We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel, located within 5 minutes of the spectacular Sand Dunes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great hotel, located within 5 minutes of the spectacular Sand Dunes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A great hotel, with Spanish speaking staff, many of whom were multi-lingual. Food was very tasty and included a varied menu catering for the fussy nature of my entire family. The hotel room was clean and tidy, the reception area provided free Wi-Fi access which pleased my teenage children. I paid for the all inclusive deal and was not disappointed. I would visit this hotel again, and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are very pleased that all the family enjoyed the stay. We thanks also for the time taken to write your comment and we thanks specially for the recommendation. We would be very happy to welcome you and all the family again to the IFA Catarina and wish you nice remainign summer weeks.
With best regards and hasta la vista...

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    719
    299
    89
    48
See reviews for
489
812
83
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having read the reviews on trip advisor, we didn't really know what to expect, however we were pleasantly surprised when getting dropped off at the hotel. The exterior looked lovely and the front staff were helpful and friendly. We were asked if we would like to upgrade our room for just over 5 euros a day for a "sea view" and "better room". We decided to go for it, however we were left wondering what exactly had been upgraded as we could barely see the sea and it was a twin room, not like the double we had asked for. Overall, the standard of the room was good, couldn't really fault it, just left feeling cheated out of our money slightly!

We had already read that all inclusive was 11-11, which we were fine with, and we are used to eating AI buffet food so we found the meals to be quite enjoyable. Good variety, and although some items were left to get cold, the majority was delicious and hot. Poolside snacks and the café were a nice addition, offering all sorts of food. The one thing we were most disappointed with regarding the all inclusive was the lack of choice of drink options. We accept that the drinks will always be local brand, however we were expecting more of a choice. No malibu, for example, just the basic spirits, wine from a jug, beer and cocktail from a machine.

Entertainment-wise, you really couldn't fault it for the children. Activities running throughout the day with an extremely enthusiastic entertainment team speaking what seemed like an endless amount of languages! We weren't particularly looking to get involved in anything (just wanted to relax) but if you have a family, or do like to take part, it is exceptional.

The hotel itself is situated in what we gleaned to be the quiet area of the resort, just a short walk from the amazing sand dunes. However, for restaurants, bars and general nightlife, you are looking at a 10-15 minute walk to "Yumbo", even further to get to "Kasbah". Taxis are super cheap though, so don't let this put you off.

The reason we have only rated this hotel as "average" is because we have stayed in better hotels for a similar amount of money in the past and it just wasn't what we were after out of a perfect holiday. Saying that, we really recommend it for families.

Room Tip: Don't take the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DanielPrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your rating and many thanks for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the IFA Catarina. Thanks for the time taken for the detailed comment and we thanks also for recommending the IFA Catarina.
We hope to welcome you once again and wish you nice summer weeks.
With best regards and hasta pronto...

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

When we first arrived,(family of three with 4 yr old), we were not very impressed with the exterior, plus we were in a very long queue for check in, plus did not help when a hotel guest thought they could just waltz up to the reception and push in front, and to top it the receptionist did not ask the guest to get to the back of the queue they just carried on and served them, how ignorant. On entering our room I found it to be very spacious and immaculate, our room was on first floor with balcony overlooking the pool. When we went down to restaurant for evening meal, on first impressions looked lovely and clean, however, food not the best it was OK. SOME restaurant staff very unpleasant, unhelpful and miserable! As time went on that seemed to be the norm, but must stress it was only SOME staff members.That night we could not sleep due to several reasons 1) beds rock hard, 2) room overlooked pool BUT it was also used for entertainment in evenings- LOUD until 11 pm, 3) air con squeaky and not very cold!!! I didn't want to bother with changing rooms as we thought it would be the same plus we didn't want to end up with room overlooking the road. Next morning looked out over the pool . . . . .. and yes you guessed it . . . . . most of the sunbeds reserved with towels! We finally worked out that the hotel is too big for the amount of sunbeds they have. When we finally found some sunbeds near to the children's pool - as we had a 4 year old who was itching to try out the pool with slide. The beds were very close together, and over the next few days also as we had to also go out early in the morning to reserve some sunbeds near to the pools, you felt like you were on top of each other. Evening was even worse because you couldn't get a table outside where the entertainment was taking place. People were sitting on sunbeds at the rear of the stage. . . not good at all. Totally disappointed with the facilities to this hotel, they need to build more pools to the wasted gardens which were not being used. When you are on holiday you want to sit by a pool, not gardens you may as well stop at home in your own back garden. Final thing, coach to beach. . . . yes its free, but we found that people don't queue, they push in . . . what's that they say about us English and Q's! So when we got on coach we had to stand, but Oh no that's not allowed coach driver told us to get off!! NO STANDING! I went to reception to complain and there was a queue all the way to the doors with people checking in. We therefore got a taxi from outside the RIU Hotel, cost about 3.50 euros. We will not be returning to this hotel. One last thing as I feel that the Entertainment Team were absolutely fab they certainly worked hard, a must see is their Horror Show Fabulous well done to them.

Room Tip: Steak House opposite the Hotel was fantastic. Friendly, food was beautiful. Visit sand dunes (whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and many thanks for taking the time to write your comment. We are sorry we did not match your expectations and you found the hotel fully booked. That is SUMMER and all places have high occupancy. The hotel will have next year its 40 anniversary and we do not think to add a pool having a lot of space arround for sun loungers. Most guest apreciate our lovely subtropical garden with different enviroments were guest enjoy the greenery.
As you can observe the pay per value is good considered by most of our guest an please keep in mind that July and August you will find lots of families with children so we try to adequate our meels as well as our services to this segment.
We hope you will find for your next holidays a place with these facilities and for that value and we wish you nice summer weeks.
With best regards,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the IFA Catarina for one week at the end of July. Cannot really find fault with anything - lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, great rooms which are large and really comfortable (we had a pool view on second floor). Food is really good with so much choice. Drinks service in the reastaurant was very efficient and in fact all the staff in the hotel are very friendly and polite. A few things we especially liked here was the location - literally 2 minutes to the Maspalomas sand dunes and the sea front promenade that runs the length of Playa Del Ingles, we also really liked the garden areas within the hotel grounds as there were lots of sunbeds and you could spread out without getting in anyone elses way. There were lots of trees if you wanted to find some shade. We also really enjoyed the ice cream parlour that is open in the afternoons which has a great choice of ice creams, cakes, slush puppies and frothy coffees etc. A nice place to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
If we could change one thing it would be the arrangements made for guests who have late flights. Although there is a hospitality room where you can leave your luggage and have a shower etc this didn't seem big enough for the amount of guests and was like a 'free for all'. Some of our party had to change in the toilets which was ok but could have been better.
In all a very good holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience and we are very happy you not only enjoyed your stay also that you could relax and "watch the world goes by...
We thanks also for the time taken for your comment and we wish you a nice August.
With best & sunny regards,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

On arrival we were disappointed by the exterior of the Hotel but once in the room we were pleasantly surprised. It was large bright with lovely view over pool. However, both my husband , my son and I were very violently ill by the end of the holiday. It was a disappointing end to what would have been a lovely break. Sadly we would not return for this reason.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are very sorry you have experienced some illness according to your comment.
We do feed hundrends of guest and we have no record of any illnesses of others. Our kitchen dept is monitored continously by the health and sanitation division and we offer all the tiem fresh food. We hope you and your familiy is doing better.
We hope you give us the chance to welcome you again and wish you a nice sommer month.
With best regards,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I returned a week ago from staying at this hotel with my partner, daughter of 17, and my partner's 2 daughters with their boyfirends and one daughter has children of 18 months and 4 years. We had hoped to all be near each other but unfortunately our room was totally at the other end of the hotel. Be aware that this hotel is very narrow but extremely long so if you get a room at the end of the hotel it is a long walk back! The room was clean and tidy but there is a distinct lack of plugs to charge appliances, We had to use the one where the lamp was plugged in for my daughter's phone, and you need to make sure that the wall switch is down (over by the beds on other side of room) to make it charge. My partner and I shared the one in the bathroom, as nothing else available. The big downside for me was the beds, they are soooo hard, I resorted to taking a sun bed mattress up to the room (to put on the bed) to try and sleep on that but then it is too hot. Also our room was facing the road, so not a nice view. If you get a room overlooking the pool, gardens or right at the other end of the hotel where you can see the beach then you are lucky.

When I switched on the air con it squeeked very loudly but I reported it to reception and it was soon rectified. The pool is not very big but there are 2 plus a tiny little one for the kiddies with a slide. The 2 jaccuzzis are very nice too. We didn't have a problem getting a sunbed, seems to be fine to reserve them with a towel but there are loads of them so not a problem. Also nice shaded areas to sit in the gardens as well. The entertainment team are full of enthusiasim and Francois especially has a fabulous range of languages. The evening entertainment is a little child like, so don't expect a full on cabaret! The beach is a bit of a walk in the hot sun but there is a shuttle bus, although the last one returns from the beach at 4.45 which is a bit early so be prepared to walk, There are a couple of supermarkets very close and some shops in the CITA Centre, although this area is a bit run down and many of the restaurants are closed for some reason.

All in all, a good holiday. The food at the hotel is nice enough, something for everyone although like many all inclusives it can get a bit boring. My partner found that filling a jug with coffee in the morning it never kept hot enough, could do with being hotter to start and have lids on the jugs. Most of the staff are very nice although there was one barman who could be rude. All inclusive is only 11 to 11, which we did not know so drinkies in the evening do finish a bit early. You can pay after 11 but this should be made plainer to all inclusive customers. You can pay for Wi-fi and have up to several devices on the one price but it is a bit hit and miss and very slow. Wi-fi is only free in the area by the indoor bar and reception. You will have to pay for a key to the safe, this is not included in your holiday price. One final point, not a hotel for anyone with disabilities, if you are in a room where we were, you either have to drag your cases along by the pool and up a slope to some lifts, or to go via reception there are some awful stairs to go up and then down with your cases before you get to the second set of lifts!

Room Tip: Ask for beach end or overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn196310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Many thanks for your review and thanks for the time taken for your detailed comment and we are sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. Regarding services and schedules it is very important you read the information available of the agency as well as the hotel to avoid misunderstandings.
We do hope to welcome you in the coming season to show you how better we can do.
We wish you a nice summerly August and remain,
with best regards,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked a last minute all inclusive holiday here this month and weren't disappointed. The room was lovely and our balcony over looked the pool. The only downside was that we were on the 1st floor and it was abit more noisier than if we had been on a higher floor, although the entertainment finishes at 11pm so wasn't too much of a problem. The staff were all brilliant and couldn't do enough for you and the pool and facilities were lovely but the sun didn't get round to poolside til half 10/11ish. Was a 25 minute walk to the main playa del ingles beach and yum no shopping centre but right next door to the sand dunes. The food was of good variety and all very tasty,does get abit samey as it's buffet but all perfectly edible. Would definately stay here again, lovely place and staff! The entertainment team were running round all day with the children staying there so would be a great hotel for families with energetic kids!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are very glad you had enjoyed your stay at the IFA Catarina and we thanks for sharing your experience as well as we thanks for recommending the hotel specially for families with energetic kids... :-)! Indeed we have a great children's programm and Pachi, our mascot, takes care of chilcren starting 4 years.
We would be happy to welcome you soon again and wish you a nice summer time at home.
With "sunny" regards and hasta pronto...

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.4 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles
IFA Catarina Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing