We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, top notch, top service, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Tamarindos
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, top notch, top service, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

This hotel is first class and deserves its 5 Star rating.. The well trained staff are polite and efficient. Hotel is spotless, with first class Pool area and access directly to beach at San Agustin and boardwalk that runs down to Playa Del Ingles/Maspalomas.

We paid extra for sea & pool view and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite. This hotel has real "old world" star quality with live piano accompaniment at dinner and harpist a breakfast. Entertainment each night in bar and a lot of affluent guests who dress up for dinner. Buffet dinner style or eat in Casino restaurant.

I could not find a single fault it was worth the extra money!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnChapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    580
    261
    78
    50
See reviews for
410
818
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

have just returned from a fab week, we are 2 couples who always go together. Having stayed in lots of 5 stars all over we could not have had a better week. I had booked all inclusive as the deal was to good to miss,so even if it was not up to standard it would not have mattered. We arrived to a lovely welcome, straight to our rooms, they faced the back of the hotel but we dont spend any time in them just to sleep? Quick change then to the bar for our first drink. Gin and tonics all round and to our surprise Gordons. Then to dinner a lovely area we sat outside on the terrace, and had a super meal buffet style.
In the bar there was allways some music playing, which is just fine. Coffee and amarettos all round.Pool was great, towels sunbeds plenty of nice areas to sit and out to a nice walk all along the beach front. I cant understand people who moan about the area ,as the beach is not good but you are not in the bahamas are you! but it was clean and tidy all over. You can have a nice walk along to Playa del ingles, but that area is not for us to built up, and be very aware of pick pockets,a lady in our hotel went there and had all her valuables stolen from her.So if you want a great break, do try this hotel get a deal for All inclusive, and you will not be dissapointed. Not the place for kids, not enough for them. As for the internet there is a club in the garden, you get an hour 4 euros how cheap is that. Fab buffett by the pool including drinks, the wine was great not the rubbish you get,and it comes in an ice bucket , this was also a great lunch for the price. Of course food does repeat itself, but the chef always cooked fresh meat and fish daily for you to choose. To get the best from your waiters we allways give the a good tip when we arrive so they look after you all week. Bed linen changed 3 times in our week and fresh towels when you wanted, also pillow menu. I know some people have said it is not 5 star I would agree in some ways, as it does not have the added luxary of some of the more newer modern hotels we stay in, but I could not fault it for what we paid and that is what matters.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamarie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Hotel is situated at a very ugly beach. Neighbourhood is outdated, dirty and not maintained properly. Neighbourhood of Faro is so much nicer (modern and maintained properly)!
Cleanliness of the hotel was superb and very friendly and helpfull staff.
Food was ok, but not enough variation. Meat was very low quality.
Use of internet: very expensive and only available in the lobby of the hotel. (no connection in the rooms.)Use of jacuzzi was too expensive.
Room and bathroom were rather small, but we had a nice seaview.
Animation was not good at all.
Fitness Center was a laugh!
Very very very expensive "Spa". During our stay the "Spa" was empty all the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziggyboy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

Not a 5 star but for the price a very good 4 Star. All the staff were very poilte and professional and nothing was too much trouble. Getting a sunbed was no problem. Even my 11 year old son was happy staying there. The little extras make all the difference, and being all-inclusive worked really weel, as majority of drinks were included. Ok, the english speaking staff were few and far between, but if you used a few courteous spanish words such as hello, please and thank you it went a long way. For those complaining they must look for it. Evening entertainment could be better, and rooms a bit small, but overall a lovely, clean and excellent customer service. Will we go back - YES!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorryiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

One of the best hotels that we encountered in the area. Many of the other nice hotels are located near very touristy areas (such as Playa del Ingles) whereas the location of this hotel feels more exclusive. There are 3/4/ nice restaurants (2 by the sea) within 5- 10 mins walking distance of the hotel if you choose Bed and Breakfast. The Breakfasts at the hotel are amazing....choice included cooked breakfast, spanish omlette, all sorts of toasts, breads, home made muffins and croissants, hot melted chocolate(!), all types of fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, herbal teas, endless coffee and tea, fresh juices, cava(!), cheeses, cold meats, cereals, many types of yoghurt and jams..we would wake up excited each morning about the breakfast feast that was to come.

Yes the rooms are a litlle dated if you are into minimal modernist style, but the blues in the room were actually very bright and the whole hotel was absolutely spotless. Very few english, mainly germans, scandanavians and spanish, which we liked as it didnt feel like you were in Blackpool. Nice touches inlcuded the pillow menu (they even had a maternity pillow), BEAUTIFUL pool which although a bit chilly, was climatized so bearable to anyone who loves to swim. The spa was small but we enjoyed 2 massages there at usual UK prices. Make sure you book a sea view as this makes all the difference. The gardens are beautiful, with date palms everywhere and they lead straight to a lovely beach.

3/4 euros to get ito playa del ingles by taxi but we walked there several times, about 2 miles along the beach path -= very pretty.
It was expensive but if you want to relax this is the perfect hotel.
The only negative point is that Gran Canaria southern coast isnt the most beautiful of places. The coastline is very dry and rocky (where there are no hotels to water the plants) and we only found one secluded cove along the coast...the others were rammed with tourists. The beach outside the hotel itself was very quiet, but not "secluded"/ We did hire a car and drove inland where there is amazing "canyon-
like" landscape but still we were not bowled over by the landscape.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nemchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our 45th wedding anniversary and we very impressed. However, the hotel is like a Grand Old Lady who has become a little faded in parts! Whilst the hotel, bedrooms etc were spotless, the whole place is in need of an upgrade with regard to carpets,bedroom decor etc. Apart from that that there was nothing with which we could find fault. On the day of our anniversary we received a basket of fruit and champagne with the compliments of the management which was a lovely gesture.

The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent - the variety and choice could not be bettered and the live background music complemented the food.

Whilst we had not requested an upgrade, we were allocated a lovely pool/sea view room with extremely comfortable beds. All in all a memorable holiday

  • Liked — Room and food
  • Disliked — lack of evening entertainment at weekend
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TenerifeDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

We enjoyed staying at this hotel - it was a very quiet hotel, in a quiet resort. Located right on the beach, which meant an easy change to go from poolside to seaside if you wanted to!

Bedroom decor was a bit dated, but that's not really what matters on holiday - you don't really spend a lot of time in your room after all! We had a double room - which was more like two large single beds pushed together. We did request an upgrade, but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked - but they would have been happy to accomodate this, if this had not been the case.

Staff seemed friendly enough - as long as you are clear and polite, they were the same - i did observe some being a bit grumpy towards other guests, but i think that was down to the way the guests were towards them.

Amenities were great - the pools are lovely - however BE WARNED if you don't get up and reserve a sunbed by 8.30-9.00am ish you run the risk of not getting a bed near the pool, or with a parasol. This may not be the case in quieter seasons. The hotel supplies you with towels for use by the pool - so taking your own towels isn't really necessary.

Poolside activities every day were basic but better than nothing!

Club house was a great place for kids to go and read, play games, surf the internet - supervised. There were also other activities to do such as crazy golf, pool, darts and giant chess!

Restaurant was great, really wide range of foods - lots of salads and meats. Breakfast is amazing!! Always lots of fresh fruit available at each meal too which is great for taking away and snacking on!

Please be aware that the hotel was mostly occupied by germans and spanish people - we were one of 4 english couples at the hotel during our 7 night stay! - which i think is what helped to keep it quiet!!

  • Liked — Meals, Pool, Hotel Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Having to reserve sunbeds with our towels by 9am in order to get a good one!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank derek-the-budgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
2.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Property: Melia Tamarindos
Address: Calle de las Retama 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Set in large gardens, the Meliá Tamarindos overlooks Gran Canaria's San Agustín beach. It offers a spa, fitness centre, 2 outdoor pools and has its own observatory. The air-conditioned rooms feature a pillow menu, satellite TV and plenty of natural light. They also have free Wifi. Hotel Meliá Tamarindos has 2 outdoor hot tubs, and the spa offers a sauna and massage services. There are also tennis and squash courts on site. Meliá Tamarindos' restaurants offer buffet dishes prepared in the show kitchen, including Chinese and Italian dishes. The bars serve snacks and drinks throughout the day. The Level services are available in some rooms, and include a private lounge with free snacks, cafeteria services, private solarium for adults, Nespresso machine in the rooms, and 30-minute daily access to the spa. The hotel is 500 m from a shopping centre and 3 km from Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing