We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have never been made to feel so unwelcome in all my life, when we first booked this hotel it never stated that groups/hen parties were not welcome. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager who immediately said "one strike and you are out". We were a group go 11 women who's average age was between 30-40 who have children themselves and know what is acceptable behaviour. We we also put in the furthest rooms away from everything and everyone.

We were instantly on edge and didn't feel we could be ourselves we even distanced ourselves and didn't stay at the hotel and at night time we sat around the pool away from other guests. I found the food to be very repetitive and very bland and can't see that it was worth paying for all inclusive, especially when on our last day we had to have our wrist bands cut off at noon. Which I thought was absolutely ludicrous seeing as we were not being picked up until 7pm, so again we had to go out. Having spoken to other guests we found out that other groups had not had the same warning as us and to be honest I found some of there behaviour offensive. So I can't see why we were singled out

I think that if this hotel want to be a "family hotel", then they need to stop taking bookings from groups and make it clear that they are not welcome. So aside from the rude manager and unfriendly staff this hotel needs updating to join the twenty first century, I never had a hot shower the whole time i was there.

We paid good money to come on this holiday just like everybody else who was staying there, I think the way the manager delivered his warning was totally unacceptable and we should not have been judged on previous guest behaviour. They put a black cloud over us and made us all feel uncomfortable.

I will never return and would not recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid the sea view rooms on the ground floor as far to many steps and away from everything. Plus no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    431
    176
    61
    39
See reviews for
481
312
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I travelled to Club Santa Ponsa with a group of ladies aged between 20 and 40 on a hen weekend. On arrival we were greeted by the manager assuming he was going to welcome us and explain any information about the hotel we needed to know. Unfortunately he was extremely rude and began to explain that if we had any complaints made against us, we would be thrown out of the hotel. We are most certainly not a loud rowdy group of women and do not expect to be judged in that way. So immediately we felt completely unwelcome and disgusted in how unprofessional the manager behaved. We felt extremely uncomfortable around everybody else staying in the hotel who stared at us constantly like we were aliens, so we chose to sit as far away as we could from anyone to make sure there would be no form of complaint mad against us.

There was absolutely zero evening entertainment which is ridiculous as we wanted to make the most of using our all inclusive facilities, therefore we had to go out straight after dinner. Throughout the day we had no choice but to go to the beach as there is no where to sit because the pool is so busy.

The food was bearable- not a lot to choose from although I did except this as the hotel is small. Every single night the showers were absolutely freezing, we had no choice but to boil water down stairs in saucepans which took forever and then carry the boiling water upstairs and fill the bath (so unsafe). There were a flight of stairs from our room to the pool/restaurant/bar etc which were ridiculously high and unsafe. I cannot believe people actually brought there children to stay here with how unsafe all the hills and steep stairs were. I am a mother and wouldn't dream of bringing my daughter to a hotel that is this highly situated.

One evening after coming home having fully locked the door, our front door which is only a thin glass door(not very secure at all) was open, this completely threw me out and I was scared to even enter. Nothing was taken but the fact the door was open made us all feel so unsafe!

On our final day, we were not actually leaving the hotel till 7 o'clock in the evening. Our wristbands were cut off at 12 o'clock midday, which meant lunch at 1 o'clock was no longer available and drinks and snacks had to stop. We had a poorly member of the group that day and were treated in a disgusting manner when we asked for some water for her, because it was just after 12 we were told she couldn't even have a drink unless we were going to pay.

Therefore we missed out on basically a full days worth of all inclusive facilities that we have all paid for. I have stayed all inclusive at a lot of different resorts and I have never had the facilities stopped like this.

I am so offended by how we were treated. We are a respectable group of women who came for a relaxing weekend of sun sea and laughs. We paid just as much money as everyone else in the hotel therefore have just as much right to be there as anyone else.

Santa Ponsa itself is brilliant, the beach/shops/nightlife etc, and I would 100% return to stay in a different hotel that isn't up in the mountains with unsafe and ridiculously high steps to climb. Anyone reading this review that is thinking of trying to hotel in a group bigger than 3 people, please look elsewhere, our fun relaxing weekend was completely ruined by such a poor hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was part of a respectful hen party & on arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager who warned us that we would get no warning if we were too loud or complained about we would be thrown out immediately!!! This made us feel uncomfortable from the start & put a dampener on our holiday! Having spoken to a family they said a large rowdy stag party of 28 had just gone home & all the guests were upset!!!!! We were offended to have been tarred with the same brush! We were made to feel uncomfortable for laughing in the bar & moved away so as not to upset anyone, when families & other groups were noiser than we were!!!!!!
No hot water for showers!!!!!
Not much choice at meal times!!!
Wrist bands cut off at 12pm on day of departure, I have NEVER had this before in all my years of going all inclusive!!!!
Stairs to rooms...Horrendous!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marknfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arriving for our friends hen party we were looking forward to a relaxing get away, entering the reception area at the hotel we were greeted by the manager to be threatened within seconds 'one complaint and you are out' the understanding people we are we took it with a pinch of salt, they had already branded us trouble makers, we were placed right at the bottom of the hotel out of the way of everyone and stared at every time we walked anywhere in the hotel, we didn't stay at the hotel in the day as we were made to feel so unwelcome. The bedroom was ok but our fan was broke and all the showers were freezing!! The food was nice and some of the staff were welcoming, others were rude and couldn't even crack a smile. On our last day we had to check out at 12 and we're made to have our all inclusive bands cut off there and then even though we weren't being picked up until 19.05, we were told no eating or drinking after 12 and the bar staff were told not to serve us after 12, being not able to bring your own food and drink around the pool it was possibly one of the most ridiculous things id ever heard. I understand that families had booked for a peaceful holiday but not everyone is 'bad mouthed' and 'disrespectful'. We were stepping on eggshells all holiday and if it wasn't for our high spirits it could of possibly ruined everything for the bride!! DONT let big groups book in if it's a family hotel, and perhaps consider that not every group of women are bad!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loou-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel had such good reviews when we booked last December.The nearer our holiday got the more we worried after the reviews started going down hill. Don't get me wrong it's a lovely place but surely a family hotel should be just that. We encountered large groups of stag and hen parties during our weeks stay. My 4 year old son wouldn't go near the pool area because of the foul language and shouting etc. Loved Santa Ponsa but i'm afraid we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atkinson_GY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 13 day stay at this beautiful hotel. This is our 3rd time here and we are returning in 6 weeks . The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is set in beautiful surroundings . The food is second to none. As previous reviews have stated ; the stag parties did cause a bit of a problem and they did seem to take the hotel over but the manager has hopefully resolved this ! I would not let this put you off !! . Thank you to the animation team, Lucy and Andrea for encouraging our son to get involved with all the activities : something he normally shies away from ! And by the end of our holiday you even had him dancing on the stage !!!

In summary; this is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic setting . There is nothing I dislike about this hotel .

One thing in particular stands out to me is that the manager of the hotel will acknowledge his guests and even eats in the dining room ! Which I find very respectful ! ..

Thank u once again club Santa Ponsa for a fantastic holiday and we will see you all again in 6 weeks !!!! X

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubSantaPonsa, General Manager at Club Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Annette,

thank you very much for your kind review.

This is in fact what we wish our guests will experience during their holiday in our establishment, as we effort to give the best service for all.

The staff will be very pleased to reading your comments. Also, we want to take profit on this platform to leave this important notice:

"This is a family oriented hotel and not to hen/party groups for any kind of celebration which misbehavior may disturb other customers. The hotel reserves the right to request a deposit of € 150 per room upon arrival of any such group."

We are really concerned about this and we will keep our high standards for all customers who want to have a great time at Club Santa Ponsa.

With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

When we first got there and to be told there was a double booking by the hotel . It showed a lack of class..the resort itself it topnotch and as we knew that there was quite a number of us we tried to keep away from the majority of the guests and cannot be responsible for guests of whom are unknown to us and indeed in an apartment below.we were only there three days.. What did you do on your stag ! Play chess ..i doubt it. .so your obviously over exagerating about your experience and to further that why add it to the hotel review.heres mine..
1..hotel clean
2..food excellent
3. Appartments are adequate
4.staff very courteous
5.entertainment is finer
6..location is fine and it is very family friendly and I would recommend it to all helmut heads around the world

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helmethunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#36 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Property: Club Santa Ponsa
Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing