We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite local 4*”
Review of Dunas Don Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunas Don Gregory
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not quite local 4*”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Saga 'three weeks for the price of two' deal at end February 2013. While this was good value if we had paid the same amount for just two weeks then we'd assess it as 'Average'. We had a good holiday in part due to meeting other guests who we greatly enjoyed being with and the good weather apart from two days of unusual rain and wind.

The pluses are;
1. The staff at the hotel work incredibly hard and have been unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

2. For our tastes the range of food available from the buffet meals has been at least adequate and at times excellent.

3. The hotel does have the advantage of an excellent seafront location. It is very close to a pleasant sandy beach that offers safe bathing with lifeguard supervision.

4. There is a small shopping mall opposite the front of the hotel with pharmacy, newsagent, supermarket, cafes, restaurants, car hire, market stalls, and more.

The minuses;
5. As far as accommodation is concerned the hotel originally allocated us to Room 120, a room that didn't have much in the way of a view of the sea even though all rooms are seaward-facing. It was at a level below the public promenade that separated the hotel from the beach. After three nights we were transferred to Room 804 which had splendid views of Maspalomas.

6. The design of the hotels is such that the bedrooms on the first two floors are beneath the public areas which have hard floor surfaces that transmit noises into the bedrooms. Rooms from the fourth floor and upwards had good sea views.

7. However, the unfortunate fact is that the hotel could do with a major refurbishment. Room 120 was basically sound but did show signs of having been flooded at some stage. It would have been fine otherwise as everything worked. Room 804 was curious as it was a duplex room, with the seating area and bathroom on the lower level and a bedroom reached by stairs. It all seemed somewhat shabby and the bathroom needed a major upgrade (ceiling above the bath, shower curtain rail, lighting). At 5 foot 10 inches I caught the top my head several times when ascending the stairs on the ceiling above the stairs. The balcony afforded splendid views but the glass sliding door was in need of at least lubrication and also a new locking catch.

The public areas are also looking rather tired - new carpets, furniture and lighting would do much to make for a more comfortable environment.

8. At the end of the first week we experienced a major period of bad weather with driving rain and winds over 30 mph. Very noticeably, windows were very draughty and leaked water in many places. This was particularly bad on the eighth floor in both corridor and Room 804.

9. While the food on offer was fine, the restaurant wasn't big enough in relation to the number of bedrooms necessitating two sittings at dinner, 6 and 8pm. The size of all the public areas is an issue where the majority of hotel guests are on all-inclusive terms as they are more inclined to stay within the hotel - the public areas are not large enough to accommodate them all! The design of the dining room, which probably looked great on paper, was less practical, and in some places positively dangerous, for the age group of SAGA guests, with marble floor and slippery steps and slopes.

10. The food itself was themed each day although what was on offer was largely not related to the theme. It would have been better if hot drinks and lunchtime beverages were self service rather than having to be ordered from the waiting staff. At dinner the choice of wines, and all drinks types at the bars, were quite limited as part of the 'all inclusive' tariff in the hotel - more 3* than 4*.

11. This all leads to the room rates. The hotel seems to operate on a B&B, half board, and all inclusive basis. This necessitates all inclusive guests wearing a wristband to identify the from the rest. In my opinion the hotel is operating on a too complicated basis and would benefit from a simpler rate card. Working out what was included in all inclusive, and what was not, would defeat all but the most determined travellers!

12. A cost gripe for many is that Internet access is charged for a rates varying from 6 Euros for a day to 18 Euros for a week. In 2013 I believe that for the slight cost to the hotel of providing an Internet service they should be offering free access throughout the premises. The WiFi signal varied from good around the pool and terrace to very weak for room 804. In fact WiFi from several hotels at least a half kilometre away, Veril Playa, Corona Roja, etc., offered a stronger signal - alas also not free. If every room in the hotel paid for a weeks Intenet access the income to the hotel would have been over 3000 Euros! Super fast broadband (you wish!) wouldn't cost as much!

Given the hotel's pluses - location, service and catering - the less appealing aspects warrant speedy attention. In the age of the Internet the power of sites such as Tripadvisor will likely cast SAGA and the hotel in a less than favourable light if this isn't carried out.

Room Tip: Floors above third floor have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tcrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Don Gregory guest,

I would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on tripadvisor.
We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard working staff.

We also thank you for your critic, we always take these comments very seriously, because they help us very much to improve our service in the future. Our goal is to offer the best holiday experience possible to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel and we also thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    319
    119
    49
    21
See reviews for
248
497
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Large, well managed hotel in prime location with direct access to promenade and sandy beach. A useful shopping centre is just across the road. All staff are very polite, helpful and efficient. The hotel was probably built in the 1970's but is well maintained and kept nice and clean. You are issued with a list of rules at check in.
Spacious rooms have neutral decor with good quality beds/bedding, comfy chairs, fridge, room safe (fee payable). Big balcony with table & chairs plus clothes airer. Bathroom comprises bath with good overbath shower, worktop mounted washbasin, WC & bidet. In the deluxe rooms you also get sun loungers on the balcony and bathrobes.
All meals are self service buffet; the food quality is very good with plenty of staff about cooking to order and clearing tables. Wine and very small bottles of water are not included; the hotel will keep part drunk wine bottles for the following evening if required. Service is rather hurried and quite noisy with lots of clattering of dishes. Despite the huge choice of delicious food vegetarians are not well catered for.
Evening and daytime entertainment is provided.
The pool in February was warm; pool towels are not included and bathroom towels are not permitted to be used out of your room. There are tennis courts. There is a discretely located nude sun terrace.
Car Parking is chargeable with a complicated system of individual barriers to negotiate (not recommended). The nearby main road has conveniently located bus stops. Walking along the coast in either direction is pleasant and popular.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Don Gregory guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Dunas Don Gregory for your recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Dunas Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location right by the beach. Level promenade on which to walk into playa del inglis, bus stop behind the hotel to most resorts on the island. Food plentiful and of good standard, would like to see good english tea on menu and investment in upgrade coffee machine but overall very good choices.of food .accommodation good with large room and very clean. Television was outdated and only catered for germans with only 2 channels in english being CNN and world news which is not what one could call entertaining.. Waiter service could have been better on occasions as ignored for the paying customers at dinner. Would certainly return here as overall very good value for money. Staff work very hard and friendly. Well done to the cleaning staff and bar staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dean123Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Don Gregory guest,

It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel.

We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard working staff.

We also thank you for your critic, we always take these comments very seriously, because they help us very much to improve our service in the future. Our goal is to offer the best holiday experience possible to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel and we also thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Where to start...
Location: There really can't be a better location if you're looking for a hotel close to the beach. It's right there! Our room (207) was looking out over the ocean and also the walk that goes right by the hotel to Maspalomas and Playa del Ingles. On the opposite side of the hotel (towards the city) there is also a good shopping center with pharmacy, supermarkets, clothes, perfumerie, restaurants etc.
Rooms: I've read that some people don't like the rooms below the 4th floor and cannot understand why. The location of this hotel is exceptionally quiet, and wherever you are you can hear the wonderful music of the ocean, birds and the wind. The view from our balcony was absolutely amazing, we in fact enjoyed sitting there so much and watching everything that we sometimes forgot to do anything else. The beds are somewhat soft and feel a bit like they'll fall apart, and the pillows are a bit flat, but just ask for more pillows if that's what you need. Also, you WILL hear noises from the restaurant if you're staying at this hotel; the noises of chairs moving when the staff is preparing for the meals. But this is heard everywhere in the hotel, no matter if you stay on the 2nd or the 5th floor and isn't hard to tolerate. Bathrooms are ok; shower over bath. TV channels are a bit strange if you don't prefer all Spanish and Germans channels (and everything is dubbed). But who watches TV on their vacation?? Internet cost 18 euros for 1 week which I think is cheap, considering what a lot of other hotels charge; you can also get it in your room. Rooms are cleaned every day and they do this with a great smile and very diligently.
Food: We were all inclusive, and everything was buffet style. After a while this becomes a bit boring, I would suggest half board since there are a lot of good restaurants in the surroundings. The buffets are HUGE, and there's a lot of fresh vegetables and fruit, as well as lots of different salads, meats, fish etc. A LOT is for Germans, and the dessert table is, although very big, mainly directed towards Germans. I would suggest that you sharpen your elboves when the meals start; because you will need them. Most of the guests there were older, and they would cut in line in front of you and there weren't a lot of generosity or friendliness to find. A good advice is to wait 30 or 40 minutes after they start serving the food, because then you'll have more room to move and choose what you want. While the food is good and plentiful, after a few days you start to realize that most of it is the same, over and over, but I would definitely suggest that you try the local fish, the fruit and vegetables and the gazpacho - they are all excellent. Also, their creme caramel is perfect.
Pool - never tried it, never needed to. The water in the ocean was too close and reasonably warm, even in January. The sun chairs by the pool was booked and occupied every morning by the same people, which I always find a bit tiresome (the excessive booking with towels, that is). But then, I always prefer sand between my toes and don't care much about pools and sun chairs.
The Beach: It is wonderful. Soft, cleaned early every morning, the waves are fun to play in and there's always a beach guard there to keep watch it the waves are too high. You can rent jet-skis there, also. Perfect beach for children and NO pebbles or hidden rocks, like at other beaches close by. There ARE a lot of women suntanning topless there, which I personally think is uncalled for since there IS a nude beach just a few minutes away, but if you don't mind seeing the naked breasts on women of all ages, you'll be fine.

The staff: Reception, restaurang, cleaning - they were all warm, friendly, hospitable and very, very accommodation. Yes, it's true - not all of them speak English, some actually speak better German than English, but if you go to Gran Canaria (or any other country, other than your own), it's good to learn a few phrases of that specific language. Everyone can learn to say at least a few words to get by.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a LOT of peace of mind; anyone who wants to fall asleep to and wake up to the sound of the ocean and who loves being pampered. There are mostly older people here, we felt a bit out of place (not to mention how the one family with small children must have felt), but the pace is perfect is you need to slow down and learn how to enjoy life.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean, but if you DO feel that a room facing the beach walk (where a lot of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank anniekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Dunas Don Gregory for your recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Dunas Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is very nicely appointed and well situated overlooking the sea. A pleasant beach is just a few yards away, and there is a nice promenade that separates the hotel from the beach. Our room was one of the best we've had anywhere. It was really spacious and well maintained. As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is fairly new to British visitors and most guest come from Germany or Scandinavia. This fact is partly reflected in the buffet breakfasts, which are more or less continental in style. But the choice of breads, cold meats, cheeses, fruit is excellent, and one can select hot food also (bacon, beans, sausage etc). However, the fact that we British were in the minority and the fact that the breakfasts were not typically 'full English', did not detract from the quality of our stay in any way. We stayed 'all inclusive' on a Saga holiday, and we will definitely return to Dunas Don Gregory.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 4th floor for a better view, but I think the lowest rooms give good access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Dunas Don Gregory for your recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Dunas Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
181 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

On arrival the receptionist told us we had to change room the next day. After unpacking the following day, it turned out that the air-condition did not work , so we had to pack again and move to a third room. All this could have been avoided with competent and professional hotel management. And we got not compensation from the hotel. We finally got an ok room with at nice view. Breakfasting in this hotel is a mixed adventure. The food is ok, but there is a shortage of staff for clearing tables etc.. Everything has to go in a hurry and the level of noise is quite high.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arn043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest

With reference to your comments about our hotel Dunas Don Gregory first we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We appreciate your comments with its clarity and objectivity, which help us in the process of continuous improvement of our service.

We would be very pleased if we had a new chance in the future to convince you about the quality of our service. We will be delighted to welcome you personally and collect first-hand impressions of your next visit.

Best regards,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Hotel Dunas Don Gregory****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway stavanger
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

a nice winters break, sunny all the time hotel was very good , clean room nice food and pleasent staff. the hotel location very good. shops and restaurants oppsite hotel. a big plus as well. the sun beds are to close together not much room to move.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aafk_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Don Gregory guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that are you enjoyed holidays with us .
We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard working staff.
Our goal is to offer the best holiday experience possible to all our guests.
We hope see you soon in our hotel and we also thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Antonio Cabrera
Manager Dunas Don Gregory ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Beach Hotel
IFA Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in San Agustin
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Don Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Don Gregory

Property: Dunas Don Gregory
Address: Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Don Gregory 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSED FOR TOTAL RENOVATION FROM APRIL 1ST TO AUGUST 15TH 2017 This hotel, with its privileged location, is the closest establishment to a beach on Gran Canaria. It is located on the first line of the Las Burras and San Agustin beaches, with direct access to the beach from the hotel. All double rooms and suites have stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean. With unbeatable views and exquisite surroundings, this hotel is ideal for couples wishing to enjoy the sun and the breeze. Basic Wi-fi: free. Premium Wi-fi: at a charge. CLOSED FOR TOTAL RENOVATION FROM APRIL 1ST TO AUGUST 15TH 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunas Don Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Don Gregory Hotel San Agustin
Dunas Don Gregory Maspalomas
Dunas Don Gregory Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing