We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with high quality food & great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Servatur Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with high quality food & great location.”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The first time we have stayed at the Riu Waikiki and we were that happy with the holiday overall we are looking to book again this year.

On check in you soon realised this hotel had a friendly atmosphere with staff who make you feel welcome and love children. The hotel is split into 5 circular blocks and we stayed in the last block (furthest from reception) on the ground floor. The room itself was dated in decor and didnt have air con, however this didnt detract from how clean it was and the room was cleaned daily. There was a small tv with some childrens channels which kept our 4 year old son entertained whilst we got ready each day/night.

The breakfast was a mix of continental and cereals, each day they would do some English breakfast products but it ranged from sausage, to ham type bacon, mixed omelettes however beans were on daily. The lunch menu offered a range of salads and salad garnishes, hot plates cooking meat, pork, fish, standard chips and some pasta dishes. At lunch you could sit anywhere. In the evening there were two sittings 6.30m & 8pm, and as a family we sat at 6.30pm. As the hotel has a high demand for 6.30pm sittings you can be placed with another family which we didnt mind. We ended up making friends with a great couple with a 4 year old son and they spent most of the hol together by the pool and at kids club at night. The food was similar to the lunch time but with more choice, desserts were fruit, light sponge cakes and ice-cream. The food was high quality throughout, albeit a bit repetitive at times however what do you expect on an AI holiday. We didn't get bored as we mixed and matched each night, lots of times having 2-3 plates. If you didn't get chance to eat at lunch there was the pool side bar offering chips, pizza, ice-cream throughout the day all self serve. Drinks were also self serve for hot and cold drinks aswell as beer on tap.

The pool was large and very clean, shaded at certain points early in the morning but soon had full cover from the sun. The hotel is situated in Playa del Ingles and close to in walking distance on the centres for shopping. You can walk to the beach in 10 mins and see the dunes from the beach location. On adventuring around the town, beware of the sales people trying to get you in a taxi to Anfi. This is a time share complex and they send families/couples who are working to the complex to get sales. The same excursion (sales trip) can be booked with the holiday rep and for going on the trip you can get a voucher discount to another trip or 50 euros in cash. Taxis are paid for there and back but you have to do the tour to get you taxi fare back. The tour is spectacular we do admit, and for about 6hrs of your hol you get 50 euros if your up for that. Just be honest with the rep if you are not interested and they shorten the tour. We did it once, but wont do it again.

At night there was entertainment and for the kids the mini disco from 8pm until 9 to 9.30pm with games and songs which kept our 4 year old son entertained. Afterwards we would go out for a game of mini golf or shopping as the entertainment on offer wasn't to our choice. Cocktails and alcohol were available until 12am and this was served at the bar, however there was still the self serve taps available.

Overall a great holiday, loved the location, food, pool and atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    820
    425
    93
    52
See reviews for
547
940
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

arrival at the hotel(very late and the only people from the flight getting of there)was quite nice...reception were very informative,quick,and got us sent to our,basic,but very clean room,a late night snack was in the restaurant*(cheese and ham and bread)then off to sleep.beds a little hard for me,but again clean!.morning brings breakfast,,all the usual suspects,hot and cold,super attentive waiting staff,off to a flying start...plenty of sunbed,no reserving with towels(but plenty do!!!)poor area very clean,a little tired round the edges,and the water was very very cold,but again clean..lunch..burger by the pool bar,or into the restaurant for salads and hot food(remember if you dont want to spoil tea,have a burger!!,because the food in the restaurant is very samey,lunch looks like last nights dinner,and dinner looks like lunch you just had,always well presented and cooked,but same every day...)if your a lady,you will be served at the bar immediatly!! if your a good looking woman,served even quicker,,if you german italian spanish and a woman,jackpot!!!!!!bar staff were ok..the hotel was friendly,clean,and very international....entertainment was shocking!!!! so about the usual for a riu.but as we always say,the animacion staff work so hard.day and night!!.this riu is a 3 star...and thats it realy...dont expect all the usual riu razzamataz,and you wont be dissapointed....oh and there is no fridge in the rooms,,water isnt provided,,and take your own beach towels!!!

Room Tip: lifts dont always work...so get a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilheysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Had a lovely time at this hotel. It's an all inclusive resort. So everyone has the same objectives.. eat, drink and sun! Pleny of tasty food but a little repetitive so ate out s few nights.
Staff are super friendly till 12 am.. then they remind you a few times to leave communal areas.
I didn't have any problem with this because there are 100's of guests at this hotel and one group of stragglers at the bar can be really annoying!!
Due to the design of the circular towers it caused a lot of noise around the building. At night time it was pretty loud.
Hotel is bout 8 mins walk from the beach which was beautiful.. careful of the Africans trying to put bands on your arm. 2 mins from kasbah centre and good spar supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loves_2_listen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Myself and mate had never been to Gran Canaria before and were going to our first gay pride event. Didnt really know what to expect after reading a few reviews on here but can honestly say im going back this week to book same hotel for same dates again ( something we never do as like to change and see different hotels). From the moment we arrived the staff were amazing, we have met people who we will be friends with and are meeting up with them already since we have came back home, even though we are all over the UK. Great hotel, Great location for Yumbo and ok rooms might be bit dated but what it loses there it makes up for in cleanliness, friendliness and of course food, always hot, always fresh and dont know why this isnt a 4 star..

Room Tip: Block B was good for us as we looked onto pool and tennis courts so was peaceful at night and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hooper_1888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

CHECK-IN: was average, waited a bit long filling forms out etc.
ROOMS: were average and in need of some re-decorating. We had a horrendous balcony next to air-con generator for the restaurant. When the front door closed it scraped on the light switch and turned the light on and off; amusing at first, but annoying after first day.
FOOD: very good choice in restaurant. The availability of food throughout the day was excellent as it felt there wasn't a time you couldn't get a bite to eat, except for when you're asleep. The food standard in restaurant was very good.
BAR: this was excellent service and to be honest the staff and efficiency made the holiday more bearable. Great characters and service was excellent. A good all-inclusive service. If you gave the bar staff a tip, they'd honk on an old fashioned horn! Very funny.
POOL/FACILITIES: although the tables (pool/air hockey/table tennis) were REALLY run-down, there was plenty to do. Tennis courts and football too. Pool was big and clean and always something going on. Getting a sun bed was a mission, as you were packed in like sardines!
SURROUNDING AREA: Playa del Ingles was just awful. A run-down town full of faded plastic and flashing lights harked back to its glory days from 20/30 years ago. It was dirty and horrible, like Blackpool but with better weather. We were glad to get back into the safety, if not serenity, of the hotel.
ENTERTAINMENT: very average and geared towards kids, plus it was underground in hotel, so hot a stuffy, so apart from one night we spent the evenings at the outside pool bar; much better, with the occasional honk of a horn haha.

Room Tip: Ask/pay for pool view or not to be on first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Simply all I can say that this hotel is near perfect and the staff are 100% behind making your stay their number one priority

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SotonShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshirelad79
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had a great stay at the Riu Waikiki for Pride week. The rooms were clean and spacious and towels were changed daily. The selection of food was really good. The staff at this hotel are really friendly. The daily aqua gym sessions were really good……even though I only participated once……I was too comfortable on my sun lounger! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yorkshirelad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Servatur Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Waikiki

Property: Hotel Servatur Waikiki
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 20, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly ClubHotel Waikiki)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Servatur Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Five 7-storey round buildings * 3,500 m2 garden * 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 500 m from the city centre * 400 m from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres * 30 km from the airport * 50 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Servatur Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Waikiki Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Waikiki Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Servatur Waikiki Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing