We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view, average hotel”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The view is the best thing about this hotel. Also, if you are looking to get out of the away of the town this would be prefect.
The food was average. Although they has a very good range of things to eat, it was quite bland and they hardly had any local dishes.
The reception staff were very warm, especially Ron who went out of his way to welcome my partner and I. The bar stuff were also very polite.
The rooms were very disappointing!! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the amazing sea front and scenery but that and the cleanliness of the room was the only highlight.They were very outdated and hot. There is no air con just two fans on the light switch which resembled and sounded like two World War Two plane propellers. There is also no iron or hair dryer in the room.
The cleanliness of the rooms wee outstanding but in five days I did not see one person clean the pool and they were almost always dirty looking.
The walk to and from town could be difficult with a push chair, wheelchair or young children. There is a total of 178 steep and broken steps to town or a long steep ramp that zig zags across a shrubbery which you then have to walk through a gravelly path and more steps. It's €5.00 in a cab into town.
Also, if you are going just with your partner or other adults I would not recommend this hotel as there is a lot of children here and the entertainment is based around then.
The entertainment was also very strange. They had a really embarrassing drag act which young children were invited to watch. It was all very strange.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just got back from this hotel in Santa Ponsa and may I say in our opinion it was well worth the stay.We arrived on the 30th of July for a one weeks stay and it was excellent.The rooms were spacious and clean and my sons family had an apartment which was huge with 2 balconies and a patio raffia wrap round sofa.My wife and I had a studio which was also extremely spacious with a view to the side of the sea and surrounding villages.
The food was different everyday with themed menues that seemed to suit everyone.You could eat inside or out on the terrace which overlooked the sea and idyllic place to have breakfast lunch and evening dinner.
The staff were superb and made a lot of fuss with the children and baby.
I will now come to the views from this hotel they were amazing overlooking the whole of the Santa Ponsa bay they were just incredible.
We have read about stag and hen parties causing bother here well may I say that yes there were groups of male and female but not one bit of trouble occurred during our stay.
The clientel of this hotel are from may parts of Europe and it was different than just staying where all people are British it was a good experience.
If I had a criticism I would recommend the purchase of a new toaster machine as the one that was there slow and to get a good slice of toast took about 4 or 5 times through.
In my opinion if this is my only criticism it cant be all that bad in fact excellent.
The hill is steep up to the hotel but doable but hey a Taxi is only 3 euroes good value.
To sum up this hotel is good and the layout is different with the rooms being at varying levels and spread out across the site many with fantastic views.
We had a great holiday at the Club Santa Ponsa and believe me we wish we were still there.
So thanks to all the staff for making our holiday.

Peter

Room Tip: I you have babies ask for a room at reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank thorntonpeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent 10 days at this hotel from 13th to 23rd June 2014 - we had e mailed Andy at the hotel prior to arriving and asked for an apartment with a sea view and a large balcony and that's exactly what we got " but " it was down 47 steepish stairs and carrying 2 x 20 kilo case down these stairs was a real problem for me being in my late 60's - the thought of carrying them back up the stairs was a nightmare so I asked Andy at reception if the golf buggy used by the cleaning staff for collecting laundry could collect our cases from below our department which he arranged to our great relief - perhaps the hotel could offer this service as a matter of course even at a small charge - as said in our review title the staff were great including Chencho & Francisco in the bar who kept us entertained - Vecente, Teresa & Jackie Chan in the restaurant were always happy and helpful - the food was very acceptable and we could always find something nice to eat - being AI we had many good quality drinks during our holiday and there was never a limit on how many drinks you could have - the apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean - on the "negative" side there were Stag & Hen parties who could be noisy & a bit rude at times but the manager kept them under control - we would advise the hotel to look at the ages of the residents when allocating rooms and put the younger more fit residents in the rooms that have to be accessed by the many stairs and put us oldies on the level areas.

Room Tip: Rooms 600 to 900 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel. Food lovely and plenty of choice, paella particularly fab! Bar covers all bases with the prosseco and g&ts being a big hit with the lovely ladies I travelled with. Views are amazing and rooms very clean. Manager 'Ron' made our 40th birthday break away, we would certainly return! Fabulous value for money.

Room Tip: You can't really go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Collydut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great stay in this lovely hotel. Amazing views over santa ponsa and unlike a few reviews i've read recently, the staff were absolutely brilliant. We were part of a stag doo and it's absolute nonsense that you are treated any differently to anybody else. We could not have been made more welcome.

The rooms were clean and spacious, however, the "air-con" was next to useless and the room was very hot, that would be the hotels only downfall.

Can't comment on the food as i ate out most of the time but the other lads said it was ok.

Would certainly stay here again on return to Santa Ponsa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just arrived home after 2 weeks at Club Santa Ponsa. Reception staff were very efficient and hotel room lovely, but the rest of the amenities are not so good.The food is not as good as people say it is, its mostly Luke warm. The sweets are OK, but I almost swallowed a sharp piece of plastic which was inside a cake.I reported it, but still waiting for an answer.Stick with the fruit as that is edible.The pool areas were dirty and not cleaned regularly. Evening entertainment for adults is awful ! Don't go if you don't like snakes,mime acts or stupid,noisy games that no-one wants to take part in. There was a good barman in the bar,always cheerful and "Chengwan" the waiter was fantastic ! Also beware of huge seagulls attacking your dinner plates if eating outside. We ate out in the village down the hill quite a lot during the day,didn't want to walk back up that hill to club santa ponsa for Luke warm food.

Room Tip: Level five or six. Not so many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyTennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fab hotel, really clean plenty different choices of food plenty of sunbeds
Really close to the square where the bars are
Second visit here only stayed for two nights this time
Would return again
Thank you to all

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#19 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £52 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing