We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old haunt” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of big bens

big bens
Ranked #274 of 374 Restaurants in Playa del Ingles
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“old haunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

always visit here. Great British food, proper English meals for kids. Entertainment included. Love the cocktails. staff lovely.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaffay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    10
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this bar, friendly staff and excellent food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We visited a few times over our two weeks in playa del ingles, and we were always made feel very welcome, and any food we had was delicious, the chicken curry was fantastic, as are the chips.
Jay the barman was so friendly and we spoke to the chef a few times and he always very pleasant
Will defo go back next time we are in playa del ingles

Helpful?
2 Thank julieannchapman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Place needs a good scrub!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Place needs a good scrub! food is barley edible and to be honest the beer taps probably need a cleaning as the beer tasted off

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garreth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“BAD SERVCE BAD STAFF FORCING PEOPLE TO BUY DRINKS CONSTANTLY NEVER GOING BACK DONT WASTE YOUR TIME”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I Went here just tonight 25th June to watch the paranormal show recommended by THEIR STAFF
'Come in its free..come n go as you please' They said!
..was a laugh me and bf bought a couple of drinks.
Every 5mins staff one older man in particular kept asking us to buy a drink even when we hadn't finished the ones we still had !!!
I didn't think it would be a problem if I wanted another when we are finished the first lot we'd go to the bar!
Then for the tenth time the man came up to us again right in the middle of the show and said 'ok u have to buy something now this is not a charity you know!' This is absolutely Plain RUDE so my bf was about to take his wallet out I said No I'd rather leave -people were staring they probably thought we'd been asked to leave!
Why should we be FORCED To buy more drinks?? He tried to embaress us Didn't work mate Im glad we left!!

What service is that to constantly pester your only few customers to buy drinks every minute. ..and not let people enjoy the entertainment offered.
Trying to force people to do something will only make them do the opposite.

I WONT BE BACK AND HAVE LET SO MANY OTHERS KNOW TO STAY CLEAR!!!
Now I know why so many left.

SOME ADVICE FOR THE STAFF HERE-
Try not to be so pushy
Let people enjoy and chill out on their hols you might actually get more customers!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanna524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never be back!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Having been recommended to go here by Alan, trying to bring customers. We went in tonight for a drink after dinner to watch magician and footie. Waited 20 mins before anyone even came near us to ask what we wanted to drink, 20 mins after that, 40 mins in total we still had no drinks and walked out! People who arrived well after us had been served!! Shocking service!! We were in for brekkie the other morning and it was lovely, but after tonight, our opinion has completely changed!! Alan has been really nice every time we've spoken to him as well, SHAME!!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed big bens also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to big bens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing