We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and very relaxed”
Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Tamarindos
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I had a most enjoyable 6 nights here. From my first encounter with the hotel until check out I found all services delivered in a most pleasant manner. I upgraded to a suite room and half board and it was well worth it. The enhanced services, they call it a royal service which included an adults only area free in room internet and a late check out made the upgrade worthwhile. The views from the suite and the enormous balcony was quite stunning.

The food here was good, although many breakfast items like bacon, eggs etc were more often than not cold. However this was easily overcome by the variety on offer as well as having eggs cooked to order. Dinner in the evening was standard buffet fare but I found it good quality and again varied choice. The staff servicing the hotel all appeared to be long time employees and always considerate and courteous in every department. Many of the front of house staff were top hotel professionals in the manner they carried out their task.

The only let down was the bathroom. Given that the age profile of many guests (60 plus) having to stand in a bath with not much room to move is not comfortable or indeed safe. However, having said that this grand old dame of Gran Canaria is indeed old world 5 star charm and much more service focused than other hotels I haved stayed at in GC in the past. Highly recommended. San augustin is a great location for a relaxed holiday

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Staying now sat in reception writing review would recomend to any one looking for chilled out quite winter sun. Who ever wrote the recent bad review should get a life. Very good for a good rest and a chill out.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Really nice hotel, rooms pretty standard, air con very effective
Food was very good, especially as it was all buffet style, lots of choice, plenty of fish and meat dishes cooked to order, breakfast again a buffet but so much more
The gardens and pool are very pleasant, I particularly enjoyed my early morning swims, there is a gate leading to a very nice public beach, the sea was great for swimming as well
All the staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
All in all, we had a really nice time here and are certainly likely to return

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cascboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Excellent hotel service with additional Royal service which makes you feel VIP and with reserved pool area with open light bar for free.
The hotel is rated 5 stars however while the service is very good as well the food and service on the buffet by the pool, the property is in need of refurbishment, I believe is the first 5 stars hotel on GC but now there are many more 5 stars on Melorenas area (Maspalomas), which is a better location against San Agustin but also for this reasons they cost 2 times more than Melia.
As a member of frequent Guest “MAS” I would prefer to use this hotel rather than others.
Also in this very nice hotel you can have private parking facilities for free, I’m not sure is the same on others.
Rooms are very comfortable and relaxing with a nice ocean view
Place to recommend to anyone who like comfort, relax and maybe they rent a car during the holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dpsenior2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel location is excellent! You can swim in ocean (50 m) or rest at swimming pool. Rooms are very nice, but little smaller. Bathroom is nice too. The rooms on 1st floor have large balcony with sea view. Stuff is really friendly and helpful. There is a Casino in basement too. I really enjoyed the stay. Internet is free in lobby, but not in the room. However Meliá gold card members have 24 hrs accumulative free in the room.
The food is very good! Breakfast bufé has various choices for everyone. However the prices for food are "5 stars" (pretty high, 20€ - lunch, 30€ - dinner excluding drinks) so it is worth to purchase it in advance. There are plenty of good restaurants around the hotel where you can eat much cheaper.
There is a buss no. 66 from (to) airport stopping 200m from hotel every hour so it is easy to reach there.
Some people wrote review that this is not 5* hotel, but I disagree 100%. I am travelling around the world and of course this hotel can't be compared with hotel in China or Thailand since they can have twice more of stuff due to cheap labor. There is a room for improvement, but in overal I was satisfied with my choice!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acko777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Just got back from 10 day Holiday at this hotel, we stayed on Half Board basis. Staff are well trained, helpful and friendly. Food was good although queues can be lenghthy at busy times in the buffet style restaurants. Good cross mix of guests from all over Europe Brits in a minority which we tend to enjoy. Rooms large clean and comfortable although those facing the road on the left hand side can be a bit noisy we had an extractor fan going 24/7 beneath our room, wouldn't bother most people but I'm a bit sensitive to unwanted back ground noise.
Lovely large swimming pool and seperate childrens pool.
Overall really enjoyed the stay and would definately go again (would pay extra for sea view room). Not much going on around the hotel, few pubs and taverns. San Augustin is a quiet relaxing town if you want nightlife then Playa de Ingles is about 3 miles away.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view room those facing the road can be noisy and some don't have balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yberd1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Excellent public area facilities,the pools and gardens are extensive and well maintained . Restaurants have good food and service . Excelent choice and quality of food at buffet breakfast and buffet dinner . The staff were very helpful and assisted us with all our queries. We found our stay to be extremely comfortable and relaxing set in a lovely location . Very interesting spa and a small gym, they have a yoga mat, treadmills . Though entrance to spa must be additionaly paid , there are good discounts on a course of massage. Direct access to sea promenade. With good walking possibilities along the seaside , we walked briskly twice a day. We will definitely return in 2012 .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,442 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,179 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Address: Calle de las Retama 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: £78 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Set in large gardens, the Meliá Tamarindos overlooks Gran Canaria's San Agustín beach. It offers a spa, fitness centre, 2 outdoor pools and has its own observatory. The air-conditioned rooms feature a pillow menu, satellite TV and plenty of natural light. They also have free Wifi. Hotel Meliá Tamarindos has 2 outdoor hot tubs, and the spa offers a sauna and massage services. There are also tennis and squash courts on site. Meliá Tamarindos' restaurants offer buffet dishes prepared in the show kitchen, including Chinese and Italian dishes. The bars serve snacks and drinks throughout the day. The Level services are available in some rooms, and include a private lounge with free snacks, cafeteria services, private solarium for adults, Nespresso machine in the rooms, and 30-minute daily access to the spa. The hotel is 500 m from a shopping centre and 3 km from Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing