We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting hotel with racist staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Montemar
Ranked #95 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting hotel with racist staff!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have just returned from playa del ingles and I have to say that this hotel is disgusting. No lift NO POOL NO BAR NO FOOD! Staff were awful and rude ~ disliked english visitors. Moved after 4 days by Thomas Cook ~ due to complaint. Rusted sink and sewer smell in room constantly. No 24hr reception. All new arrivals to the hotel are instantly being transferred to the Corona Blanca which is an amazing hotel. Will never advise anyone to stay at this hotel and it should be shut down!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia8843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    26
    11
    17
See reviews for
34
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am very disappointed with this hotel the rooms had damp in them which made me poorly, I asked for another room but nothing available . not good if your asthmatic. it is a friendly place but I think the rooms let it down greatly.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you've got a bad chest because of the damp issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having booked our holiday we then read the reviews - I was a bit wary. However on arrival met by a friendly receptionist. We had a high room. The view was the best we have ever had. Could see the sea and also the sand dunes. We had a two bedroomed apartment, large balcony. Kitchen utensils - toaster, kettle etc. The room was cleaned five days out of the 7 that we were there. Friendly cleaner. Only downside for some might be the many steps to climb but this wasn't a problem for us. Also a lot of traffic early morning but not a problem for us. Only a two minute walk to the sea front. A lot of steps to climb down to the beach but well worth it. Not far from the Yumbo and Kasbah centre. Will definitely be back if not this year it will be next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - better view of the sea and sand dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

As promised Chris and Chris returned yet again to the Montemar for Christmas and New Year 2013/14.Once again the service was 100%.Many thanks to Diego/Miguel on reception and to Pedro and Yanelda (crazy in a good way) and to Maria and Mary the cleaners and to all the staff.We have visited the montemar so many times we are almost family.We were in room 40 as requested and as usual our balcony was colourful and festive.Yanelda and Pedro allowed us to decorate the pool bar and between Christmas and New Year,Diego allowed us to have a party on the Saturday night.Although the weather tried to spoil it along with a few Whinger/Moaners,it went ahead and everyone there including couples from Iceland and Denmark and Norway and our Canarian family had a great night.Thankyou all.The montemar is not 5 stars and does not pretend to be and if you respect the staff they will help in any way.We were so upset to leave once we got home we thought Sod it and booked a surprise visit in February 2014.Like the Terminator says. WE'LL BE BACK.Once again,Thankyou to all at the Montemar. SEE YOU IN APRIL. xxxxxx CHRIS and. CHRIS.

Room Tip: Room 42 is very good or any on top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I visited these apartments from the 7-14 December 2013.
Its in a fairly central location about a 3 minute flat stroll from the Kasbah centre with its shops, restaurants and bars / clubs.
There is a Santander cash machine about 1 minutes walk away.
The promenade is a minutes walk away but the annoying African women are on the corner and do hassle you a fair bit.
The apartment was a 2 bedroomed twin room with a living area, kitchenette, bathroom and large balcony.
I was on the second floor and you could see the sea from it which was lovely.
The place was clean but it did smell of drains in the bathroom. I just bought a bottle of bleach and gave it a clean down the plugholes and waste.
The cleaner was there every day - she was early ... too early for me.
There was a lot of noise when the cleaners were on duty - it felt like they were trying to wake the building up.
The street outside was narrow and you would expect it to be quiet but it was the opposite with lots of buses and speeding cars. The bin men came about 5AM and were VERY noisy.
The kitchen area had one socket which was high on the wall and that is where the kettle was plugged into - that was dangerous.
There was a coffee machine, 4 ring glass hob, fridge and associated pots, cutlery, crockery and glasses- all of them were clean.
The living area had a couch, 2 chairs and a 19 inch LCD TV.
The balcony had a table and four chairs.
The pool area is lovely as is the kids play area and cacti garden.
There is a washing machine on the ground floor and 24 hour reception.
The onsite shop was well priced for your basics.
Would I stay there again ? Yes - if the road was quieter and if the cleaners made a bit less noise.

Room Tip: Probably the higher floors would be better for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_Harkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for the beach, pubs and restaurants. Our room was a 2 bedroom S/C apartment situated on the top floor in the 1st block. Although on the large size this room was very "dated" and could do with a splash of colour to brighten it up. It had a very big balcony which caught the sun first thing until late on. This hotel is situated on the main one way route through PLD and what with it leading to the bus station we had constant noise from dusk till dawn of heavy noisy traffic. My opinion was maybe with the room being high the noise was amplified. Not GOOD.! The maid service wasnt that good either, it was a good thing we had 4 beds to choose from because in 10 days we only had 1 linen change. A good point for this place was the pool bar. The staff running this bar were quality and any requests either for drinks, food or music was carried out enthusiastically. Would I book this place again. NO! Get your rooms sorted. Ah! and it would be good to get a few English channels for your English visitors for those lazy days/nights in.

Room Tip: Our high floor room was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geepSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for two weeks from 11th November. We had a two bed apartment for four of us. The bedrooms were a good size as was the lounge. The kitchen could have done with a microwave though I understand you can hire one. The cleaners were in 5 days out of seven and were very thorough. Maintenance was excellent. The water heater failed and we had a brand new one fitted within one and a half hours. The pool was cleaned every night. There is a childs pool. There were plenty of sunbeds. There is a shop on the complex though it is a little expensive. However there is a supermarket only a couple of minutes away. There is a café/bar on site and a car park under the apartments.
The complex is close to the beach and several good restaurants and within 10 minutes walk of three shopping centres with more restaurants. It is about 15/20 minutes from the Yumbo centre.
There is a main road in front of the complex which can be a little noisy but not throughout the night.
We have been to Gran Canaria several times but this was our first visit to the Montemar and it was a good choice. We have all decided we will return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction. Some have a slightly better view of the sea between the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#71 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#126 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guinea Apartments
Guinea Apartments
#63 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#47 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#128 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Montemar

Property: Apartamentos Montemar
Address: San Cristobal de la Laguna, 3, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Montemar 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montemar Apartments are 5 minutes away from Playa del Inglés, in Gran Canaria. Facilities in the common areas include adults and child pool, solarium, tennis court, table tennis, minimarket and pool bar. The apartments are basic but comfortable, including an equipped kitchen and spacious living area. All the apartments have a great balcony with sea or pool view. Public transport to all destinations can be found witihin 100 meters from the apartments, and the sea promenade is only 20 meters away. Commercial and leisure centers are in a 5 minutes walk distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Montemar Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing