We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Arrived in the middle of the night, warm welcome from reception. Went to room and impressed by the size and cleanliness. Large balcony which looked over the bars and restaurants and night club, yes there was noise until 4am but was acceptable. Pool area nice, bar under staffed so there were queues at times. Good selection of food at meal times, always found plenty to eat. Entertainment was minimal but we went out for walks in the evening and experienced some pushy people trying to get you into their bars etc, a bit much at times. Beach and sea is fantastic. Hotel really clean, rooms cleaned every day, clean towels and bedding. Cleaners very friendly. Reception staff friendly and helpful at all times. Taxi service great. Must visit the waterpark, great day out. Only real moan is that most of the English people there, seemed to moan about everything from food to service!!! Perhaps if they want to eat English food and have their kids looked after all the time, they would be better off staying in the UK at Butlins !!! Lots of Spanish and German holiday makers there which was quite refreshing. A holiday is what you make it, we were travelling as a family of four with 2 children aged 12 and 10, really enjoyed it. Give it a go...

Room Tip: If you want quiet at night, ask for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    100
    100
    48
    48
See reviews for
99
126
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from an 11 night stay here, I must admit we had a fantastic time the holiday in General was fantastic, however this hotel is not, it is a great location to the beach and has many restaurants near by, but also have all the night clubs Tojo so you have to contend with club music until 630am. The hotel is general is clean but is very dated, the pool is too small for such a large hotel , but it is extremely deep, with no life guard and the child's pool is more like a puddle, the service at the snack bar is terrible , chips are not even part of the all inclusive package. the food is terrible, always cold, not much choice at all and the same things everyday, we had to eat out most nights even tho we had paid for all inclusive. The entertainment was none existent, there was no atmosphere at this hotel what so ever. If you want a basic self catering holiday in a good location then this would suit you but DO NOT waste your money going all inclusive. the maid service was very good. I would recommend that you visit el faro maspolomas and visit the moonlight cinema it's a magical experience ,an d there is a great Italian there too... Grande Italia. .. As I said we had a great holiday but only because we didn't stay around the hotel,
. I would to recommend this hotel except if you want to use it as a base only ... The beaches are amazing, especially the dunes . Becky
From West Yorkshire
England

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are fine and it's really near to the beach/nightlife which is great. But.... The staff are unbelievably RUDE especially if you are not Spanish speaking. They literally treat Brits like crap there. Serve every other nationality first at the bar, make jokes/pick fun at you in Spanish! It's a joke the nicest start are the cleaners and the bar is an absolute catastrophe, only one person serving with massive queues and they wot give you a drink after 11pm even if you've queued. Really bad there. Luckily we were in a big gang and literally seen the funny side of it but if I was not with my whole family would have been really annoyed .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustSmile2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Right guys this hotel....... Where do I start. We'll lets start at beginning. We were a family of 5 plus the mother and father inlaw. We booked two one bedroom apartment which we got rooms 816 and 820. Top floor facing Kasbah. If you do go make sure you are in an A,B or C floor not in floors 1-8 as you will not get any sleep after 12. The noise from the clubs is a joke. The food is disgusting as it is the previous end meals re used. Then if it still not been ate it's then made into soup. The entertainment is poor. Now I'm not blaming the lad as he is the only animation team full stop so he can't exactly do shows or different things on his own. But the on your own seems to stem right through the hotel. The pool bar one bloke or girl. The main bar one bloke or one girl. Bear in mind this hotel holdup to 350 people minimum. So your consistently waiting to be served. Good business sense as less used poor totally poor service and entertainment.

So in a nut shell ...
1. No entertainment
2. Not enough staff to serve
3. Needs double glazing to stop the noise.
4. Needs a new chef
5. Needs a re-paint
6. Needs to accommodate for all languages
7. DO NOT BOOK IF YOU ARE BRITISH.

Now I know it sounds harsh, but I'm just being honest. I didn't even pay a cheap price we paid 700 each.

If your already going try to enjoy yourself as we tried and did but no help from the hotel at all.

Quick note go to Kim's Bar in Gran Chapperel centre. 2.60€ in a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this hotel after reading the description and thought it looked great value for money for an all inclusive stay. We were wrong! I really wish we'd read the reviews first as we were soooo disappointed but I'll start on the two positives, 1) Very close to the beach, approx 3 min walk. 2) Upon arrival our room wasn't ready which was fine as they then gave us a two bedroom room with separate living room and it was cleaned daily. Now for the many downsides to our stay. While waiting for our room we had lunch in the buffet restaurant, food seemed ok and we were happy with it initially. Downhill from there, as the week went on the food became slop and was all just left over from the meal before, none of it was hot all just luke warm although plates were boiling burning my hand at one point (they're lucky it wasn't one of my children!) Drinks had to be ordered from waiters/waitresses if you could find one, some meal times there seemed to be only one staff member serving a full restaurant but you were unable to help yourself to drinks so had to wait and wait. Majority of staff were polite but none of them were overly friendly and jolly they all seemed fed up and worn out. The hotel itself needs a revamp, although clean it is starting to look run down and there was absolutely no atmosphere it was so sombre and dull. No music anywhere. NO entertainment unless you class bingo in a hot stuffy hall as entertainment. This hall is where the evening bar is and only one staff member every night meaning you had to queue for a drink every single evening, there is a kids club hut which we were not aware of until our last day but apparently that's only open 2 hours a week! So called kids pool was just a pond sized built in paddling pool, main pool had a shallow bit then went really deep so kids have to be watched constantly and wear arm bands at all times, edge of pool so dangerous as becomes really slippery, both of my children fell over around the pool side. Snack bar and pool bar was crap, open at 11ish or whenever they felt ready, older barman was so grumpy and I felt awkward ordering drinks from him even though we were all inclusive it felt as if he was begrudging serving me so we started ordering less and less which isn't on considering we paid for it, snacks consisted of burgers and hot dogs which were cooked while you waited, sometimes one staff member cooking and serving drinks so you end up waiting for ages. The blonde woman that wore the bandana was terrible she undercooked the food, I ended up half eating a raw burger! Ice creams served at pool bar but had to pay for them, chips also served but had to pay for them even though we were all inclusive! Pool and air hockey available to play but 1 euro each time, totally unacceptable! All inclusive should mean all inclusive. We ended up eating out a few times and going out in the evenings so have spent more than we wanted to but we need to get out of that place now and again! I could go on but overall so unimpressed with this place I wouldn't go back again if they paid me.

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE! If you have to stay pool side in a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was bit worried about the noise complaints from previous reviews, but even though we've stayed in the room on the shopping centre side (4th floor) the noise didn't bother us at all.
The rooms are spacious and even though we were on all inclusive the room had fully equipped kitchen.
Hotel location is great,right next to the shopping centre/bus stops/and the beach (spar store is located in the hotel building itself)
Also you can enjoy a fantastic views from solarium on the roof.
Staff is mostly friendly (there was few grumpy looking individuals, but when dealing with customers they've always smiled and were very helpful.
Food was fresh and tasty, and there was something for everyone, we've booked all inclusive, but with the alcohol very cheap in the town centre i would probably go full board next time.

Wifi is free in the lobby and 2,5 euro/24h everywhere in the hotel.

This was our second visit to Gran Canaria and overall the whole family enjoyed the stay, and we would definitely book the same hotel again.

My notes are based on Value for money, and it was a budget holidays, the standard was much better then Spanish coast holidays.

Room Tip: the higher the better obviously (less noise from the shopping centre) although even with the parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have just come back from a week in this hotel and I have to admit I was very disappointed.

Lets start at the beginning.

We booked one week, all inclusive in a 2 bedroom apartment. We got there and they put us in 2 one bedroom apartments. This did not bother us as it was charged at the same price, however, on the sunday we got a phone call to tell us we were moving to a 2 bedroom apartment further along the same floor. This was cleaned on a daily basis, however, from 9am onwards all I could hear was the air hockey machine getting blasted non stop (this was right next to our apartment) and when you have a hangover its not exactly what you want to hear.

The food was lukewarm. Never had a hot meal in the place. They also catered for the Germans and the Dutch. And the choices were not all that great either. Our party had diarrhoea for the first 3 days of our holiday, which meant that we were scared to leave the hotel incase we needed to go. Essentially the food was muck. The snacks consist of burgers, hotdogs and toasties these were better, but even freshly made, they were cold. We started eating out for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Which to be honest, was much better, quite cheap and we all felt much better.

There was absolutely no atmosphere in the hotel. Not even background music in the reception. There was music on friday all day at the pool, but that was clearly to mislead everyone who had just arrived into thinking that the place was 'banging'. To quote one of my friends 'if the food doesn't kill you, the boredom will'.

All in all, we were very disappointed in this hotel and would never go there all inclusive again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#32 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#61 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
LABRANDA Marieta
LABRANDA Marieta
#16 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#27 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles

Property: HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles
Address: Avda. de Italia, 21, C.P.35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suitehotel Playa del Inglés, completely renovated in summer 2016, is situated only 200 meters away from the beach promenade and the fantastic beach. The modernly designed hotel consists of 260 rooms (60 sea view), partly with an incredible sea view. DISTANCIA AEROPUERTO 35 KM. Category: four star Meal plan: Half Board, All Inclusive Situation: The hotel is situated very centrally and is only being separated from the long and sandy beach of Playa del Inglés by the beach promenade. In its direct surroundings, a lot of bars, restaurants and shops can be found. The shopping centers Yumbo, Kashbah and Cita can be reached after a few minutes walk. Facilities: The tastefully designed hotel consists of 260 rooms which are distributed on 8 floors in the main building. The facilities include the lobby with reception and Wifi, lifts, the main restaurant, pool bar as. Furthermore, a wonderful pool area with two different (in winter heatable) pools is offered, 1 normal Pool and 1 semi Olympic pool (25 m). On the roof there is a terrace with Jacuzzis, sun beds, Massage, Sunsetbar and a breath-taking sea view. Sun beds and parasols are for free at all of the pools and terraces. As means of payment Visa and Mastercards are accepted. 4lifts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your HL Suitehotel Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HL Suitehotel Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing