We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, families with children reconsider”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arrived in complete darkness to be greeted at reception and given a vague description of how to get to our room, after spending half an hour going up and down steps we finally found our room. No complaints with room, clean with a good size balcony. We got up first day and took our 2 young children for breakfast then decided on a day at the pool. Bad idea there were stag and hen parties by pool making it totally unsuitable and unsafe for kids. I was misinformed that this would be a family resort. After 4 days of this , New groups arriving each day, we approached hotel management, manager shrugged shoulders offered a room changed and assured us no more groups were due to arrive. Next morning a new group arrived so we regrettably had to move to a new hotel as we were unable to use the facilities. We received no apology or anything from hotel we will not be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lalababes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Returned today from our family holiday, 2 dults and our 10 yr old daughter, in Club Santa Ponsa, we had the most amazing time ever. I had read the reviews before we booked this hotel, including the gripes made by certain hen or stag parties. This is definitely a FAMILY hotel, catering for families, which is great, so why hen/stag parties would book this hotel is beyond me, the blurb on the hotel does say it is a 'family' hotel. Anyway, the positives of this hotel are, the food, absolutely fantastic, especially for a 3 star hotel. There is plenty of choice, with food available for the children each day. Food was well cooked and well presented, if you didn't like one thing you can always try something else. Yes, on our 2nd week, we found the food to be similar to the 1st, but again, for people who complained, there is so much variety that you don't have to eat the same things! The rooms are a bit dated, but absolutely spotless, and anyway, you are not likely to spend much time in your room with so much on offer. Entertainment programme for the children was brilliant, our daughter made so many friends, and to be honest, this helped us to have a break too. Lucy has to be one of the most commited children's entertainer there is. The bar staff were great, so busy all the time, as were the restaurant staff. Reception staff were also great, they are happy to answer your queries and any problems, and work quickly to resolve these. Ron on reception is especially friendly and brilliant with the children, a really nice guy! The pool area is good, and if we have one issue, it is that there are nort enough sunbeds for all, this is in part due to the fact that there is not enough area for the number of sunbeds needed, and a couple of mornings, there were issues between guests about sunbeds. I would only suggest to management that they try and either have some sort of a system for allocating sunbeds or try and make the area bigger. This is not a complaint, more of a suggestion as I know management are aware of the issues. The hotel is situated on a hill, but with taxi rides costing only 4 euro's from the centre of Santa Ponsa to the hotel, it is well worth getting a taxi back form the twon to the hotel, the walk down is great. We would also recommend a trip to Dragonera Island via boat from Santa Ponsa, book the 3.5 hours trip, kids will love seeing all the lizards!! Overall, 10 out of 10 for this hotel, and 10/10 for Santa Ponsa for families, this is our 2nd time there. Please ignore any bad reviews, this has to be the best family hotel in Majorca and also, the best value for money, it certainly beats some 4 star hotels that are around. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who have a family. Please management, reward Ron and Lucy for their hard work, all staff are lovely, but these two are outstanding!! Can't wait to see you all next year, Eileen Wayne & Enya Jeffries

Room Tip: If you are booking a studio, try to get rooms 908, 925, 926 or 927 they have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank eileenj855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fantastic hotel -
Food was great, plenty of variety and always hot. No big queues.
Entertainment staff were excellent, worked so hard with the children and made such a huge effort to include them all and make them feel welcome.
Pool was always clean and plenty of room although the longers were always taken by the time we got there but this happens in every complex, we spent most of our time by the pool so it was no big issue. We had 2 children age 4 and 6 so it was perfect to keep an eye on both of them.
Bar staff worked quickly and efficiently and were also super nice people.
Rooms were excellent, we had a 1 bed apartment. It was spacious and had the most amazing views of Santa Ponsa.We paid the €90 for aircon and it was definitely worth it.
Highly recommend for families, our whole family had a fantastic time and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 501 has the hugest balcony and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Rfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from club Santa ponsa with 2 kids aged 16 '& 11 & two friends had a fantastic time food & drink were great . views are out of this world ,staff are great especially chenko & Ron . rooms are clean . may suggest air con hire . No stag or hen parties when we were there . All in we would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great hotel. I have never seen such a choice of food in a 3 star hotel before, themed nights etc. The hotel is very clean and the staff were all nice. Ron on reception will help you as much as he can. Not at all suitable for anybody with walking difficulties. We walked down the very steep steps to get to the main resort but got a taxi back, which was 3 euros. There is a fan in the rooms but if your room has a sea view it will get the sun all day and can get really hot, our room looked onto the play park and never got the sun which was great and our room stayed cool, you can hire air con at a cost of 10 euros per night if you cant stand the heat. This was our 5th time in Santa Ponsa but the first time to this hotel. The views are beautiful. I would definitely go back to this hotel it was well worth the money. Martin and Liz from scotland

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bhoyscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Firstly, ignore the bad reviews it seems people have nothing better to do than moan. Every hotel I have stayed in you pay a seperate charge for air con, for us the fan was fine. We stayed in 721 studio. It wad spacious and clean. Our balcony over looked the kids play park and we didnt get much sun on the balcony (thankfully) as it kept the room cool. The food js gorgeous and not at all repeated....we stayed here 4 days and there was different food every night. Bbq monday, italian, mexican....it is not repetitive! The staff are so friendly and helpful and the entertainment is great for the kids too. Yes the hotel is up all those steps but you can walk up a steady bank adding 5 mins into the walk its not a major issue! The pool was clean I have seen other reviews saying it never got cleaned well it did every morning we were there. If you want a 5* go and stay in one and complain there but this hotel is perfect. We will be returning next year for definite!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nagem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Never been to a hotel in the med without air con. and with a useless fan it was nasty and we sweated big time every night in bed. On top of that when my wife mentioned it to the receptionist, she was sarcastic about it rather than sympathetic or understanding! The only good thing was the food but on the 3rd day we realised it was the same food again so that wore a bit thin too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#10 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#33 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: £50 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing