We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunprime Atlantic View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunprime Atlantic View
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just back from a week in this hotel on an All Inclusive break. It is far enough away from the busier parts of the resort so as not to be bothered by noise, but close enough to be able to walk to the commercial centres. The hotel is clean and very well cared for. The lounge and restaurant are pleasant and comfortable. Our room was ground floor and overlooked one of the three pools, with a terrace furnished with comfortable chairs and footstools. Definitely better than the usual white plastic. Room was cleaned daily and towels and sheets changed as often as you wanted. Robes and slippers are provided free of charge. Hairdryer also provided, along with soap and shampoo, replenished as often as necessary. Food was very good with plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. There were a number of themed nights which were very enjoyable.Wine and beer are on tap in the restaurant. Local drinks to suit all tastes are available in the bar, and the long list of cocktails is worth exploring. All staff, from reception to bar to restaurant and domestic, were invariably hard working, polite and friendly. Wide range of guests from young couples to the more mature. No under 16s as this is an adults only hotel. Wide range of nationalities were represented. This hotel is definitely worth its 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Just ask for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ANS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    362
    89
    15
    7
See reviews for
84
673
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here August 2014 - 2 weeks All Inclusive.
Hotel was clean and tidy - We had Room 17 - Ground floor - Not much of a view, but we had a pool view and patio doors straight onto poolside - Which we loved.
Food was great - Plenty of choice all day everyday..
Drinks as everyone has previously said - Super, Strawberry Daiquiri's are amazing... We had every evening.
We didn't stay in the hotel much - we used it as a base and had a hire car for 10 of the 14 day holiday. Drove around Gran Canaria (I found it easy with a sat nav) Stayed at the southern end of the Island.

Room Tip: We had Room 17 - Ground floor poolside room - Not much of a view, but it was perfect for us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandterasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from this place and well, this was a wonderful holiday! We went all inclusive and it certainly was good value for money! A spotlessly clean hotel, a fantastic team who looked after us so very well! Polite and helpful staff, the food was out of this world! One small issue not much for vegetarians in the hot food area but pescetarians however had plenty to choose from. Beautiful pools and again a very clean pool area. The surrounding area was indeed very nice and we found a little gem called Parque Botanico de Maspalomas, a botanic park free to visit and absolutely beautiful! And only a five minute walk from the hotel. Amazing plants and wild parrots hanging out in the trees chatting away... Very very nice! The dunes are of course worth a visit too and a climb if you feel up to a bit of exercise :) all in all we could not find fault with anything and we have returned fully rested and having enjoyed every minute of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I cannot fault this hotel! Me and my boyfriend stayed here and we both loved it. Everything was great and nothing was too much hassle for the staff. Would 100% recommend to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat!

Strawberry daiquiris were amazing, so good they are worth their own mention.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Freyja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I'm on holiday with my partner at the moment for 11 nights and must say this is a really good hotel, food is excellent, hotel is spotless and although busy no getting up at the crack of dawn for sun beds as there are more than enough, the only reason I have not given 5 stars is due to the fact there is no outside seating area or bar, the inside bar has no air con and as it's very warm here at night is uncomfortable and it can be difficult to get seating, therefore a few people have seated themselves at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park. I have to mention the cocktails available at the bar and are expertly made by friendly staff ( free if all inclusive) so just to sum up great hotel, great food, comfy beds, friendly happy staff but let down by no outside seating, shame.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank adavies32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Can not fault this hotel one bit. Loved it so much, we are considering cancelling our holiday to Turkey next year and re booking this.

We arrived after 9pm and therefore the restaurant was closed, but we were told there would be food in our room for us. I was expecting a sandwich or some salad, but we had a selection of all the things that were on the buffet that evening and it was all still piping hot. Jacket potatoes, salad, rice, ribs, all beautiful and eaten in the comfort of our big spacious room. I was impressed when I saw it, nice size bathroom with walk in shower, small kitchen area which is still handy even on all inclusive because we put a few bottles of water and drinks in the fridge for us to have on the balcony. Bed was 2 singles pushed together which was only an issue 1 night when I must have thought I was in a double bed and rolled over, only to almost fall down the middle, ha. We had a large terrace balcony which had 2 sunbeds, a parasol and a table and chairs set.

Food at the restaurant was lovely, breakfast became slightly boring as it never changed but everything was cooked nicely and everything was stocked all the time. I have been to some all inclusives where we have had to wait for a new batch of fried eggs to be made. Never an issue here, everything was topped up and never ran out. As for the other meal times, we never struggled to find something we didn't like. All lovely. Drinks were serve yourself at meal times and you could help yourself to wine, beer and soft drinks aswell and tea and coffees. I liked this better than having to wait for a waitress to bring your drinks. Staff were excellent and cleared plates away quickly. Never any queues for the buffet, unlike other places I have been where there is a long queue along the counter. You simply just went up and helped yourself without any problem. Chinese night was the best. Don't forget to check out the soup urn, there were some lovely soups available. Also Heinz tomato sauce and HP sauce was available at meal times, which was a little added bonus.

Pool area is really where this hotel excelled. 3 good sized pools to chose from although we never ventured far from the smaller pool where they did the water aerobics. This pool suited us best because the sunbeds had a bit more space, I don't like sunbeds when they are all crammed too close to the person sunbathing next to you. I also like to turn the sunbed during the day to where the sun is. I must admit we were guilty of putting our towels out early but this was only to make sure we got the sunbed we wanted in that specific area. If you're not bothered about that then you can find a sunbed almost any time.

There is no pool bar. I liked this although I noticed some people complained about it. I thought it was much better to go into the mini market and help yourself to beer, soft drinks, hot drinks, sandwiches and ice creams, rather than have to wait around a pool bar to be served. Soft drinks were all proper brands of Coke, Diet coke, Fanta and Sprite. Although spirits were local branded, they served large quantities of it and it tasted just as good.

The bar at night was excellent. About 4 bar staff all working hard, all knowing who is next and all spoke excellent English, some even spoke a little German and Dutch. The strawberry daiquiris were my favourite cocktail and always made for us by Lali, who was loads of fun. The cocktail menu was huge and lots to choose from. You will be sure to find something you like.

Evening entertainment is suited for the over 30's I would say. It's always a singer or duo act with guitar or keyboard. I thought they were all pretty good. Considering some of the entertainment I have seen at some hotels, these were all decent and people got up to dance if they liked. One thing some people have mentioned and was the only downside, was the heat in the lounge of an evening. There needed to be some windows open or stronger air conditioning because it got pretty warm at night. I mostly wore some lighter clothes and strapless dresses at evenings to cope with the heat.

Location of the hotel was on the outskirts a little bit, but I liked this. It was a fair distance from the beach, but again, suited us because we don't like the beach. The hotel do issue you with a bus pass to get the free bus from the hotel to the beach. The hotel as a short walk (around 5 minutes) to the Chapparel commercial centre, this was my preferred centre. There were a few British and Dutch bars and it was a lot cleaner and less hassle than the Yumbo centre. The Yumbo centre was about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel but I disliked it. It was too big, dirty and the shop sellers were pestering you constantly to buy things. I much preferred the Chapparel and the Windmill pub with their nightly quiz and bingo for a bit of fun.

All in all, the hotel was our favourite, best we have ever been to. It was clean, friendly and had everything we wanted. Adult only is a massive plus and the peace and quiet you get from having no kids around is brilliant. We met some lovely people and we most probably be returning to this hotel ion the future.

Few more little tips, take a trip to Palmitos Park, it was brilliant. We got the bus from close to the hotel. Walk out the hotel and turn right at the main road, follow the road to the round about and catch the number 45 bus straight to Palmitos Park, costs about 4 euros return. The animals at the park were amazing and the bird of prey show at the top of the mountain was excellent and the views, stunning. From the same bus stop you can catch a bus to Puerto Mogan, we hired a car to go here but you can get a bus for a few euros. Market day is Fridays there and it's lovely. It is nicknamed 'Little Venice' as it has a river running through it with small bridges to cross it. It has a small beach with nice restaurants and bars and also a small harbour with pretty fishing boats. Highly recommend a visit to here.

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and took a taxi to Meloneras one evening. Ask for 'the Maspalomas lighthouse' in the taxi and you will be dropped of at the start of the seafront with lots of lovely restaurants and bars overlooking the sea. It is a little pricey but for a special occasion it is worth it. The Moonlight Cinema is also here and although we didn't go it was supposed to be a nice place.

If you are looking for a quiet hotel, no kids and a nice stroll of an evening to a few bars/restaurants, then i'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Oh and one final point, WIFI is excellent and free at this hotel, it is very fast and easy to use. It works in all areas of the hotel including your room. Brilliant for us to keep in touch with the kids back at home and post pictures of Facebook to make all our friends insanely jealous!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank evertonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Sunprime for 10 nights with a party of eight - ranging in age from 16 to 62. We all had an amazing time and were extremely depressed at leaving our little Sunprime holiday bubble!!

The first night we got there we were greeted by a very helpful lady at reception (we unfortunately did not get her name but she is blonde and wore glasses). She welcomed us to the hotel, booked us in extremely quickly and gave us the basic info we needed for the hotel (meal times etc.) This straight away gave us a great impression of the hotel - including a full the lounge area with music.

We had a total of 4 rooms on the third floor and could not be more impressed with how clean they were. The rooms were spotless, spacious and highly modern with a flat screen TV. In the fridge was a plate of food for each guest (we had missed the cut off for tea time) and a big bottle of water which was a great extra considering it was late and we were not sure where would be open at said time.

Other pluses of the room was a double shower, the comfy beds and pillows and the amazing air con that proved to be a necessity during our scorching stay. There was no DVD player in the room (some websites indicated there was) but this is in no way a complaint but a helpful bit of advice if you're intending on spending a fair bit of time in the room.

The bar and restaurant staff were so attentive and friendly that they made our All Inclusive stay that bit better. They always accommodated our group - ensuring that we sat together and were always smiling and chatty when we went down for meal times. A special shout out to Eduardo (he's been there for 24 years so you may come across him if going to Sunprime in the near future) he felt like he was part of our group and we even managed to sneak him on to one of our holiday selfies!

Food and drink wise the hotel could not be better! The theme nights was a good touch and even though some of our group were slightly skeptical (very very fussy eaters!) there was always something to eat for everyone! Always a large selection of salads, almost always a pasta, pizza and form of meat to choose from. Puddings for me were a little hit and miss but the ice-cream section was always worth a visit with choice of sprinkles and sauces!!!

Cocktails. Infamous cocktails at Sunprime that were not only strong but were lovely!!! There was a ridiculous amount to choose from for the All Inclusive members and the staff were always happy to make them a little bit weaker if need be!!!

The night life was very quiet and could do with improving, the acts tend to sing songs from the older variety, but we knew this well in advance so packed a few decks of cards, Yatzee and some app-related games on the ole' iPhone. YET saying this a few couples did get up for a bit of a dance and there is a dance floor if the mood should so take you. But to be fair a lot of people went out in town for their night life but we were happy with cocktails and cards :)

The pool areas were lovely, there was always sunbeds free but it may be wise to pop your towels out in the morning if your in a group to ensure that you're all together or in a suitable spot for maximum sun-worshipping! Props to Adela for her amazing aqua-aerobic routine that had us all working it out in the pool - not once but twice a day if water circuit was on!

Helpful bits of info:
- You get a hairdryer and iron and ironing board in your room
- The wifi is free and can be used all around the hotel
- No DVD player in the room
- The pool is only 1.3m so meant everyone could stand for those who cant swim
- You get a towel for the pool/beach
- You get a beach pass for each guest that gets you to and from the hotel
- The bar only includes the five main spirits on the all inclusive (Bicardia, Rum, Whiskey, Vodka, Gin) the other spirits you could purchase separately e.g. amaretto

Overall we loved our time here, we highly recommend this hotel and were already hoping to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shanice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.0 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Atlantic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Atlantic View

Property: Sunprime Atlantic View
Address: Avda de Gran Canaria 48, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunprime Atlantic View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunprime Atlantic View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites And Spa
Sunprime Atlantic View Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Sunprime Atlantic View Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing