We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Park Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Park Apartments
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We based our choice on three things, the reviews, distance from airport and Trip Advisor ranking, for us a disappointment as we really feel it is not an accurate reflection of the reality.

We travelled as couple with a teenager, and a couple with a young child. The apartments are all exactly the same, except for the steps. There is a lift from reception to the pool but after that it is steps only, we were on level zero yet still had a steep flight of steps to climb, the steps are treacherous, I slipped but was lucky to have my fall broken, the maid careered down them a couple of times too, I would have never been able to have an apartment on the fourth floor, the complex is incredibly steep.

Inside the apartment is one good size bedroom, a reasonable bathroom with a nice powerful shower and lashings of hot water, although every few minutes it bursts boiling water, so watch the little ones with it. The kitchenette is part of the sitting room which has a sofa bed. The sofa bed which is actually just a sofa, was not long enough for my teenage daughter, and the second bed which slides from underneath is of a very poor standard. The beds as a whole were rock hard and very uncomfortable, back ache all round every night, the staff acknowledged that the beds are uncomfortable. The rooms were clean, however housekeeping is alternate days with just one change of sheets. No TV in any rooms.

The safe is in a room, and not in the apartment, the safe is tiny, just enough room for 3 passports and a camera, the aircon is pay for the stay only too, for 8 nights the safe and aircon combined were a staggering 79 euros, payable in cash only. The rooms were quite secure if double locked when left though.

This is not a place to relax and chill by the pool, quite apart from the fact that the pool area is small, there are no parasols so when the sun is at it's hottest their is no respite at all. The sun deck gets the sun all day, but it also attracts kids playing footie despite the signs saying no football. The pool is an average size, not a suitable shape to swim in, and the toddler pool is in dire need of retiling, although cleaned every evening.

This is a children's complex, nothing to do for anyone over the age of ten, for little ones there is no kids club, the pool is full of inflatables and there is no life guard, the sign says the children are the responsibility of the parent, great, except the parents seem to leave them to their own devices even when it gets out of control. For teenagers there is nothing to do, it isn't a site for couples or young people, although the older visitors were happy with a nightly bingo costing 5 euros a strip.

There is entertainment advertised, but be warned, if the compere, Duane isn't in the mood it doesn't happen, instead there is a tv to watch re runs of whatever takes his fancy, boring doesn't cover it. Karaoke was advertised we went back for it and he had decided not to do it, everything stops for the football too, kids are hushed up and so are the other guests for this.

The staff, all were lovely and helpful, except for Duane, the kids liked him chasing them and dumping them in the pool, he also had lots of time for the young ladies, but he was clearly treading water under a better job comes along.

Poolside food tasty enough if a little expensive, the whole area was costly, just outside of the hotel is a row of bars, cheap drinks, 6 euros for a jug of vodka and red bull, but keep walking until you come to the roundabout, turn left and it's the beach, although littered with cigarette ends, the sea lovely and clear with shoals of fish swimming about. Sun beds 4.50 and parasols 4.50, great place to spend the day. Keep walking past the beach to entertainment, shops and restaurants. Santa Ponsa is probably the most expensive place to eat, we spent more than anywhere else we have stayed. A beer is 4 euros which is ridiculous.

Recommend Boston O'Brady's, lovely staff, amazing food, but be prepared to wait some time for it to be cooked. The raspberry cheesecake is the yummiest, but the food is again costly, so are the drinks, with cocktails at 7 euros each. We also ate at the bar opposite who serve a lovely homemade lasagne and chilli con carne for 8.95. The sangria was lethal.

Don't waste money on a pool view, most apartments face the pool. Although they profess to be quiet at night after the bar shuts at 1am, every night we had arguing groups in their late teens, mainly on their return from Magaluf which is about 6kms away, drunk, rowdy and noisy. Usually about 4am.

There are no smoke alarms in any apartments, no fire bells on site at all, this worried us as there are bars on the windows for security and no phones. Just one plug socket by the kettle, but plenty in the bedroom and sitting room area, hairdryer nice and powerful, ants a mega problem, we had to call emergency back up when returning to our room the bathroom sink could not be seen totally over run with black ants, all up the wall, it was horrible, but clearly a big problem as the maintenance man walked around with his ant killer a lot of the time.

Personally I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it, the negatives far out weighed the positives for us as a family looking for a relaxing holiday with some entertainment. If you do book, use the hotel website as rooms were cheaper this way, do go to the square, entertainment from about ten every night it is a good twenty minute walk from the hotel, or 3 euros by taxi, lots of eateries and some gift shops.

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with a zero have the least steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily-Anne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    346
    129
    53
    50
See reviews for
668
420
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

well where do I start - was looking forward to this holiday and it well exceeded my expectations. From the moment we arrived we were greeted outside by lovely staff members and our cases were carried to our rooms for us - Great . Apartments were spotless and very fresh we asked for pool views and that is exactly what we got room 133 and 134 . All staff couldn't do enough for u we asked if it was possible to have another pillow and within 5 minutes the guy was carrying 2 to our room ! special mention to Antonio who was so helpful and a very pleasant guy who took time to talk to us and Anna Marie she was fab and the girls on the bar Joanne and Ula and the other girls on the bar - and how can we forget Duane he was brilliant from playing with the kids who thoroughly loved him and followed him about and he always had time for them and adults alike - his rifle shooting , volleyball even playing pool and table tennis with us - what a great guy . Enjoyed the quizzes even though weren't very good at them - his drinkin game lol and Bingo - rave on lol - we couldn't praise him and the rest of the staff enough ! I really don't know how anyone can give negative reviews about this place - its brilliant and we will definitely be back - we loved it x We even had a problem with my sons girlfriend who was ill and needed to go to hospital - Anna Marie rang for an ambulance and helped us on our way and thankfully everything was ok and everyone showed their concern and we thank them for that . Thanks everyone for a holiday to remember you are a wonderful team lots of love to u all Kay, Trevor, Adam, Ryan and Sarah. P S Duane - get u in the pool next time couldn't this time cuz u went and got ur tat

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kay1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I echo the comment below from Sara. It was a fantastic holiday largely down to the hotel.
If you take 5 minutes to research this hotel before booking you would see that it is a fun family hotel, this obviously includes children. Duane was great fun gave out plenty of banter and was happy to get some in return. He made the children's holiday fun and in turn made our holiday fantastic.
I would not hesitate in booking this hotel again.
The bottom line is if you want a quiet holiday then don't book this hotel, if you have children and want to see them enjoying themselves then you won't find a better place to stay.
The rooms are excellent, the hotel is pristine. It exceeded all if my expectations after the low price that we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEHTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a ten day stay at the holiday park and what a great holiday we had. The apartments are spotless & cleaned regularly. The hypnosis show was outstanding. The staff behind the bar, cleaners, reception, management and Charlie worked hard to make this a lovely welcoming place. Please take no notice of the previous comments about Duane the entertainer as the couple who wrote it were known throughout the hotel for being miserable and moaning at the children. As I am one of the couples who enjoyed a drink and a game of bingo by the bar whilst my 11 and 7 year old children were "enjoying" themselves, isn't that what it's all about? Our kids, as with most if not all of the kids that were there loved Duane and he defiantly made their holiday more enjoyable! The apartments are a great place for a family even when weather was bad the kids still had fun. Could not fault it and would definitely return!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling,scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I'll start with the hotel,receptionist's are lovely as are the pool bar staff worked very hard all day and were always helpful. If you want a relaxing day at the pool, you wont get it, as the childrens entertainer as he calls himself Duane has an attitude problem, very obnoxious, on the second day we were sitting right beside the pool as there were no other seats, he starts bombing into the pool with the small kids and I mean bombing soaking people trying to relax. throwing large balls and soaking people with water down their backs. I looked over and he said very loudly so other guest could hear "expect to get wet if you sit at the pool" embarrassing us in front of other guests. He then never apologised and at all and continued to do it even worse. We expect to get splashed at a pool but not waves of water over us when trying to eat and drink food. Anyway near the end of the second week we were on our terrace on the second week at 11pm trying to relax again and here comes Duane the bairn with a squad of kids playing hide an seek like the Pied piper onto our terrace, I again challenged him to go away so we can get peace and he replied. "They are only kids just ask them not to play here again. The guy has a serious attitude problem". He is running around with young kids at that time of night and their parents are boozing at the pool, the only ones that had a rest at night were the parents of the children,because he was running around with them, have we not to get a rest. After all we are the ones on holiday not Duane. Spoke to the manager the next day and he said he would have a serious word with him. Whether he did or not we will not be back at Holiday Park solely for this reason. Duane the bairn needs to learn we are the ones who have paid our money and waited all year to come on holiday, he hasn't got a clue how to speak to people or be quiet when people want a rest, after all the clue is in the name 'Holiday Park' maybe the manager did speak to Duane, and as the previous post suggested he gave him a day off, perhaps review his status at the end of the season!!!!!!

Room Tip: room 055 first floor sun all day until late evening lift goes to this floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Firstly a big thanks to the hotel for putting up with our queries and change of dates!!! Our apartment was very nice and comfortable overlooking the pool and the standard of cleaning was excellent. We did have a couple of problems with the air con. but it got sorted quickly after reporting it to the reception. Thanks for a lovely stay.
One more thing;The shuttle bus from the airport with Resorthoppa was so terrible that on our return we decided to pay 44 Euros and take a taxi! Don't use them!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I know this will sound repetitive if you've read previous reviews, but the staff really do stand out. If I'm being totally honest for us the rooms were pretty regular. They are the typical Spanish style self catering apartments with some handy mod cons, although I would say bigger than many we've been to and also very very clean.
The other areas of the hotel are of a very high standard; the bar, pool, reception and gardens. All impressive and much better than any other 3 star hotel we've ever seen. We had fun around the pool most days and the bar food was good, especially the pizzas and cajun chips. There are a couple of pool tables and table tennis and the guy on the mike keeps people busy with quizes and bingo. The bar staff are friendly and all the receptionists are brilliant at their job and say hello to you every time you pass through reception.
Santa Ponsa beach is close but the hotel is far enough away from the clubby bit not to be affected by noise, so all good.
Had an excellent time and we have to admit they have new fans in us!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.2 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.2 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Park Apartments

Property: Holiday Park Apartments
Address: Ramon de Moncada 35, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Park Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Park Santa Ponsa Apartments is a friendly and welcoming self-catering hotel with maid service, situated a short walk from the award winning beach and at the very heart of Santa Ponsa close to great restaurants, live music venues, rental car, large supermarkets, banks and popular attractions. The one bedroom self-catering apartments; each comprising living area, kitchenette (all one bedroomed apartments have fridge, double electric stove, electric kettles and toaster), bathroom (all bathrooms have hairdryers) and a balcony or terrace. Cots are offered at no extra charge (for your comfort please request them in advance though hotels site). Hotel offers courtesy shower-room and luggage room for your comfort. Distance from the airport is 13 Miles. Hotel does not accept hen and stag parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Park Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Holiday Park Santa Ponsa
Holiday Park Apartments Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing