short-stay with the only intention to get drunk, make parties and disturb the rest of our guests, are not welcome and of course in the wrong way, as we will consider not letting them stay from the first day.

We are really concerned about this matter. There are other options around the world for this kind of behaviour, but for sure is not CLUB SANTA PONSA".

We hope to see you again.
With our best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    432
    176
    61
    39
See reviews for
482
312
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived back yesterday from a 3 day break at this hotel and we had a lovely time. The rooms are spotless and spacious, lots of storage space and we were in a studio so we had a small kitchenette with a normal sized fridge. Fully stocked with cutlery and plates and glasses, not that you really need it because of the all inclusive but it was nice to have to keep drinks cold and make a cup of tea.
The hotel is built into a hill and there are lots of steps as other reviewers have pointed out, this is not just the steps down top Santa Ponsa but literally all over the hotel to get to rooms and communal areas. Anyone who has any sort of mobility or heath issues would be better in a different hotel I would suggest. However as a result of its location, there are panoramic views everywhere you walk around the hotel and it is also quiet and tranquil away from the busy resort of Santa Ponsa. The shuttle bus is really handy but it drops you off quite far away from the hotel in the busier part of the resort where it is quite commercial (MacDonalds Etc). When we walked down you got much more of a traditional feel to the village. Noteably the shuttle does not operate on a Sunday. A taxi is about 3 and a half Euros so we did use taxis especially to get back up because those steps are an absolute killer going back up!! Santa Ponsa is lovely and you can have a really good night out after the all inclusive finishes at 12am. Lots of bars and restaurants and a couple of night clubs open well into the early hours!
The food is good and the restaurant is lovely to sit outside and has good shade, there wasnt a meal that passed where we both found something nice to eat and they vary it well each meal time. Its not gourmet standard but its clean, well stocked and varied catering for all tastes in my opinion. The drinks are of a good standard and the wine is lovely.
I travelled with my friend and as two women travelling alone we felt safe in the hotel and the staff were very good although none of them seem very happy in their work and with the exception of an older barman they were quite sombre really.
We booked with Broadway travel and I must mention that they were great, however the transfer was a nightmare. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes from the airport yet our transfer with quick travel/a2b travel took an hour and a half! The filled the coach up full to the brim and then did multiple drops with just a few people getting off at each stop. Club santa ponsa was the last drop so we ditched the transfer on the way back and got a cab and we were at the airport in 20 minutes! What I will say though it was quite scary - the taxi driver drove like a maniac!!
Other reviews have mentioned stag and hen parties and there are people/groups there for a party. We were fairly lucky as most groups were very respectful but I could see some other guests were a bit uncomfortable with the drunken loud behaviour.
We had a bit of an issue with the neighbours on the first night who were very loud when they came home at about 3am and were loud in the corridoors and on the balcony and it spoiled our nights sleep so I asked to be moved in the morning because we had gone to relax and they moved us to the next block with not too much of a fuss which was nice. The rooms on the lower floors in numbers 901 - 905 have a real echo and you can even hear the toilets being flushed in the next rooms because of the accoustics in the corridoors so I would avoid that block. The higher rooms in general seemed much nicer but you get multiple stairs with them. We met 2 other friends on holiday and they had a 1 bed apartment and it was lovely with a massive balcony. Just depends what you want really, we didnt spend any time in the room so it didnt matter to us.
Overall I would recommend the hotel but think carefully if you can't get along with people drinking and having a good time because of it's location and price, you will find groups inevitable and if you get annoyed by this maybe it is not for you. We just sat back and enjoyed the show (and joined in a bit!!)

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladycatherinehay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your comments. We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your short stay in our hotel.

With best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the food and drinks were great. The pools are nice and poolside catches the sunshine very nicely. It's located high up a hill but they do provide a shuttle service for those that don't fancy the 187 steps down to the main area. This was good, though, because it means you're away from all the noise to get some sleep.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasCovenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your comments. We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your short stay in our hotel.

With best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed one week in a studio apartment and only complaint is very basic beds. Other than that the hotel and room was spotless. Staff work incredibly hard, from reception to kitchen and cleaners, everyone is tireless and helpful. Location and layout might not suit elderly/immobile but the plus is the view it gives. The hotel gives excellent value for money and centre is 10mins walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccormm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your comments. We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your short stay in our hotel.

With best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There seemed mixed reviews for this hotel but the main are positive. We (four females) stayed at this beautiful resort May half term for four nights. The reception, lounge/bar and pool looked very inviting on arrival and everywhere was immaculate and with good decor albeit dated! Staff were relaxed and friendly enough, to us anyway! We didn't have to wait for our studio where as our two friends who'd arrived earlier did and had to wait until about 1pm. The room was what I expected for the price, pretty basic but we did have a working flat screen tv! And it was really clean. The hot water was variable! We slept comfortably. I'm really surprised some have been negative about the food, the choice was huge, beautifully presented and they catered for all pallets! We met a couple who live on the Island that visited the restaurant every week! The themed evenings lacked imagination, the wine tasting was more an offering of free booze (a choice of 3 cheap wines!), but this wasn't what we'd travelled for anyway. I found the other guests very well behaved, a mix of families, older couples, even teenagers. There were no signs of drunken disorderly large parties but maybe we were lucky. I probably wouldn't visit again because of all the steps everywhere which we found exhausting, but on the whole the Hotel and Santa Ponsa really delivered a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't involve too many steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your comments. We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your short stay in our hotel.

With best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After reading reviews we were very pleasantly surprised with club Santa ponsa hotel, this apartment is the best we have been to, instead of the studio we had booked we got a lovely 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the bay with a very large balcony ,2 sun loungers and table with 4 chairs.
The apartment was spotless and cleaned every day .The staff are very pleasant,friendly and cannot do enough to help you.The bar staff Chencho and Franc are a laugh a minute and are very efficient we didn't wait long to be served.Lucy keeps all the kids entertained with all the up to date activities (thank you Lucy for the music )night entertainment varies the illusion show is excellent don't miss this.The lunches were great choice and delicious, only 2 nights out of the 9 nights we stayed we didn't like the food .The stairs were not as bad as described .The only downside to our holiday was the shuttle bus ,we sat on the bus for over an hour before we moved and then it took us another hour to reach the hotel ,next year we are booking a taxi.

Room Tip: Room 310 has large balcony, great views and not to far from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your nice comments. We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed our services and your stay in our hotel.

With best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just returned after a two week stay. This was my second stay after going last February.
I returned with a friend this year, who found it just as enjoyable as I did.
The accommodation was great, spacious and clean with superb views. The food was excellent, plentiful and imaginative. There is also a barbeque once a week and grilled meats from the restaurant most days. I have Coeliac disease, and the staff were most helpful in advising me what was suitable for me to eat. My friend was amazed at the choice of foods offered, especially the salad dishes and desserts.
It was also very nice to be recognised by some of the staff.
We shall be returning next year for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Carol,

thanks for your nice comments. We are glad to hearing that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

With best regards,

Club Santa Ponsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Property: Club Santa Ponsa
Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing