We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Montemar
Ranked #80 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed as a couple at the Montemar Apartments from 17th - 24th November 2011. Completely baffled by the previous comment where it states that they stayed on the 4th floor. There isn't a 4th Floor?? There are 3 floors and we requested a high floor, which was amazing to be able to enjoy the fabulous sea view. This is a basic apartment but very clean. For a 2* plus it was excellent. There is road noise, but you get used to it and it's a step away from the promenade. We like to do our own thing and come and go as we please. When we stayed at the poolside the barman was very friendly. The rep we had from Thomas Cook was excellent and was there most days. On the downside the towels are quite poor, but for a 2* plus it was a lot better than we expected.

It is less than 5 minutes away from the Kasba Commercial Centre, but our favourite place was the Tropical Commercial Centre which was minutes away to the left with a great restaurant with a steak dinner for 9 Euros and entertainment.

Would definitely stay again if we were on a budget holiday.

Room Tip: Great budget accommodation with a fabulous view. Ideal to enjoy a great promenade walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggiepGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

just had 2 weeks at montemar apartments it is set on a very busy noisy road,thay have a pool bar it plays music from the morrning to 5pm it gets very annoying we weir on the 4th floor with the windows shut and the noise is so annoying their is no lift at this apartments so do be prepared to drag your heavy suit case up the stairs,i had to sleep in the back room away from the noisy road,we also found that if u put a plug in the bath or the sink ither the kitchen or the bathroom flood bathroom stinks on the last day of leaving found that the food cuboard was full cockaroches thank god we weir leaving that day. the cleaner was fantastic and did a brill job but i think thats about it would i stay their again NO

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We enjoyed our time at the Montemar appts and stayed there from the 14th-21st November.The appts are well situated.They are near to the beach and are a walkable distance to other areas you may wish to visit in Playa del Ingles.The appts are basic but spacious,clean and have all the amenities you may need.The kitchen is supplied with toaster,coffee maker and cooker hob.There is a nice size balcony with table and chairs and clothes dryer device.All appts overlook the pool.The pool is not heated and it takes a brave person to jump in.Most people did it slowly.The pool area is nice with plenty of sunloungers.There is a small bar which serves alcohol,soft drinks and basic snacks to eat.Costs no more than in the UK.Staff are friendly and help make the Montemar a good place to stay.The weather was great too, in the 80's -90's all week

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blonderosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

we stayed for one week at Montemar - 7th to 14th Nov 2011 - basically we got what we paid for, which was not a lot. Dont get us wrong, the people were great, building OK, pool clean etc etc, but what we just couldnt get over was the abominable stench coming out of our sink - literally made us bork at times - not what you need when you are trying to clean your teeth. Judging by other reviews on here, it doesnt affect every room (we were in no. 7 - beware). Also - the area round the pool is pretty small - more flower beds than room for sunbeds and one side hardly got any sun - something to consider if you arent going to venture far - thankfully, the beach was only 5 minutes away. Sorry Montemar, hope you can get your drains fixed and thanks we did enjoy our time in Gran Can.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here as a party of 4 girls. Read alot of bad reviews but thankfully didnt listen to them! Very suprised when we arrived. Lovely clean, spacious and bright block of apartments with great facilities! The supermarket was great value. Cheaper than a few others we were in. Apartments were in a great location for walkin at night. Basic but clean and spacious, balcony was lovely.. Only downfall was, its a bit noisy at night especially if your wanting a few early nights! Overall, great holiday! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mimi201188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I went to this hotel with my friend, the location is brilliant, within a few minutes walk to the nearest supermarket and just a stroll away from the beach. The nearests bars are in the irish centre just down the road and everybody around there are really friendly without being too pushy, the hotel rooms themselves are roomy, we were in a 1 bed apartment that could easily of held 3 of us. The staff cant do enough for you and there is always somebody about no matter what time of day or night. The pool bar served food all day and there were plenty of sunbeds with umbrellas readily available. I'll be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaizz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

To start yes I do agree with the noise it is noisy. Staff r really friendly can't do anymore for u. Cleanliness is to notch maids everyday apart from Sunday she is lovely Maria. Pool bar serves icecreams, snacks and drinks heard breakfast there is not very good but it's not a reasturant. Pools r good all apartments are up stairs yes there is no lift but staff help you
Up with luggage. There is a pool table, football table, ping pong, air hockey and Internet all for 1 euro each not bad at all supermarket is just next corner and beach is a stone throw away but don't be cond by the African people there they grab u n put stupid bracelets on you then con money be very care ful . To get to the beach there is a million steps to climb but if u walk further round you will find a lift use this especially on way up with small children. I feel this resort is more for young people not family's good night life but wasn't too bad with the kids the drag bars are a mist we went to sparkles with a 8 yr old and a 4 yr old they loved it had to cover the 4th old eyes a few times but they enjoyed . Overall we had a good break away would return here

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.4 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#32 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tagoror Beach Apartments
Tagoror Beach Apartments
#129 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#65 of 217 in Maspalomas
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#46 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#62 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos El Palmar
Apartamentos El Palmar
#50 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Montemar

Address: San Cristobal de la Laguna, 3, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £36 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Montemar 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montemar Apartments are 5 minutes away from Playa del Inglés, in Gran Canaria. Facilities in the common areas include adults and child pool, solarium, tennis court, table tennis, minimarket and pool bar. The apartments are basic but comfortable, including an equipped kitchen and spacious living area. All the apartments have a great balcony with sea or pool view. Public transport to all destinations can be found witihin 100 meters from the apartments, and the sea promenade is only 20 meters away. Commercial and leisure centers are in a 5 minutes walk distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Montemar Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing