We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place, good value”
Review of Walkirias Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walkirias Resort
Ranked #58 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, good value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for Maspalomas Pride 2014.

Greeted by pleasant young man at reception who checked us in quickly and efficiently - room on the top floor as I had requested. Excellent.

The rooms are nice and very 'liveable' - one bed room with two single beds and a large wardrobe for clothes etc. The bathroom is a decent size with a shower - nothing special but always hot water instantly every time you needed a shower which is something that cannot be said for every hotel in Playa Del Ingles! - hairdryer in the bathroom too - about as strong as asking your friend to blow in your hair but at least its there.

The rest of the room is made up of the Kitchen and lounge area combined - a good size with a little sofa bed that was reasonably comfortable to sleep on. Microwave, hob and coffee machine all available to self cater. Lovely balcony area looking out onto the pool.

The pool area is lovely - at first it looks quite small but its actually a decent size with two smaller 'jacuzzi' style pools and then one larger pool. Temperature controlled too so they aren't ice cold. Also by the pool is the bar - manned by a really pleasant guy who serves your usual bar food at decent prices and 2 Kopperbergs for 6 euro. Not bad.

The hotel offers free WiFi in reception which is actually quite good and then wifi for the week at (if memory serves) 26 euros for 2 devices - its passable but as with all the hotels in the area the WiFi speed and reliability is really behind the times.

Bad points -

Noise - you are next to the Yumbo so its going to be noisy. At Pride is VERY noisy. This is just how its going to be, to be honest the rooms are set away from the Yumbo so with the balcony and bedroom door closed its hardly noticeable however for light sleepers you might struggle.

Pillows - the pillows in the rooms are shockingly bad - beds themselves are comfortable but the pillows need renewing.

Pool Party / DJ - on two days we were unable to sunbathe as the sun loungers were cleared away for two pool parties aimed at the deaf community. They didn't start until 5pm but the loungers were removed for the whole day. Disappointing. Also I was there for 9 days and heard the same CD played by the 'DJ' - if i hear 'I Don't Want A Lover' by Texas one more time i'll go insane. It's not hard to mix it up a bit. Hell I could of done a better job with my iPhone plugged into the system.

Overall though, this is a lovely little place to stay with good rooms, nice pool are and pleasant staff all round. I'd have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMooMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    88
    38
    13
    22
See reviews for
32
111
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here from 10th to 17th April 2014 and overall had a good experience. Our room 411 on 4th floor had great sea views and was basic but very clean and well equipped. Maid service was everyday but Sunday and sheets and towels were changed twice in a week.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, however, we were slightly disappointed by the pool bar as it was a bit pricey although the staff were again very friendly.
The resort as a whole was quieter than we expected but at least there was no "early morning sun bed scrum"!!!
The close proximity to the Yumbo Centre was both convenient but also noisy in the early hours, however, to be fair we got used to this after the first night.
Pride Week takes place in early May and apparently the centre becomes very busy at this time.
The only down point really was the arrival of a number of very noisy Spanish youngsters in the room next to us, on our last day.
We may have felt differently about our holiday had they arrived earlier during our stay. All in all though we had a great time and the apartments are in a good position to explore this enormous resort on foot.
There is pretty much something for everyone.
Not sure that we would return to this particular accommodation as the Yumbo Centre is not really our thing but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great holiday here my husband and I. The apartment was on the third floor with good views of the pools, trees and sea. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Asked for two more pillows and they were delivered to our room within minutes by yet another smiley member if staff. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well maintained. We loved the Yumbo Centre, with it's numerous shops and entertainment. Loved it here and would certainly go back. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay. Lovely sitting out on the large balcony too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Good, clean and with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money and location, just next to Yumbo.

There has been some construction in front, I do not think it is a fault of the hotel in any way, but it was quite noisy early in the morning.

Cleaning was not daily and the change of the sheets was only 2 times a weeks as well as the towels. Wifi connection was very weak.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we hadn't booked any accom for our last 6 days of our holiday ,we were finding it difficult to find anywhere and came across these apartments ,we had a quick look round and initially thought yes they were fine !They had one apart left at 50 euros a night which was within our price range . first of all the man on reception was quite rude and really could not be bothered with us everything we asked him i e could we have key for the safe room ...just seemed like it was way to much effort for him...anyway we didn't bother ,when we were finally checked in and got in the room everything was purple curtains sofa bed spread lighting it was awful (purple is not my colour I thought I was at a wake)
,there was only one plug socket in the whole of the kitchen area ,couldn't make a piece of toast whilst boiling kettle it was impossible ,the kitchen was a good size it was a shame that we weren't able to use it properly ,we did have to ask for a bread board and pan and as id already been in playa del ingles for a month I had accumulated a few bits and bats i e sharp knife egg cups etc the lounge area was a good size with a large sofa (purple) flat screen tv with 4 English channels ,nice big balcony ,bathroom shower was dated and could of done with a good scrub on the plus side there was plenty of hot water. the bedroom had a double bed which would of been really comfy but for the fact that the sheets that they had put on it were single and our legs kept getting twisted in the sheets ,the noise was really loud at night from the yumbo and from traffic so we really didn't have one decent nights sleep ! these apartments could be lovely with a bit of tlc .wont be staying near the yumbo again and defo not in these apartments .our room was cleaned once the whole time we were there and the bins and bed made once .also after they had been cleaned there were still hairs in the sink and sand on the floor the towels were changed twice. also you have to pay 20euros for the safe which is in the lobby of the hotel this is not really good enough. we weren't allowed to keep our room on and our flight was late in the evening and there is NO courtesy room for us to freshen up soooooooooooooo annoying I have stayed in many budget accom in playa del ingles and I know there not perfect but you can get better than these .if you don't mind noise and scruffy sheets then stay here the location it great for the yumbo .I didn't find the staff here very friendly at all and defo wont be staying here again but for all you party people it would be perfect. we stayed form 5th jan till 11th.i really think grancanarian hotels need to come into the 21st century and modernize there apatments .really tried keep it factual on these apart and fair.

Room Tip: get a room on 3rd floor they are lovely and owned by a different company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agnes187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Another review for Las Walkirias – Playa Del Ingles.

We had booked this hotel direct through their own website as this was the only place available as we wanted to travel over the New Year period. The website was easy to use and showed availability for the dates we wanted (28th Dec to 6th January 2014), email confirmation received immediately from the hotel.

Being a little dubious I emailed the hotel direct twice to confirm our booking but no reply at all from them?

We arrived at 8pm on the 28th and was welcomed by a very friendly receptionist (Alfonso) who gave us our key (Metal key on a huge wooden plank that you use for the electric in the room). Safe bought for €20 a week (which are located in reception and not your room). The room key is detachable from the plank which makes life easier.

Reception:
24 hour reception cover by 4 staff on a rota basis, you get to know who they are quite easy and all very friendly and polite. You do have to get the 1st key for the safe room from them but it is more secure that way. Free WIFI in reception but you can use in room for €20 per week for one device. The free WIFI doesn’t quite reach outside the door or by the pool though.

Pool:
Large pool area and very clean. Pride week is manic at this hotel and you may want to check when this is if you are booking in May. Small bar area which closes from 8pm and not many people used it when we were there to be honest.

Room:
We were allocated Room 103 on the first floor. Very nicely decorated and had a modern feel. Only the first 2 floors have been decorated and improved. Some of the higher rooms are private residential. The room was large enough for 3 people with a separate bedroom with 2 single beds and a sofa bed in the lounge. Ceiling fan in bedroom too. Large wardrobe space but never enough coat hangers (we asked for 2 days for more and eventually we got more) and only 3 drawers to use... Wooden floor was a nice touch and unusual to find but it meant that we could hear the children in the room above us clog dancing every morning!!! The bedroom is located on the main road side and with no double glazing it can be nosey in the night. Earplugs? Oh yes!!
We were located right above the restaurant (Carlos) and from 4pm everyday you hear the chef beating the life out of the meat.... Then the smell!!! From 6pm the fryers are switched on and the stench was gut retching at times – Horrendous smells every night – made sitting out on the balcony at night awful. However, we didn’t ask to move so maybe our fault a little........
The beds in the room are memory foam and very comfortable. Kitchenette was basic with enough utensils for 3 people. Fridge/Freezer, 2 hobs, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Bathroom was large with a great walk in shower and brand new towels to use (get covered in fluff!!) – in our room we also had a hairdryer.
Maid service 7 times out of the 9 – with clean towels 3 times and bed sheets once.

Cliental:
Although this is right by Yumbo centre the people staying were of the older Scandinavian variety. This is usual for Christmas and New Year though. Apart from the clog dancing kids in the room above us, we never had any bother.

Location:
This is the big plus for these apartments. Right by the Yumbo Centre. No noise heard as near the back of the shops and not the clubs, the only downside was the smell from the restaurants underneath our room.. The apartments are located right by the Riu Don Miguel who have entertainment on every night and they welcome guests from other hotels to come in. In fact we spent the first part of New Years Eve here enjoying the free entertainment and the free party bags.

Would I stay in this hotel again? Yes, but in a different room away from the smells!!

If this review has been useful please click on the ‘Yes’ below.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Apartments were clean, centrally located and well maintained.

I was on the second floor which didn't have the best of views (overlooked rear of Yumbo). Apartment was 1 bed (memory foam double), studio style kitchen/lounge, LCD TV (4/5 English channels).

Staff were very friendly and helpful, apartment was cleaned 5 of 7 days and towels/sheets changed once, extra available!

Pool area had plenty of sun loungers, but would imagine it would be crowded during peak times. Didn't use pool bar but seemed ok. WiFi free in reception 20euro for week to get access in room.

Apartments main selling point to me were it central location, ideal for Yumbo and PDI beach, not too far from kasbah centre. Other point I need to mention was the bed - one of the most comfy beds I've ever slept on abroad!!

Apartment is good for 2 people, may be bit tight, but liveable with more!

Hope you find this helpful

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#87 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#53 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa del Sol -  Adults Only
Playa del Sol - Adults Only
#28 of 216 in Maspalomas
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#60 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkirias Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkirias Resort

Property: Walkirias Resort
Address: Avda. Alfeceres Provisionales 33, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Walkirias Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort in Playa del Ingles newly renovated. Something completely different in the heart of Gran Canaria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Walkirias Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkirias Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Walkirias Resort Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing