We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Agustin”
Review of Dunas Don Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunas Don Gregory
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was a nice vacation with my wife, we chose first Hotel Gloria Palace San agustin and we stayed just 2 nights and then we asked the tour leader of TUI to move to another hotel directly on the beach and it was Dunas Don Gregory San Agustin. It is really a nice hotel, quite, clean and a few steps to the Ocean. The food with a lot of choice and tasty. The all staff were so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Just the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mohamed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención al cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel close to the beach so much, also as the food at our buffet.

Our hotel is not only located close to the beach but also to a big shopping centre where you can find different stores.

Our hotel buffet changes daily to offer our guests a variety of different food cultures.

We hope to see you soon in the Don Gregory.

Kind regards,

José Gil
Costumer care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent a week mid July. Weather excellent..Our first impression was very good, slick check in and a swift move to our room. However, despite a request for a high floor room, our 4th floor room was actually only 2 floors up and overlooked the pool bar. The view from the balcony was as we had wanted , a panoramic vista of the beach. But the aroma of fresh sea air was obliterated by the smoke from the bar area and the chlorine from the pool. We spent the first night with doors closed and air conditioning on, which, in the morning, we woke with dry throats and blocked noses. Sleep, joking of course....the noise from the bar would have woken the dead....stopped around two.At reception they were very helpful and we were moved to the 6th floor ....which for the remainder of the stay was ok. Nevertheless the 4 star rating is probably an exaggeration, quite shabby and the bath could have done with, well throwing out and replaced with new.
The food was of good quality, and plenty of it but the 'themed evenings' proved to be only a few different dishes, eg Chinese evening 'spring rolls and ribs', Italian evening, 'pasta and meatballs', Austrian evening, 'snitzel'. You get the gist. All the rest remained the same, the usual inclusive fayre. The restaurant staff were excellent, service with a smile and quick about it. However, the bar staff were slow, curt and seemed to prefer to serve the Germans before anyone else. On more than one occasion I, and my wife were ignored in favour of a rather large, white, or salmon coloured German gentleman. I found it a little difficult to converse with the staff as I do not speak Spanish and they do not speak English, although are fluent in German. On one occasion I was served a beer instead of a 7up. Go figure. I would suggest the management employ a number of front of house staff that do understand basic English.
The pool area was clean and the pool well maintained, although not enough beds for the number of guests. As usual most were 'towelled' by sunrise, though not occupied until late morning or afternoon. There was a nice garden which remained quite empty. We migrated to this area, it was quiet, sunny/ shady and not too far from the bar. However, we soon found out why it was empty. The garden area fronted the main local walk way to the beach. Therefore, a continuous procession of people passed by staring at you through the glass fencing. Now I know what an animal on the zoo feels like. We spent the remainder of the stay on the beach, but were surprised to find that the hotel do not have an area on the beach and beds cost 7.50 euros a day. Having said that it was better than the very cramped pool area or the garden.
All in all it was an average holiday at a reasonable price. Would not return.

Room Tip: Aim for the eight floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención al cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We have many requests daily and we always try to fulfill all of our client’s wishes, but due to the occupancy of the days previous to the arrival, we cannot always assign a specific floor or room number.

Our staff always tries to make the stay of our customers a great experience. Weather through a good fresh meal every day, or a clean room.

The hotel location is perfect for have nice long beach walks and relaxing with the sound of the sea.

We would be very pleased if we had a new chance in the future to convince you about the quality of our service. We will be delighted to welcome you personally and collect first-hand impressions of your next visit.

Best regards,

José Gil
Customer care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Ok so the view from our hotel room blew us away, it was stunning and the perfect location as it was out of the way of the trashy tourist traps but within walking distance or a short taxi ride to most places.
We had requested a double bed but had two singles pushed together, not a trouble but we had separate duvets and you couldn't have a cuddle because you fell through the middle, so not very romantic!
Two lights didn't work but we weren't too bothered to inform reception. The bathroom needed updating and the tv was old fashioned with no English channels except bbc news.
They love to charge for everything at this hotel and considering we paid an ample amount to stay there felt ripped off. 14 euros to use the safe for a week, 6 euros per device per day for wifi!!!!!!! Shocking!
The pool and bar area was nice but a lot of rules and we were watched like a hawk by the pool guy, it was an uneasy unrelaxing feeling.
We were told off continuously for not having coffee with our breakfast (I'm allergic) and even told we couldn't have breakfast without it! Very strange.
The public areas were very clean and the cleaners worked very hard, they were friendly too, unlike everyone else, no smiles, no chat, no welcoming feeling at all bar Adrian, the activities guy who looked after us, remembered our names, joked and provided us with good activities.
The food was ok but nothing special, very aimed at the german tourists, I did also get an upset tummy so started to dine out in the evenings and thank god we did, the food was divine.
On our last day we were killing time and ought we would have a game of pool in the basement. We placed our shiny new €1 coin in the pool table and it got stuck, obviously not the biggest drama in the world but we asked 2 different people to help and they both went away saying be right back and never came back. As I say it's only a euro but it's the fact the staff didn't care enough to even acknowledge the problem. The bar service was very slow and unfriendly and struggle to make a proper mojito, it ended up being a glass of mud water which tasted foul.
Another example of the unhelpful staff was when we requested late check out which they advertise you can keep the room until 6pm for a charge of €30 (lol) and when we asked a gentleman at reception if we could do this he simply replied 'NO'. Looking stunned he eventually asked his colleague who said we can and the gentleman proceeded to look very fed up and sorting out our new key whilst shaking his head.
The language was a key problem in all of this, we did our best with basic spanish and they tried with English, but german was spoken almost fluently by most of the staff, which shows that it is a german tourist hotel with the usual sunloungers being reserved at ridiculous o'clock.
Being a hotelier myself I was very underwhelmed by the service and extra charges for things which should be free, I would say it's only just reached 4 star status but if your English don't expect to be treated with any respect especially by reception team, there wasn't even a goodbye hope you enjoyed your stay!
This is a predominantly saga based hotel with entertainment to match, the music man played viva l'espana over and over again at a very loud volume.
Overall we had a good holiday and if it wasn't for the amazing location we would have been very disappointed, we spent most of our time outside of the hotel and went away feeling underwhelmed with the service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Justlovereviewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención al cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Don Gregory guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us, and thank you for the feedback, as negative impressions also help us to improve.

The hotel is directly in front of the sea and within a minute our guests can enjoy the ample beach where one can have a nice walk and do sports.

We are proud to announce that as from November the hotel Wifi connection will improve its coverage and will be free.
Each day there is a different entertainment show in the evening that goes from fashion shows till live music.
Our staff our staff makes a daily effort to improve their service and make the stay of our guests pleasant and enjoyable.

Should you decide to visit us again in the future, we will be pleased to receive you personally in our house and make your stay fully enjoyable for you.

Kind Regards,

José Gil
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my third holiday at the Don Gregory and once again it was a perfect holiday. Location, Hotel and the staff could not be better, always friendly and helping.I,m sure that a return visit would be easy.

Room Tip: Great view from a high level 7 upwards across the beach and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 396alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:

Nos es un placer escuchar que ha tenido una experiencia agradable en el hotel Don Gregory.

El personal siempre se esfuerza en ofrecer un servicio de calidad.

Esperamos verlo pronto en su cuarta estancia.

Saludos cordiales,

José Gil
Atención al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I, my daughter and granddaughter rest at the end of March 2014 at the Dunas Don Gregory Hotel that is in the San Agustín area of Playa del Inglés. We had two-storied suite at eighth floor with the breathtaking view at Atlantic Ocean, every second we felt the Ocean breath, the roar of the waves. As the hotel stands right on the Burras beach you have the opportunity to go into sports such as walking and running along the vast ocean coast. The nice promenade goes along the coast to the Maspalomas dunes. The hotel is old but clean and tidy. All hotel staff is well-trained and friendly. The restaurant is large, never queue, always large variety of tasty food, very often fish dishes, a lot of fruits. As it was very wavy at our beach we rent a car and went to the bays protected from a wind at Puerto Rico, Puerto de Mogan not very far the hotel. The island is very interesting and it is worth to go sightseeing. We had a wonderful rest. I certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: To have a better view of ocean, book the room beginning from the third floor. But if you want to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for the time you spent writing this review in Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you liked our hotel, the location and the whole island.
The hotel location gives you the opportunity to have nice walks and to do sports.

Regards the staff, this is for sure what makes Dunas Don Gregory so special and we will let them know your comments.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

José Gil
Custumer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our first visit to Gran Canaria although we have visited the other islands many times. It was a very special wedding anniversary trip and we chose this hotel due to location and ease of promenade/beach for an easy stroll. It was an all-inclusive holiday and we were not disappointed. The holiday company we travelled with cater for our age group and ensure that standards meet expectations and the advertised water and fruit in room was there on arrival. We had a fantastic view of the sea, the variety and standard of food in the restaurant with its panoramic views was faultless, the service was excellent, the pool attendant ensured that all safety requirements were met and that passages between sun-bed blocks (arranged in formation to make best use of space) were kept clear of push chairs for safe entrance/egress from the pool, the pool was well planned and not too deep for a nervous swimmer, entertainment was good. The maintenance staff were evident in groups - any slight things were fixed promptly and the cleaning staff worked inside and out until late.There was a dispenser of orange juice in reception which was, I think,free. There appeared to be a good range of activities including pool-side fashion shows. The hotel is built facing the sea on a wide,sweeping quiet bay. From the front of the hotel there is a five storey shopping centre and buses run from the road above. We found a lovely park just past the shops. Due to a flight change we were leaving later but we were allowed lunch and drinks after check-out at midday.
A place to return to.

Room Tip: Ask to be above reception as rooms below have a more limited sea view. We were on the fourth floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that we were part of a great first experience in Gran Canaria.

The staff of Don Gregory always tries to give their guests a pleasant time and create good memories like the one you shared with us.

We hope to see you again soon at the Dunas Don Gregory Hotel.

Kind regards,
Jose Gil
Customer Support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location of the hotel is absolutely marvellous. It is situated just in front of the beach. We had a fantastic view from the hotel. It was like living on a boat. Las Burras beach is a quiet beach perfect for those with children. There are not waves at all. The hotel staff were very friendly always greeting us and smiling. We hopefully go back there next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Atención Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in Tripadvisor. Your comment is appreciated by us and we are really glad that you value our staff service.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

José Gil
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Don Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Don Gregory

Address: Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: £116 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Don Gregory 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FULLY AND RECENTLY RENOVATED! ADULTS ONLY HOTEL. This hotel, with its privileged location, is the closest establishment to a beach on Gran Canaria. It is located on the first line of the Las Burras and San Agustin beaches, with direct access to the beach from the hotel. All double rooms and suites have stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean. With unbeatable views and exquisite surroundings, this hotel is ideal for couples wishing to enjoy the sun and the breeze. Wifi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunas Don Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Don Gregory Hotel San Agustin
Dunas Don Gregory Maspalomas
Dunas Don Gregory Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing