We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Montemar
Ranked #95 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we have read many review about the Montemar and was very worried about what we would find, but can say i had nothing to worry about .. work was being done at the time of our stay and the bar n shop was closed , but this did not spoil our holiday,the staff were A star, couldnt do enough to help and all were very friendly.quiet location .. near to the beach n attractions .. will be going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    26
    11
    17
See reviews for
34
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for a week at the beginning of July. These apartments were chosen on a very last minute basis. They were ok. Nothing amazed us but the staff were polite enough and the location was great. The apartments were basically on the beach, and close by to shopping centres and bars/restaurant. Taxis cost no more than €4 from all local areas... great prices. The rooms were basic, but everything needed for a week was there. They offer many other appliances eg. Microwave, ironing board, cooking hob etc at a cost. The shop at the apartments as well as the bar at the pool were both closed during our holiday, which was a bit of a disappointment as you are not allowed to take your own food to the pool. These apartments were ok for a weeks stay, and catered to our needs. They would be ideal for large or small groups of friends. However not great for families and couples.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this Apartment block for one week, it was acceptable for a couple, but would not take kids, and a bit anti- british, the Hotel accross was noisy and scruffy to look at, it was like some Russian Housing estate!!!

I Would LIKE TO POINT OUT THAT THE PLAYA DEL INGLES RESORT AND THOMAS COOK HEAVILY PROMOTE THE KASBAH NIGHTSPOT NEARBY, DO NOT GO, MY WIFE'S DRINK WAS SPIKED BY BAR STAFF/ STREET VENDORS TRYING TO GET YOU IN THEN AT LEAST RIPPING YOU OFF WITH PRICES, AND OTHER THINGS IF THEY GET THE CHANCE, MY ADVICE GO TO THE BARS AND GO TO THE BAR YOURSELF TO ORDER, DO NOT ALLOW WAITING SERVICE, ESPECIALLY THE YOUNG VULNERABLE AND DRUNK!, Stay away from Hawai bar and Flannagans in the resot and be careful young people going there, on a lighter note this resort is 100% German orientated, it is like a Benidorm for Germans, not for the Brits!!!, that is not a problem, but if you expect typical Spain this is not the place, by the way nothing against the Germans and well done winning the World Cup!

Room Tip: Only good if you are German, 18 on your first holiday, and be careful at the Bars, make sure you kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked for the gran canaria pride week, we wanted cheap and near to the bars. It was 3euro in a taxi or 20min walk to Yumbo centre.

We arrived 9pm and the receptionist took our passports and gave us a key. not much english spoken by him at all. Got to room and it was tidy, it wasnt the cleanest.All apartments were up at least 20 steps (our friend was on crutches but managed - there is no wheelchair access to anything ( not even reception pool or shop.)

The maid came for 4 days out of the 7. It was a lucky dip as to what day she came or what she would actually do during this 'cleaning' time. All we knew is she was very noisy and would arrive at 9.30am crashing about whilst we slept. She washed our dishes and mopped the floor with a extremely dirty mop. we had to go to reception to get clean towels twice.

The pool area was clean and tidy, there was a shop open however it was like a hut with chairs, it served food however we only ate there once. it wasnt the greatest and english was certianly not spoken by the family that ran this ( who also ran the shop - i had to wait whilst the daughter took a selfie photo of her and her boyfriend before they served me!!). The pool was very quiet until the weekend when a lot of spanish people arrived for a day or two. There was a wall which split the car park and the pool area however there were gaps so if you had kids they could easily wander onto the car park.

We were self catering, we had an electric hob with pans available and cutlery/ cups and plates. If we wanted a kettle it would have been 10euro to hire, or microwave 20euro for the week,

We made use of our days on the beach or at our friends nearby hotel. I certainly wouldnt pick this hotel to go to again, but at the time of booking we just wanted cheap and cheerful.. we got cheapish but not very cheerful!

Room Tip: all rooms are up off the ground all facing the pool. non are wheelchair friendly and there are a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel where we were totally disappointed with our experience. We arrived late evening so didn't look too closely at the complex until the next morning. Firstly the pool was out of commision as it had been drained before our arrival for repair work to be carried out. there was a very small sign to say that it would be out of use from the 5th when we arrived.when we asked we were told it would only be for one day but was like that the whole week.
we were put on the top floor which entailed six flights of stairs as there are no lifts. The hotel itself is very dated with electric sockets hanging off the wall. There was only two plugs in the kitchen area so had to keep switching the kettle and toaster over as one was really high up on the wall to make it dangerous. The advertised WiFi did not work . The room looked onto the main road which made it impossible to sleep without ear plugs due to being on the bus route with buses passing constantly even into the early hours. it just seemed to be the locals living in the whole block and we only saw one other set of guests the whole time who were moved after a few days to the Corona Blanca. The room was cleaned four days out of the seven we were there. The towels left a lot to be desired they were very worn an stained so we used our own.The only plus side was that it was in a good location for the beach. As this holiday was booked only two days before arrival I felt they should have stated the pool was going to be out of use as they were relining the whole thing so must have known it would be unusable for at least the week . Definitely would not return to this hotel or recommend it to anybody else

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have just returned from playa del ingles and I have to say that this hotel is disgusting. No lift NO POOL NO BAR NO FOOD! Staff were awful and rude ~ disliked english visitors. Moved after 4 days by Thomas Cook ~ due to complaint. Rusted sink and sewer smell in room constantly. No 24hr reception. All new arrivals to the hotel are instantly being transferred to the Corona Blanca which is an amazing hotel. Will never advise anyone to stay at this hotel and it should be shut down!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia8843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am very disappointed with this hotel the rooms had damp in them which made me poorly, I asked for another room but nothing available . not good if your asthmatic. it is a friendly place but I think the rooms let it down greatly.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you've got a bad chest because of the damp issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#71 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#126 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guinea Apartments
Guinea Apartments
#63 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#47 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#128 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Montemar

Property: Apartamentos Montemar
Address: San Cristobal de la Laguna, 3, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Montemar 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montemar Apartments are 5 minutes away from Playa del Inglés, in Gran Canaria. Facilities in the common areas include adults and child pool, solarium, tennis court, table tennis, minimarket and pool bar. The apartments are basic but comfortable, including an equipped kitchen and spacious living area. All the apartments have a great balcony with sea or pool view. Public transport to all destinations can be found witihin 100 meters from the apartments, and the sea promenade is only 20 meters away. Commercial and leisure centers are in a 5 minutes walk distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Montemar Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing