We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed views, see below”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Tamarindos
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed views, see below”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

So I've just come back from Gran Canaria on a relaxing break and here is my thoughts on the Melia! First of all there are a number of people who have reviewed saying that it shouldn't be a five star and I agree with them. However, I think you need to compare the hotel with hotels around it and then you can see the difference. After spending the day in the rather tacky Maspalomas, it was nice retreat to go back to the Melia.

The breakfast is a buffet that was ok and there was quite a bit of choice, but not exactly the best I've had. The same goes for the dinner. Good food, but not amazing. However the price probably is justified.

The drinks in the hotel are over priced and if you order a pina colada for example, its not even mixed in front of you and is the shop bought pre made stuff, but yet they charged the earth for it. These made a large dent in my hotel bill, but I was on holiday so..!

The rooms are pleasant and some have a balcony although mine didn't. They were clean and the maids did a good job tidying up etc. There is a mini bar, but didn't notice any tea/coffee facilities, however I didn't look in the mini bar so they could have been in that.

Now to the staff. Some of
the staff treated me nicely especially a young waiter at breakfast who made an effort. However, there were a number who felt like they ignored me and one even insulted me at breakfast because I got up to go get some more food (seeing as its a buffet) and I came back and the waiter was cleaning my table and looked at me, made hand gestures and muttered something whilst staring at me as if I was stupid. I felt very unconfortable.

I couldn't help feeling like I was treated different by the staff due to my age (22) and all the other guests were older. I always left a tip though where other guests didn't and tried to be courteous myself.

Also, make sure you check your bill at checkout as they tried to over charge me and double charge me on a few things.

Overall, what you pay for the room and breakfast each night is good value. The location is good next to the beach and a nice pool area. Even though I felt a tad unwelcome at times, I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StockholmTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thanks a lot for your comment posted on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you had overall a good experience among us. However, we deeply regret to read you felt unwelcome on several occasions. We would like to express our surprise for this comment as it is usually the most valued item by our customers. We do apologize if you did experience any uncomfortable situation during your stay regarding this matter. We are glad you liked the pool area and the access to the beach and we do hope to welcome you again in a near future. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    584
    264
    78
    51
See reviews for
412
825
70
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A good quality, very clean all inclusive hotel with lovely well maintained grounds; staff very friendly and helpful, food can feel a bit similar ( quite usual all inclusive) but the quality of the food is very good. Lunch around the pool area had fresh fish and meat rather than burgers and hotdogs etc. This would include fresh salmon, kebabs that would be cooked to order, so food was hot. Wine and cocktails were also very good.
The rooms are a good size but the air conditioning a bit noisy. Our room had a very large balcony with table and chairs, and sun loungers.
There are daytime adult activities; yoga, aqua aerobics and evening entertainment such as astronomy ( which was really interesting) or local groups singing. There are two children's pools; one stand alone, the other joining the main pool but apart from that, little to entertain school age children or young adults.
The spa is small but very nice and worth a visit, although it lets itself down by not having padded sun beds.
There is a small library and newspapers are available free of charge.
Direct access on to the promenade and black sand beach where you can have a nice stroll.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel and a few shops, bars and restaurants. Taxi to Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas which are more lively areas costs around €7 each way. Whilst it was nice to visit, we were glad to return to the peacefulness of our hotel.
Not too may English people, but we didn't find this a problem. Wheelchair accessible with a gentle incline from the pool through the grounds back to the hotel in addition to plenty of seating in the shade in the grounds. We would recommend this hotel for adults who want to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thank you very much for choosing us for your summer holidays and for taking your precious time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that your experience at our hotel left you such a good souvenir! We apologize if the air conditioning made a noise in your room; we could have fixed it immediately. We are also happy to read you fully enjoyed the daytime activities and the astronomy; it is indeed a very interesting activity. Thank you again for all your comments and for recommending us and we do hope to welcome you the soonest possible. Warm regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable and relaxing 10 days all inclusive stay at Melia Tamarindos and have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone who wants a quiet holiday in the sun, of which there was lots, good food and service. I have no doubt that it meets the requirements of being granted a 5 star accolade, but the Dorchester it isn’t and it would be a waste of time to try and put two such locations in comparison. Yes it would have been nicer to have more bar staff in attendance during the evening so that one did not wait 20 mins on the veranda for drinks service, yes it would have been nice to have a hall porter in attendance to help you that last 30 meters of kerbstones from transfer to reception, yes it would have been nice to have beverage service in the main part of the hotel during the day and not everything down at the pool and certainly bedroom beverage making facilities for that lay in bed and slow wake up morning watching the sun rise.

We booked a sea view and emailed the hotel a request for an upper level room which we were allocated. The 7th floor room provided a view of the sea over the tops of the palm trees and across the well manicured gardens that lie between the Hotel and pool area. It was an excellent room, well appointed with nothing peeling, falling off or not working with daily attention to room and mini bar that offered a range of soft drinks and local beer.

We booked all inclusive which we calculate was an additional £50 a day for the two of us; questionable if it was worth the extra for lunch and all day drinks. We probably would not go all inclusive again not because of quality but we only ventured out of the hotel on four occasions one of which was the trip to the local market via a 7 euro taxi each way. With everything provided by the hotel there was no incentive to venture out of an evening for a stroll. When we did, there was little in either direction to want to do that again.

The Hotel seemed to be at half capacity making meal times easy with lots of room in the dining room and around the pool. At 11 in the morning there were still free sun loungers around the pool without the towel to indicate ‘taken’. There was a variety of evening entertainment in the main bar.

We booked the trip via Travel Republic which we have used in the past with confidence. Everything went to plan with no problems with flight, transfer and Hotel. We can highly commend the flight with Norwegian who are giving Easy Jet and Ryan Air some competition. Free WiFi on the plane, with inflight entertainment (cartoons and canned TV, no films) and a booking in system at Gatwick that took us 5 mins with no ques. Having printed our boarding cards 24 hours in advance, at Gatwick the whole process is DIY from putting your booked luggage on the scales, the printing of bag ties, putting the bags onto the conveyor, scan and off it disappears in the hope that you will be reunited at the holiday destination. Meanwhile, the EasyJet and Ryan Air queues were still doing the holiday shuffle. Shame that the return leg was not so efficient.
Well done Norwegian, will be choosing you again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thank you for your comments and for trusting Meliá Tamarindos to spend your summer holidays. We are very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We know holidays is one of the most expected periods of the year, that is why we try our best in order to provide our guests overall an unforgettable experience. Thank you very much for the comments written in the first part; we have taken very good note of all of them and we apologize for the inconveniences. We look forward to welcoming you very soon at Melia Tamarindos and we send you sunny regards from the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fab hotel, clean, very good food, nice quiet pool area, until the hoards of kids arrived our 2nd week (Spanish school hols).

A bit out in the sticks and not a lot of entertainment in the evening, or british people! However, a nice walk along the prom every evening to either the Tropicana Centre or a bit further along to the next centre or the Yumba and the bus back. Even the local bar entertainment at the Tropicana Centre finished about 10.30 every evening.

However, it is on the bus route for the 40 min drive to Las Palmas - well worth a visit.

If you want a nice quiet holiday, highly recommended, would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were facing the hill on the main road, but it was still very quiet - wouldn't bother paying f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that our hotel fulfilled all your expectations for your summer holidays. Many thanks for recommending us and we do hope to welcome you again on a future occasion. Sunny regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel melia not the concorde this hotel exceeded our expectations good food high standard of cleanliness lovely grounds well kept gardens lovely pool nice room good wardrobe space nice towelling robes and slippers plenty of toiletries provided very helpful pleasant staff everyone so polite excellent waiters especially at breakfast lunch around pool and in the evening could not have been more helpful very professional and hotel dhoukd be proud of them resort very quiet only negative at the melia hard matress thank u all frances t

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Meliá Tamarindos:

Many thanks for posting such a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you had a wonderful experience among us and both the room and its amenities were to your full satisfaction. Furthermore, we highly appreciate your praise about our Restaurant staff and food. We agree with you, our huge tropical garden is one of the most beloved areas in the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible; in the meanwhile, receive warm regards from the whole Meliá Tamarindos staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a very quiet area but only a short taxi/bus ride away from some action. For a peaceful, restful holiday this is the place to go. The hotel is kept very clean throughout. Room cleaned daily. Food excellent. Gardens and pool area are so lovely. Everything you need is here. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Not the cheapest but well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is lovely the food and drink is great! Large quite pool area which is very quite no music played all day! The only problem we had was the fact we was the only English in this hotel and the location is pretty poor too nothing around it's like a ghost town!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily030289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you liked our hotel and enjoyed our food and beverages. We do have many English guests all around the year but maybe this month there were just a few. We agree with you that San Agustin is a very relaxing area, much quieter than Playa del Inglés and Maspalomas. Actually, most of our regular and also new guests are thrilled with the hotel location. We understand that Playa del Inglés is more vibrant. We would like to thank you once again for your comments and we send you warm regards from Gran Canaria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
2.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#18 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Property: Melia Tamarindos
Address: Calle de las Retama 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Set in large gardens, the Meliá Tamarindos overlooks Gran Canaria's San Agustín beach. It offers a spa, fitness centre, 2 outdoor pools and has its own observatory. The air-conditioned rooms feature a pillow menu, satellite TV and plenty of natural light. They also have free Wifi. Hotel Meliá Tamarindos has 2 outdoor hot tubs, and the spa offers a sauna and massage services. There are also tennis and squash courts on site. Meliá Tamarindos' restaurants offer buffet dishes prepared in the show kitchen, including Chinese and Italian dishes. The bars serve snacks and drinks throughout the day. The Level services are available in some rooms, and include a private lounge with free snacks, cafeteria services, private solarium for adults, Nespresso machine in the rooms, and 30-minute daily access to the spa. The hotel is 500 m from a shopping centre and 3 km from Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing