We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meals at Silos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silos - CLOSED

Silos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful meals at Silos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We return to Silos everytime we go to Gran Canaria. The food is exceptional and the owners Marjan and Angel are very hospitable. The waiter also is very friendly and takes the time to talk to you. The restaurant has an outside seating area but we chose to sit inside as we felt it was just slightly too cool to sit outside (in April.) The menu was varied with plenty of choice, all of the food is cooked to order, you have a choice of fresh vegetables or salad and a choice of chips, rice or canary potatoes with the main meals. Can highly recommend the Fillet Steak and the chicken with mushroom sauce. The steak was cooked perfectly. When we had room for dessert we tried the Tiramasu and also the Profiteroles which were cooked freshly and came with a jug of hot chocolate sauce. We feel that Silos is good value for money, has a lovely friendly welcoming atmosphere, and a lot of the people dining in the restaurant were there most evenings. We are already looking forward to our next holiday in Gran Canaria and eating at Silos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
298 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Another good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Back again to Silos and another good meal. We were met at the entrance to the interior dining area by a waiter whose manner was so grumpy that at first we thought he was not allowing us in! Inside we met the proprietress, who was as lovely and welcoming as ever. From then on the waiter was a changed man and perfectly pleasant.
Starters were fine - my partner had the tomato soup on my recommendation. For mains I had pork medallions, he odered sirloin steak. Both of us very pleased. A complimentary digestif rounded off a lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinW_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farsund, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The only reason to visit this restaurant is the food and the friendly staff. Interiour and location is nothing to write home about. The food and the service on the other hand is excellent. The 4 of us had different dishes, and they were all very good. Price is a little above average, but not expencive in any way.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Dated menu. Nice enough food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

We're a couple in our thirties and soon realised that we probably weren't this restaurant's target customers as everyone else eating that evening looked in their fifties or older. This was confirmed when looking at the menu as most of the meals are classics from the 1960/1970s such as Onion Soup or Prawn & Avocado starters.

The food however couldn't be faulted, the modern artworks were attractive and our waitress was interested and chatty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Lovely atmosphere, terrific service and excellent food at a reasonable price. Our third visit and always lives up to our expectations. Book a table here with confidence of a brilliant evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silos also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing