We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamma Mia Ristorante - CLOSED

Mamma Mia Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The lovely waiters gave us free champagne and starters. Food was priced very well but also was just divine! Definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Charli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    78
    27
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Solid Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Gran Canaria rarely offer that pleasant dining experience, but this Italian restaurant know what they do. Recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Such a Shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has the potential to be great but it's just falling short in too many areas. The atmosphere isn't good because it's in between 2 bars playing loud music but there's not much they can do about that except make sure the food and service excels. Unfortunately it didn't. The seats are uncomfortable plastic chairs, just need a cushion on them. The service is good but not great. I had pasta and asked for garlic bread with it, amazingly this is probably the only Italian restaurant in the world who don't serve garlic bread! Surely a bit of garlic butter spread on a baguette wouldn't have been too much bother. A good chef will accommodate reasonable requests!! When our food was served we weren't asked if we wanted freshly ground black pepper or parmasan, a staple of any good Italian. I was also given a knife & fork for a creamy pasta dish, had to ask for a spoon, not great :-/ Then despite several acounts of eye contact with the waiter we weren't once asked how the food was. There were only 3 tables occupied so that level of service shouldn't have been an issue. The food review is mixed. I had a brusheta starter which was gorgeous. It had a type of blue cheese and cured ham on it, simply lovely. However unfortunately my Gnocci main was over seasoned, the salty bacon should have been sufficient seasoning but I expect the chef added extra which spoilt the dish. My partner had a lovely tri colour salad to start and a mushroom risotto which was good but lacked mushroom flavour. I'd give it a 6/10 overall and I feel it wouldn't take much to return the level of good and service to what it was under the previous owners when the we visited in its first year of business.

Helpful?
Thank nickanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
148 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food and service but really noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The waiters are really friendly and the food is good italian food, but the restaurant is located in a noisy corner between bars with loud music.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hbn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not what it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

For the past few years, Mamma Mia was my favorite restaurant in Playa del Ingles. Having just visited last week, I am sad to say that it has gone downhill. The food, just was not up to par. Eating at Mamma Mia used to evoke the feeling that you were eating at a local's restaurant in the heart of Italy. The food was simple, authentic, perfect. This time, it felt like you were eating in a touristy restaurant that hoped you didn't know the difference. Vegetables were overcooked, fish was unremarkable, even the mozzarella tasted like something from the grocery store instead of being from the amazing supplier from previous years. I was really disappointed. Let me be clear and say that there was nothing *terrible* about the food. It was just very very ordinary where it used to be superb.

The place is noisy with competing music blasting from adjacent bars, but this was always the case, only now there wasn't the amazing food to make up for it. The waiters were always gorgeous, and fun, and they still are, but this year our server lacked sufficient knowledge of the restaurant's offerings, which detracted from the experience.

Instead of going back a 2nd time whilst we where in town, as we had always done, we ventured out to find new places that are exceptional. Fortunately they are out there. For instance, A. Gaudi, which is off the beaten path and has a very small number of tables, was excellent. I hope Mamma Mia pulls herself together for next year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Mia Ristorante also viewed

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing