We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time Satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Just back from our third October stay at the Sol Jandia Mar, and it was as good as the previous two. Allocated an excellent sea view appartment, which was again in good condition and cleaned regularly.

Reception was again efficient - Nicole deserves a special mention - works very long hours!

Some minor works ongoing in reception area to upgrade which had no effect on our stay at all.

Weather was again really good - although we had rain on a couple of days it didn't last long.

Of some concern to us was the apparent loss of sand off some of the Sotavento beaches - resulting in quite a rocky shoreline around Mal Nombre and El Salmo - hopefully the easterly Sahara winds and currents will redress this by next year.

Again we really enjoyed eating out in both Jandia and Morro Jable - special mention to La Gaviota, La Isla, Que Rico, Leo's, Matorral Italian and Stentson's Steakhouse in Cosmo Centre.

I recommend this place only to those who enjoy a quiet holiday amongst mixed European nationalities (mostly Deutch accepted) far away from noisy lager louts. We love it!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a little more expensive but well worth it with late evening sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpinxWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Mr. SpinxWales,
We apreciate and thank you your feedeback they are very helpful for us.
Also thank you for your positive comments about the care provided, which we extend to all our team. This is definitely our best reward.
hope to welcome you again very soon!
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had not visited the Jandia area of Fuerteventura before and we were guided by Tripadvisor towards choosing the Sol Jandia Mar in Morro del Jable. It was a good choice, reasonably priced, had all the facilities needed and our room was of a good standard and in accordance with our request for a room with sea view and sunshine in the afternoon and evening. There were many steps to negotiate, though, and access to the higher rooms may not have been easy for the elderly or infirm.

Our only criticism of the room was that the bedroom lacked a ceiling fan. This would have been welcome, as the bedroom was uncomfortably warm at night.

Check-in and check-out were fast and efficient. No meals were taken at the hotel, so we cannot comment on the food. The main bar and the pool bar, however, were very pleasant. There is a varied programme of entertainment in the evening and, although some of it is karaoke and bingo, on the Saturday an “Il Divo” tribute act called the “4 Stations” performed. They were excellent.

We were impressed by Morro del Jable and the surrounding area. There are many good quality bars and restaurants within easy distance of the hotel. The picturesque coastal village, La Lajita, about a 40 minute bus ride away, is well worth a visit.

It is a long transfer from the airport to Morro del Jable and our journeys by private hire (we expected a taxi, but got a mini-bus to ourselves on each occasion) took about an hour and a quarter. We think we got a good deal by booking the transfers in advance. Alpharooms.com charged us £125 for the round trip.

We enjoyed our week at the Sol Jandia Mar and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Anon Nemo,
We thank you so much for you acknowledgement We love you enjoyed it ! We hope to welcome you again very soon!
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

After a long drive down from Corralejo we arrived in Morro Jable in the early afternoon. The journey was shortned slightly by the new autovia whch is very high up on bridges. The hotel is undergoing renovations and every effort was made to keep the work away from the patrons. Each day we came down to a new route to the dining hall but as I said it was no inconvience. The reforms are needed and this shows in the rooms. The bathroom in our apartment was very large, bedroom adequate and the terrace was also big, however the lounge area had two single beds serving as couches and this really reduced the space available here. However as a resident of the Canaries we do not tend to spend much time indoors anyway, life here is outdoors anyway.A special mention to one member of staff who did a exceptional job although she was a trainee in the dining hall for Breakfast and the evening meal, she really showed all that is good with this Hotel, I hope that management see this. The pool area is very clean and although this is primerly a German stronghold there was no mass blocking off of sunbeds. A mention of two splendid squash courts under the pool, if only I was twenty years old again!!! The missus wants to mention that the resident cats here have a feeding station, I counted about thirteen cats, think O capitan have them looked after, as there is food beside the station and water for the patrons to feed them. Ps Tv reception was very poor although cabled in

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to reception are lower down the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Jack M, Puerto del Carmen
Thanks for noticing the changes we are making in the hotel. All the hotel staff gives the best of themselves to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Your opinion is very important for us and you can be sure that we take note of your comments. We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just arrived home from a weeks stay at the Sol Jandia. Hotel apartments are as we expected, basic but that is reflected in the price you pay. Agree with other reviews on here that the pool is not quite big enough for the number of guests and it is very cloudy (the sun cream I would imagine). Got a little frustrated by the number of loungers covered in towels, only to find the owners of the towels didn't appear all day long. This is not fair to people wanting to sit by the pool and could not find a spare seat. I have to mention the heat..most days it hit around 40 degrees, obviously nothing to do with the hotel, but this does impact immensely on the ability to sleep at night. It was so uncomfortable, and we only averaged 3-4 hours a night as it was stifling. Given the lack of air con, I really do think it would be advisable for the hotel to invest in enough fans for each apartment. I would personally be happy to pay a nominal daily hire such as €3a day. That way you don't feel ripped off and the hotel would soon recover the purchase price of the fans. We were also a little disappointed with the cleaning, which we believed to be every day apart from a Sunday or Monday. We actually had the apartment cleaned only twice, and the floor which was in desperate need of a sweep (due to the sand) was not swept at all. The bed covers were adjusted and the towels folded up and that was it. On one occasion we went to the maids room to request a brush to do it ourselves, much to their amusement! On the positive side, the apartments are set in pleasant surroundings and the plants on each balcony are lovely. One tip I would give the management is that if they painted the grey concrete planters on each balcony, white, then this would really enhance and give a more polished and brighter look. As they are they look out of place and dull. We also found the staff to be lovely, very polite and helpful.
We ate out as we were not half baord or AI, and the restaurants were hit and miss, I will review separately but I cannot recommend Stetsons in the Cosmos centre enough, it is upstairs and can be reached easily by turning left out of the hotel, then almost opposite the supermarket is an entrance to the Cosmos centre,it is empty and not finished but if you walk around the corner, Stetsons can be found. The steak, ribs and chicken as well as burgers are excellent and the lady who owns it is a lovely German lady. Ones to avoid are an Italian pizza place right next to Stetsons, it is horrible, even the pizza was poor. Another is the restaurant along the road near theOasis bar, I can't remember what it is called but is not good! Overall the holiday was relaxing and it was nice to see another part of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KP1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear KP1UK
We thank you so much for the time you took to comment on our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you can be sure that we take note of your comments. We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A really nice hotel in a lovely resort. The hotel is made up of groups of apartments (3 floors) set into the hillside and surrounded by lovely planting & gardens. Having requested a high floor & quiet, private room that's exactly what we got. Great sea view & tucked at the back of the complex so nice & quiet. The apartment was nice - what you'd expect for the price, but clean and comfortable. The only negative about this hotel was the pool... the pool area was very nicely done but quite small for the amount of apartments. Nice pool bar, plenty of loungers & tables plus umbrellas. However, even though there is a dedicated childrens' pool, the main pool was full of screaming kids (lilos, water pistols etc) plus it was dirty. Only a minor moan though ! Also, I would stress that this hotel is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems (or anyone who is unfit !) The whole resort is very hilly & this hotel is built on a steep hill. It's a steep walk around the grounds & to all the apartments (more so if you're not ground floor !) As many others have mentioned, the lack of air con is a problem.... our room was BOILING!


The best thing about my stay was…
Lovely breakfast & nicely presented hotel & apartment. 2 mins from the beach, shops & old town

Room Tip: Providing you don't mind the walk or the steps... ask for a quiet, top floor room.... great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanzaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

(Cathih_11)
We are glad to hear you had a good stay at our hotel. thank you for taking some time to comment you stay in our hotel. We appreciate your opinion and we will take note of your comments.
We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Sol Jandía Mar is a very pleasant hotel just a few minutes away from the lovely golden beaches. It's perfect for family's who just want to relax and enjoy the weather, which was really nice in April.
What I really liked the most was the animation at the hotel, there is a mini club for children during the day and during the evening you can enjoy the shows or live music, there's something for everyone.
The staff is also very nice and helpful, they really make you feel welcome.
I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to have a quiet holiday near the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We were in the hotel for 14 days in a nice appartment right in front of the swimmingpool. A perfect location when you come with 2 children like we did. they just didn't wanna come out of the pool. The room has enough space and the beds for the children are real beds and much more comfortable then the sofabeds wich we're used to get in other hotels

Even the food was much better then we expected it to be in a 3 key aparthotel.

But if we recomend this hotel for one thing then it is for it's great entertainment. the kids loved the miniclub and the kidsshow. we didn't really take part in the adults activities but there is defently enough things to do if you want to. Shows and karaoke at night are brillant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
8.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
1.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IFA Altamarena Hotel
IFA Altamarena Hotel
#4 of 16 in Morro del Jable
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos

Address: Calle Bentejui 8, 35626 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sol Jandia Mar Aparthotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range: £58 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Apartamentos Sol Jandia Mar are located in Morro del Jable, on Fuerteventura's south coast. 150 Metres from Jandia Beach, the complex has 2 swimming pools, squash courts and a supermarket. Surrounded by greenery, all Sol Jandia Mar apartments have a private balcony or terrace, most of which have panoramic views. They consist of a bedroom, separate lounge, kitchen and bathroom. Free WiFi is available throughout the property. The hotel's buffet-style restaurant serves breakfasts and dinners. There is also a pool bar and a German-style bierkeller bar, open in the evenings with music and entertainment. The Sol Jandia Mar puts on a varied entertainment programme for children and adults. Other facilities include a petanca court, table tennis and a giant chess set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Jandia Mar by Melia Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Jandia Mar Aparthotel Hotel Morro Del Jable
Sol Melia Morro Del Jable
Morro Del Jable Sol Melia
Sol Jandia Mar By Melia Apartamentos Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing