We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The word is basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Park Apartments
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The word is basic”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I visited these apartments the first week in May 08 I know this isn’t a weather review but I will say that it rained with thunder and lightning storms for 6 days straight, it was sunny when we were going home though. I was sharing an apartment with my sister we are both in our late 20’s.

The Apartments - are very basic with small main room comprising of 2 seat couch (hard) small table with 4 chairs, fridge, ice box, 2 hobs, some dishes were supplied but didn’t look hygienic, no TV, no Radio although plenty ants! A basic bathroom and bedroom. Clean towels were an issue for us, when we arrived there was a “smell” about the place and discovered it was the towels! So I took them to reception and the receptionist agreed that they were “smelly” and later that evening he gave us new towels (which weren’t all that clean or fresh either to be honest but an improvement) they provided us with 2 small towels - which does not cover your torso for modesty in front of others, and 2 hand towels were provided, one of which we had to use as a floor mat and the other as a hand towel. Because it rained pretty hard every day the atmosphere was cold and so the towels would never dry, they changed the towels only once within 7 days despite several requests for fresh ones. My advice, Bring your own!

There was a thin sheet on the bed and no heating so it got cold at night. However this wouldn’t normally be an issue between the months of April – Sept in Mallorca, we just happened to arrive in a freak storm.

View – Disappointing I am afraid you will either look on to the basic pool & bar area (back) or the noisy street (front)

The complex – Not suitable for wheelchair users or prams/buggies (unless your room is on the first floor ) There is a store at reception (well a self) although its expensive and poor selection of goods. Lots of stairs surround this building with a lift that only takes you to the first floor where the pool and bar area is located. We didn’t choose to eat at the bar, it was rather expensive for basic fast food like burgers and pizza’s (which they would buy out of the shop down the street) the bar area was very Un-inviting to say the least.

Location – If you know Santa Ponca then it’s at the far end of the Irish strip 10 mins walk up the strip from Dirty Nelly’s. If you don’t know Santa Ponca then its 10-15 brisk walk up hill from the main beach and shops and supermarkets. The apartment is surrounded by extremely lively Irish bars, which means extremely lively British youngsters everywhere you look. You will also walk by 2 night clubs to get to the apartments so young families should be careful late at night. I would rate Holiday Park apartments out of 10 a generous 2. Would I go back or recommend it to anyone? NO. Where would I recommend – Punta Del Mar Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissSunny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    349
    130
    53
    50
See reviews for
671
426
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Birmingham crew, stayed here 25th-31st May 09. Had an absloultley wonderful time at the holiday park apartments. Will definatley be going back to stay here. Travelled with family incl. 2 young lads 13 & 12 who both had an awesome time too. If your going here soon you will have a fab time, the hotel is very family friendly, mixture of people of all age ranges. The facilities and amenities in the local area are great. Shops, bars, clubs to suit all. Sports ground 5 mins walk away across the road, down some steps, you'll find two large astro turf sports areas and tennis courts. Alongside there's a decent cafe with somewhere to eat & drink, large cerveza (beer) 2 euro. Reception staff very accommodating- Craig from Coventry, fantastic guy sorted us a pool view & and sea view (awesome), yes we sacrificed the top floor and stairs but it was well worth it. Room 331. There is a lift from reception to the first floor which takes you to the pool level and the rest of flights are via stairs if not on ground floor. There is a decent bar area with limited entertainment but cant comment too much as we only spent two nights at the bar (til 2am). Deal or no deal, karioke, talent show, BBQ etc...Fabulous beach 5-8mins walk to the right as you come out of the hotel, you can walk up to the island and go left along the outskirts of the beach which has a macci D's (macdonalds) and places to eat and drink. Supermarket across from the hotel (bit pricey) but if you go right out of hotel about 10mins walk on left down stairs fantastic supermarket very cheap- casa pepe. Also just before supermarket to the left is a lovely bar- Flozzies- decent place.-Daniels bar across the way very lively too... Good community of diverse folk, english, irish, scottish... Met some fabulous folk, family from Newcastle,, fantastic (see you next year guys) and family from Surrey. Not much to moan about to be honest- arrived monday, cleaners came Wed, Thurs, Fri, (pretty much kept the place clean ourselves, ( as you would do at home). All hotel staff very pleasant, weather was fantastic, absolutley steaming hot.. lots of excursions to keep you busy and island tour on boats. Santa Ponsa is a really great place to visit, taxi rank to left of hotel near island- cheap rates to magaluf if you want to party the night away at BCM- (say hi to Des Mitchell, (our relative), Zacc & Co) Taxi from airport bit of a rip off so if you can get a transfer with your booking it might be better. Taxi wanted 65 euro paid him 50 euro. taxi from hotel to airport was 43 euro. Other family rented a car 60 euro for the week, almost the cost of your taxi one way- worth it even if you only use it to get you to the hotel and back. (dont forget your licence then) Travelled with easy jet- brilliant check in service and great luggage allowance 20kg per case and 10kg hand luggage-- Cant wait to go back (been to majorca April 09 and May 09) Santa Ponsa is FANTASTIC.... Changed currency in Santa Ponsa, better rate 110. Cashpoint facilities on way to supermarket. Tip- the bed that pulls out from the sofa has legs which will raise it off the floor. Kitchen facilites are basic but does the job-
cant wait to go back...

If youre going just have fun fun fun.....

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMWgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Due to the credit crunch it was the first time that we were not staying in a 5 star hotel and since we still needed our vacation but did not have the same budget, after reading the good reviews and doing our homework, we went to Holiday Park and thankfully the overall experience was so pleasing that we felt we had to write this review.
One thing that we noticed and appreciated was that the hotel staff were genuinely making the effort to ensure that the guests felt welcomed and at home. In so many places these days you are just a number, while at Holiday Park they ask you your name and make the effort to call you by your name, which really makes the difference.
Air conditioning had an extra cost, but without a doubt it was absolutely worth every cent, because the heat and humidity could easily ruin your sleep and I much prefer to go to a hotel where you have the option to pay for air conditioning rather than go to a hotel, like many in the area, that does not even have air conditioning!
We ate breakfast at the hotel bar 10 times during our 2 weeks stay, and can say that it was of the best quality that we came across. There are a couple of places outside the hotel where they sell breakfast 1 Euro cheaper, but we didn´t think it was worth leaving the hotel and walking down the road in the heat to go somewhere with less quality, just to save a Euro. The only place that breakfast was as good or even better was Okay Bar, but then you have to be prepared to pay quite a bit more.
From what we learnt, Holiday Park is the most popular hotel in the area and has a tremendous amount of return guests, and that makes it a winner. You´ll come across plenty of very friendly holidaymakers and find it easy to make friends if you so wish, as the atmosphere is so relaxed and everybody is up for a good time.
All we can say is that even the best hotels of the world are not perfect, but Holiday Park for it´s price range and for what you get for your money, deserves a gold star.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaSteinmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel, The staff were, in my eyes, just a credit to the hotel. The bar and pool area is very relaxing for adults yet safe enough for the children to have plenty of fun. Although there is no restaurant, there is a good variety of bar meals. The hotel is situated a short walk away from the beach and shops. The area itself is great for all ages. I would definately go back for another holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The staff were just incredible, they were friendly and very helpful, as well as good fun. The hotel areas were spotlessly clean and the rooms were spacious with everything you need to be comfortable, with inens and towels being changed frequently The holiday park was also very safe and secure for all ages of children, with a variety of 3 different pool areas to cater for the various ages. On the evening there was entertainment for all the family with a lively friendly host or two! Although this Park has no restaurant, it has a menu containing plenty of various bar meals, including pizzas, sandwiches and baguettes. The Holiday Park is situated literally a short 5 minute walk from the beautiful Santa Ponsa Beach and surrounded by plenty of shops and places to eat! Just wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mx45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassy83
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Hotel bar was great, breakfast probably the best in town and good value. Hotel room very basic, fairly clean although our room had a terrible smell from the curtains. Can be very noisy as there were lots of large groups there during our stay. Santa Ponsa is a lovely place, has a beautiful beach and theres lots of great places to eat. Would definately go back but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Picked these apartments after reading all the great reviews, and I wasn't too impressed although they did the job.
Reception were quite good although, you have to pay €20 + €5 deposit for your safety deposit box and it is down outside reception, and €5 a night + €10 deposit for air conditioning, we were advised to get it but it was no odds.
The area itself is right smack bang in the irish area so excellent location if you are there to drink and party the entire week. But if you just want a quiet week away with the kids I would advise against here if they are light sleepers as like most hotels/Apartments walls are wafer thin so you can here every cough, bottle smashing etc.
Quite expensive in there own minimarket at reception I bought 2 ice-lollies and a bottle of 7up and it cost €10. But there is alot of supermarkets in the area so stock up the apartment.
Plenty to do in the area Western Water Park - excellent water park for children, Pirates Show - excellent for any age expensive but well worth the price, MarineLand - Dolphin shows and parott shows and the likes great day out. Then there is the boat trips quite boring especially for young children but great and relaxing for adults who just want to chill.
Basically the apartments are Basic, Small, Noisy but if you are looking for somewhere to lie your head this is definately the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balluba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.2 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Park Apartments

Property: Holiday Park Apartments
Address: Ramon de Moncada 35, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Park Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Park Santa Ponsa Apartments is a friendly and welcoming self-catering hotel with maid service, situated a short walk from the award winning beach and at the very heart of Santa Ponsa close to great restaurants, live music venues, rental car, large supermarkets, banks and popular attractions. The one bedroom self-catering apartments; each comprising living area, kitchenette (all one bedroomed apartments have fridge, double electric stove, electric kettles and toaster), bathroom (all bathrooms have hairdryers) and a balcony or terrace. Cots are offered at no extra charge (for your comfort please request them in advance though hotels site). Hotel offers courtesy shower-room and luggage room for your comfort. Distance from the airport is 13 Miles. Hotel does not accept hen and stag parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Park Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Holiday Park Santa Ponsa
Holiday Park Apartments Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing