We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holidays ever!”
Review of Dunas Don Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunas Don Gregory
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holidays ever!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is great! I came by ITAKA and I was really positively suprised, because this hotel has really great location - just by the ocean. I was also enjoyed with meals - I had an option with buffet breakfasts, and it was tasty and variety. I liked animations as well, but maybe those during the night could change more often. Staff was nice and rooms were clean.
I can honestly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and your comment on Tripadvisor.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

We would be delighted to welcome you again as our guest at the Don Gregory.

Kind regards,
Aleksandra Mikula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    320
    121
    49
    21
See reviews for
248
500
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I picked the hotel to be close to a friend who is in the area. It was the location which sold the hotel to me. The hotel is right on the beach set up above the beach area by some steps and a walkway.

The pool area is where it all happens, with a pool bar serving drinks, coffee, snacks and light meals overlooking the beach itself and a decent sized pool, all spotlessly clean with the staff doing a full makeover every morning. The sun beds are packed in a little, but all of excellent quality, plenty of them and umbrellas as well. The is also a small separate area for sunbathing above the restaurant with sea views or you can go down to the gardens at the front and snooze under the palms.

Food is decent. Buffet style with plenty of choice and hard working staff who look after you and always say hello to you both at the tables and when you arrive and leave the restaurant. I stayed on half board and loved the breakfasts.

Rooms are spacious, again spotless and mine on the 6th floor had a balcony with two chairs and table and fantastic views across to Playa del Ingles.

There is a range of activities throughout the day. All run by a young Spanish guy called Alex who gets people involved and is full of enthusiasm. Guests all seem to love him and he is a real asset. However I believe he is leaving in the middle of September and this will be a great loss to the hotel. A lovely guy and great at his job. His aqua aerobics is something to be seen!

Downsides were the extortionate cost of wifi. Come on Dunas, in many hotels it is free these days! Some of the evening entertainment which is dull and boring such as some of the singers. The hotel
would benefit from a makeover such as the indoor bar area, it looks a bit dated, but all in excellent condition, just not inspiring.

Overall, fab location, loved being able to hear the sea at night from my bed great service throughout.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor for excellent views of the beach and coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your nice comments. We are very pleased if our customers are satisfied.
Therefore it is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback and to share your kind words with our team.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Aleksandra Mikula
Departamento de Atención al Cliente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The food and the staff were really nice but that would be it. From a 4 star hotel I would expect more space at the pool (no possibility of turning the chair), salty water in the pool, I would be hoping for some chairs on the beach (without a daily rate), they asked additional 6 euros per day for wi-fi and additional 2 euros per day for a safe in the room. Moreover, we booked an all inclusive stay for one week. We started with the dinner and could get only breakfast (one lunch less) on the day of our departure which was only at the evenning hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zuzana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the food, also as the friendliness of our staff.

We will pass on your congratulations to our staff. This is the best motivation for us

The beach does not belong to the hotel, becouse of this we are not responsible for the prices of sunbed service.

We would be delighted to welcome you again as our guest at the Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Dunas Don Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucena, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great stay! Good staff, especially Betancourt in the restaurant and Alex & Caty, the not too loud animators! Would definitely go back.The themed dinners were OK, but the snacks outside restaurant hours were very limited, particularly the sealed synthetic sandwiches.
Sarah, Pepe & Olivia.

Room Tip: Avoid 285 until it's had a lick of paint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah8262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us.
Thank you for your critic, which helps us to improve our service continuously.
It would be great to welcome you again as guests in our Hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Dunas Don Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Having been in the Don Gregory a few times before, it was again the hotel of choice for a shorter summer break (= July) due to its fabulous location right on the beach. And again the stay was a very pleasant one... yet with a few reservations to be made.
The hotel is very well kept, but obviously aged and old-style; the seating arrangements in the foyer are obsolete and do not live up to the 4-star standard. The abundant buffet choices are tasty but very repetitive, and at times of full occupation the buffet area is truly "crowded" at dinner time - despite the two time options.
The clientele differs enormously with the season; one should not expect any "style" in the summer months. In particular for dinner, we were amazed with the sloppiness of dress (though no shorts :)).
A great plus is the friendliness of the staff: not a single member of the personnel would pass by without a smile or a friendly greeting, and the helpfulness at the reception is exemplary. Wonderful waiters/waitresses : very service-minded and smiling.
The garden is small, and sunbeds there and around the pool area/second floor sun area are taken from early morning on: a common but very unpleasant habit. Lying around the pool is a sardine experience - not to everyone's liking. The place can easily feel crowded.
The rooms are extremely clean, bright and spacious - all with a sea view. For those in need of peace, the rooms facing the garden are clearly to be recommended; those facing the pool will be disturbed by evening entertainment. In our case, some of the electricity plugs would not function; again the friendly reception clerks helped out most efficiently.
All in all: we will return, but never again in summer .... :)

Room Tip: Garden view for more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GabriellaJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel close to the beach, also as the friendliness of our staff.
We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us.
But we also want to thank you for your critic. We really appreciate your comments with its clarity and objectivity, which helps us to improve our service continuously.
Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and we would be delighted to welcome you again as our guest at the Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Dunas Don Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have just spent a week at this hotel and i have to say it was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard and clean towels were left daily. The food was fantastic and the hotel staff were polite, friendly and always happy to help. Alex the entertainment guy was great always laughing and getting people to join in. The downside was i was on the first floor and the view of the beach and sea was fantastic but offered little privacy form the path to the beach, I would recommend asking for a room from the 3rd floor up. There were very few children here and to be honest i wouldn't recommend it for families with young children although the ones that were there were still well catered for. This hotel is rated 4 star but the little things border 5. Absolute terrific holiday cannot wait to return :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank whtsmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Don Gregory guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Dunas Don Gregory for your recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Dunas Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Don Gregory is right on the beach at San Augustin in the south of the island with excellent large rooms always well kept by very friendly staff who never pass without saying 'hola', in fact all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool is large with plenty of sunbeds around but those overlooking the beach do have towels placed on them very early in the morning by the usual nationality! The food is excellent and plentiful. The fortnight that i was there (last two weeks of June) were lovely and warm but starting to get too warm for me toward the end. The bus service is excellent and not too expensive (a trip to the capital, Las Palmas, takes 40 mins to the central bus station and costs €5.60). I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The room I had was no. 423. There was no disturbing noise, during the night I had the balcony slidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest

Thank you very much for your positive comment on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you have had such a nice and relaxing holiday in our hotel. We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel Dunas Don Gregory.

Yours faithfully,

Aleksandra Mikula
Customer Care Service
Dunas Don Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Don Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Don Gregory

Property: Dunas Don Gregory
Address: Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Don Gregory 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSED FOR TOTAL RENOVATION FROM APRIL 1ST TO AUGUST 15TH 2017 This hotel, with its privileged location, is the closest establishment to a beach on Gran Canaria. It is located on the first line of the Las Burras and San Agustin beaches, with direct access to the beach from the hotel. All double rooms and suites have stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean. With unbeatable views and exquisite surroundings, this hotel is ideal for couples wishing to enjoy the sun and the breeze. Basic Wi-fi: free. Premium Wi-fi: at a charge. CLOSED FOR TOTAL RENOVATION FROM APRIL 1ST TO AUGUST 15TH 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunas Don Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Don Gregory Hotel San Agustin
Dunas Don Gregory Maspalomas
Dunas Don Gregory Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing