We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Placida de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Placida de Mar
Ranked #114 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Travelled and stayed here in January 2013. I looked at the comments about the doors. Our doors did close, with a little effort, but we didn't experience any issues with crime. They're not quite as close to the Yumbo as they say, but only a 10 minute walk.

The bungalows themselves, were great, as was the manager looking after the complex. With only 5 bungalows, it's like a little private resort, with a pool, comfy loungers and lovely balconies to sit out on.

I'd recommend these.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NH72_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed here end of October 2012. I'll start with the positives. Its in a good location beside Cita centre, you can get the bus from the airport which drops you off at the top of the street for 3 euro, so very handy to get to. It's also quite close to the beach, the apartments themselves are modern and the pool is deep throughout. The manager/cleaner Etienne is also very pleasant and cleans the apartments daily with new towels every 2 days. However there are some fundamental negatives with this resort.

1. The patio doors on most of the apartments don't lock, so they have a grill that you can close and leave the actual sliding door open. On my 2nd night my apartment and my neighbours apartment both had items stolen by thieves hooking bags and items of clothing through the grill with a large pole shaft while we slept!! The surrounding fence is easy for thieves to get into and we felt unsave the rest of the time we were there. The manager called the police the following day but refused to accept any responsibility with the broken patio door locks and the easy to climb over fence. There are security cameras but surprise surprise they don't work.

2. The pump/filter for the pool comes on at 9am in the morning and goes off at 5pm. It sounds like a helicopter taking off and landing. It would be a nice relaxing pool area if this pump issue was resolved. As it is there is a constant drone which you can hear from the next street.

3. There is a coke machine in the complex - it is also broken.

4. The doors/grills to the apartments and also the balcony grills make it feel prison like.

5. Only 9 apartments, it's quite quiet and mostly couples. It is suggested as a men only resort. While we were there there were at least 2 other women staying as well.

6. Wifi is patchy and keeps cutting out every few minutes on all my devices. My neighbours experienced the same.

6. I wouldn't stay here again, it's round the corner from Los Almendros and in future will go there even if it costs a little more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception - the ones closer to the entrance are more prone to be broken in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drd576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just returned from a week in GC staying at Placida Mar ! The location is great within walking distance of the beach, Yumbo and Supermarket. Phil and Atienne were great and really helpful and sorted out our transfers. The rooms were cleaned 5 of the 7 days and the apartments are more mordern than other Playa Del Ingles places I have stayed previously. Kitchens were kitted our well and plenty of plates and cutlery, Ikea stuff. The rooms are spacious enough for two persons per apartment

The pool is lovely and the area around it very clean and plenty of loungers. The apartments faced east so you got sunshine all day ! The artificial grass is a brilliant idea as well.

This complex should do well as it's offering something a little bit more modern than previously offered before. We certainly be staying here again.

There is no bar in the complex but this did not matter as we were so close to our apartments anytime I needed a beer I just went to the kitchen !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leetaylor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed in this resort last week, it's very different to most other Gran Canaria resorts in it's modern styling and finish, the resort has a real luxury feel to it. The rooms are modern, spacious and very clean. The location is great, close to both the beach and the shops (Yumbo, Cita etc) I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar_Diamonds_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I am the CEO of Amro Worldwide - a British gay & lesbian travel specialist. I stayed in Placida Mar last weekend to experience what it was like as a new gay resort.

Two things stick in mind

Firstly the external appearance of the resort clad in a grey tile looks much more upmarket than the traditional white washed or coloured render of many resorts. The aluminium balconies and brise soleil to shade from the sun also add to the quality feel of the resort.

Secondly, I loved that the balconies faced due east meaning that even in late November, you could take your breakfast on the terrace in bright sunshine wearing very little !!

The interiors do not disappoint either with modern bathroom fittings and a newly fitted kitchen with microwave, kettle, coffee maker and toaster.

All in all this is a very welcome addition to gay accommodation in Gran Canaria

Room Tip: Ask for No 5 - it has its own access steps rather than shared
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmroHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were due to stay at a complex called Club Mancha Sanctum and on arrival we were unable to gain access to the complex and told that our booking was not valid.
We had booked with Mantrav in the UK and they were unable, and unwilling to help us.
We spent the first night in our car and the next morning were lucky enough to speak to the manager of another complex who directed us here.
We were lucked after amazingly by Jason and the team there, meeting the new owners and directors as well.
It certainly made a welcome change from what we had experienced when we arrived.
The complex is nicely furnished, with all new white goods in the kitchen and new bedding etc.
The location is only a short walk from both the beach and the Yumbo (Trip Advisors Map is wrong)
We are looking forward to staying there akin once their refurb in easter has been completed!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayguy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placida M, Director of Sales at Placida de Mar, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thanks for your kind comments and our first Review since taking over management of Placida Mar on 1st November 2011.

We're proud to have been able to rescue your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to Placida Mar in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at this small development of nine single story apartments in October 2010. The location is excellent, 5 minutes from the Yumbo shopping centre and two minutes from the beech boardwalk. The apartment was very clean with a tidy layout. Small development recently refurbished. Quiet and suitable for the independent traveller. Nice pool and surrounds to relax. Enough beds for everyone. Flexibility on check in and check out time. I have rebooked for December 2010 I enjoyed it so much. Its not the four seasons but great place for the price.
The nearest large supermarket for all essentials is just around the corner and open till 9pm. Restaurant across the road or 5 minute walk to as many as you want.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat4pleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Canario Club
Canario Club
#64 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Palomon
Don Palomon
#47 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Judoca Beach
Apartamentos Judoca Beach
#32 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Taboga
Apartamentos Taboga
#37 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Datasol
Datasol
#55 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casas Pepe
Casas Pepe
#60 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placida de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placida de Mar

Property: Placida de Mar
Address: Calle Lisboa, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Placida de Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placida Mar is a 9 suite complex.Each suite is equipped with modern fittings and decor, with newly refitted bathrooms.There is a large communal pool and separate plunge pool.The complex is under new management - effective 1st November 2011 and now operates as a Gay Men Only property, which is also clothing optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Placida de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placida De Mar Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing