We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night but went to far with one act”
Review of Sparkles Showbar

Sparkles Showbar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you have never been to Sparkles Showbar, let us tell you what to expect when you do visit:•We are open 7 nights a week,doors open from 8pm til late•We have discounted prices on all single cocktails, jugs of cocktails and 2 bottles of beer from 8pm till 10.30pm.•Karaoke begins at 9pm until showtime and then resumes after showtime. The main show 7 nights a week is Sparkles Own Drag Comedy Variety Show with Andi Martine,Dinah Might,Daniella Mantrapp,Ginger Rodgers,Miss DQ & the Showman Michael Marouli.•Tuesdays and Saturdays we have the fabulous Sensations Show,an award winning Canarian dance troupe with amazing costumes and routines followed by Sparkles Show.
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant atmosphere here and good crowd interaction, really enjoyed ourselves. The only negative I have is that one act thought it would be funny to attack several female's hair with tons of hairspray and really mess it up, that act made every female who cares about their appearance totally uncomfortable, it happened to one of our party and her night ended by leaving us and having to go back to the hotel to wash her hair several times, it ruined her night as the rest of the group carried on the other bars after the show. The act just didn't seem to care that men/women take their time before they go out n get their hair nice and really don't appreciate a ton of hairspray being forced on them and their hair spiked on end. On a positive note totally enjoyed every other act totally entertaining well done, none of the others do anything that will ruin your night.The venue can get smokey inside with all the snokers so if the bothers you the seats on the outside get a really good view also

Thank dalette74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklesShow, Owner at Sparkles Showbar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for your great review,.The hairspray number is still in the show but nobody gets sprayed now so hope to see you next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

982 - 986 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our group is back again this year for more after plenty of sparkle in October. This bar is one of the reasons for my return trip to gran canaria.

Well priced drinks with the jugs if cocktail. Amazing value considering the show is free, been two nights so far and the shows have been great, different each night, new and some classic favourites (we were hoping Danielle and Michael would do we both reached for the gun).

I love the audience interaction, Andi Martine is the funniest gal I have ever seen with his amazing humour, we left with cheek ache from laughing so much. He included some jokes about his reviews on here which made me curious to have a nose. I have to say, I don't know where some of you reviewers are going or what you expect because this bar is amazing! It's the best showbar I've been to... Anywhere! Judging by other groups we got chatting to, they too return most nights of their holiday so they're doing a lot right!

The venue is clean, well presented, the staff are very welcoming, the acts are incredibly talented, the shows are amazing and the facilities are excellent! As for the jokes and interaction, we know where we are going and you shouldn't take things personally, loosen people and enjoy yourself... Better to be laughed with than laughed at!

Thanks again sparkles for some great nights out so far and bring on freaky Friday so we can dress up!

Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklesShow, Owner at Sparkles Showbar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for your great review,hope to see you next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Been coming to Sparkles for years and all we can say is each time it gets better and better. We have watched the team grow from strength to strength and the show is always fresh and funny. If you have a introverted personality be warned these hosts have tongues of acid, but that is always part of a drag show and excellently delivered. The terrace staff are amazingly attentive and give 200% in customer care.
We miss Tammy Pax, RIP, but it is fitting to see a life size photo of her by the main entrance, "guiding his light and watching over the team". Ginger is a great asset to the crew and one to watch as she grows.
We always say "we are going to go to X, Y and Z tonight and always seem to find ourselves perched back at Sparkles.

Thank Cmccarthy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklesShow, Owner at Sparkles Showbar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for your great review,hope to see you next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

great entertainment funny shows which are different every night lovely staff you should go and see them

Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklesShow, Owner at Sparkles Showbar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for your great review,hope to see you next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Sparkles in my opinion has t be the best bar in the yumbo wit friendly staff, great shows. Laugh from goin in to goin home. 2nd time we've been t the island in 9mnth n weve spent every night in there. Expect abit of banter and jokes sometimes aimed at 'you' but then u shudnt exept anything differnt from a dragbar.. LOVE it. Deffo be back nxt year.. keept up the good work x

Thank chris1988orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklesShow, Owner at Sparkles Showbar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you for your great review,hope to see you next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sparkles Showbar also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Sparkles Showbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing