We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave it another go - but not much substance”
Review of Mundo

Mundo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gave it another go - but not much substance”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We've been to GC many, many times, so finding good eating places is not easy. Been to Mundo several times - it never quite hits the mark. Service is always friendly but the food sounds better than it tastes. Lighting is very bright, which doesn't help the atmosphere. Unfortunately, we both had a stomach bug after we ate here - though not saying it was due to anything that we ate (probably more to do with the large cognacs we drank later in the Yumbo!).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    79
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice resturant”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Food was good, service was poor sadly to say. Staff were attractive on the eye and polite but more interested in smoking outside that service customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apnrboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“one of the best… possibly even the best”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's sure that Gran Canaria is not Barcelona or even San Sebastian, so the renewal of the spanish cuisine is not easy to find here like on the iberian coast. Nevertheless, among all the very traditional places, you'll find this one quite astonishing… A modern interior with no further "woaw" effect" but nice place to stay, and a funny service that makes you feel, when you got the right one to serve you, you are in the middle of "Priscilla Queen of the desert". The nicest part of this restaurant is ,for sure, the menu… They serve a kind of fusion which is really interesting. As they do it with generosity, because having starter, one main and one dessert means you must bring serious hunger along with you. As for my very first visit, I had a beef carpaccio as a starter, I was a bit astonished about the fact it was more a kind of slightly roasted beef I got. But it was so deliciously prepared, that I could only have compliments afterwards for the tuna I wanted almost rear and I got it almost as such. The smushed potatoes were excellent, the vegetables also and the dessert divine. The reason I went back and I had the same nice experience. Very nice bottled wine or by the glass at quite low prices…. and a digestive offered. Would be the first place I go back if i went back to Playa del Ingles. Compliments to all the stuff and thank you for their gentle service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClocloLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Ratings”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We ate their with friends in November who raved about it! Totally disappointed the portions were small and the prices not worth what we were served.Chewy meat,rough starters that could have been bought in the ready meal counter at any supermarket.The larger than life owner cannot resurrect the menu solely with his personality!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkSunWorshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent food (beefs) and service. Nice atmosphere. Reasonable prices. We can highly recommend! We had there a lovely birthday dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Jaan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mundo also viewed

 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing