We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service, clean, spacious, worse with water pressure”
Review of Sunsuites Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunsuites Carolina
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location, great service, clean, spacious, worse with water pressure”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very satisfied with a place, we had a superior room on the first floor: would get back there!

Very good service: they are there for you and your numerous questions! Rooms are very ok, very good beds, on a softer side, great with two balconies on both of the sides of the building - you can always enjoy (of hide from) the sun. A bit dark painted bathroom, but more spacious than you might find at other places. The only thing is water pressure and not enough hot water if you take shower in turns.. Nice garden you can pick herbs from for your meal. Kitchenette with all you need! Water-cooker, safe, hair-dryer, tv.

Try massaging at the place - nice German lady would relax you or help with your particular problems right in the garden!

Room Tip: I would say you would have a better view from the first floor rather than from the ground one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a small appartment hotel that gives all for you to feel welcome. Fresh bread every morning, they even supplied gluten free bread to me. The appartment was nice and large and nicely funitured. The staff was service minded and as the hotel was quite small, they attended all guest frequently to give their service. The hotel was placed in the end of the Playa and you could easily walk by the beach side to all the restaurants on Playa del Ingeles. Same time there was a small mall behind the hotel with some restaurants, you can get 3 dishes dinner for only 10.90 E. At the time we visited, there were most retired people in the appartment hotel, so it seems not to be the place for small children. Very much recommended for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalina_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is the perfect place for a relaxed holiday in Gran Canaria. Went there without having any high expectations and ended up having a great time. The hotel is very conviniently located right near the beautiful beachwalk of San Agustin and quietly tucked away from the busy and touristy streets of nearby Playa del Ingles (which still is within walking distance).

Really nice, quiet and familiar feel to this hotel, nice pool area and rooms where you, if you wish, can cook your own meals, something that I find being a great advantage when you are away for more than a weekend. Both the rooms and balconys/terraces are comfortable and of good size, although the bed was a bit hard.

The staff is friendly and helpful and you could tell that the employees enjoys working there. Imagine my surprise when I, more than one year after our visit there, got a postcard in the mail from Sunsuites Carolina, wishing me a happy birthday. If I go back to San Agustin, I will definitely come back. The last time we went we wanted to try something else, ending up at Gloria Palace San Agustin, but both my partner and I regretted that we didn't chose Sunsuites Carolina instead.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wining_dining101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband & I have had 4 wonderful stays @ the Carolina, been going to San Agustin for 27 years before we realised this was not a private estate. Staff are great, so friendly, nothing to much bother. We were booked to go April 2012, had to cancel due to husbands health, unfortunatly he will never be able to fly again. If you want a nice, comfortable break this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, cost extra but worth it if you like sitting on the balcony in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanabbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We spent the first week of December there. After a hectic autumn, we wanted a relaxing holiday before the Scandinavian winter really bites and Sunsuites Carolina was a perfect choice. The apartments are comfortable and clean and we never saw any sign of any kind of insect (had 1 fly in the apartment once in the week). The staff are friendly and extremely helpful - always a smile and a polite wave. At this time of year (soon Christmas but not quite), the majority of people visiting Gran Canaria are of the "older generation" and this was noticeable also here with peace descending over the area soon after 21:00 each evening. After that, the only movement was the night watchman doing his rounds (the area around the apartments is nice and quiet with no visible "problem" people).

For anybody visiting Gran Canaria for a relaxing holiday, I recommend Sunsuites Carolina is considered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-A-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Wonderful hotel with a nice pool, close to the beach! Very nice and friendly staff, who were always ready to help you. The place was very clean and good-looking and we enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoyvík
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Nice and helpful staff. Great location, close to the beach. One can find lovely resturants near by and only few meters from shopping center, where you can buy food and stuff.
Easy acces to taxi and busses. Also are taxies cheap.
Very nice place to stay, when you want a relaxing vacation.

I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
229 reviews
1.9 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,558 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunsuites Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunsuites Carolina

Property: Sunsuites Carolina
Address: Calle Los Cardones 3, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunsuites Carolina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, very familiar complex with well equipped apartments with one or two bedrooms. The situation is perfect, right by the Atlantic Ocean, and with un unique view of the ocean and the dunes of Maspalomas. Reception/ night guard 24 hours, Heated swimmingpool in a nice garden full of colorful plants and trees. Very laid back, informal and comfortably. The service from the staff is absolutely fantastic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunsuites Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsuites Carolina Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing