We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good central hotel and value for money”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for a week with a friend. We had room 152 on the first floor over the main road and across from the Yumbo. Had no problems with noise apart from Saturday night when the bar across had the locals partying but hey it was Saturda!!!

Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels (even when we did not need it) and had good air con.

Food was a little samey but on some nights the cooked meat was very tasty.

Pool area was great though can be a battle to get a good sun lounger (as with any hotel)

Negatives:
Wi-fi - you can get cheaper in other hotels
Entertainment - it was the same singer everynight apart from Saturday when they had a very good House Dj set which made a pleasant change to the usual songs she kept singing over and over.

Reading some of the previous reviews, yes the luggage room is next to the main door, anyone could walk in, but even if they had a key to use, anyone could just ask to use it! Staff where very friendly.

Great location 10 minutes to the beach and a minute to Yumbo (without being too close to hear it every night)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 78sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    546
    166
    44
    27
See reviews for
58
821
117
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was wonderful and the staff were very attentive, couldn't do enough for you.
Evening entertainment needs updating, the singer sings the same songs in different order each night and the keyboard is very 80s cheese.
Yumbo centre was ok but We preferred the beach front and kasbah.
Food was yummy and enough to choose from, can only think that the other reviewers were fussy eaters. The only disappointment was we were unable to have a late check out and was going to be charged
double the price to use the al la carte restaurant once we checked out (checked out at 11am and wasn't being picked up until 10.30 at night)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable & relaxing week at the Riu Don Miguel. We booked with Jet2 holidays and saved £180 on the same holiday as advertised with Thomson.

Hotel is central, modern and kept spotless both inside and out and all staff are friendly. Although officially a 3 star hotel, like other reviewers, I would say it easily is 4 star standard.

Bedrooms are air conditioned, spacious and equipped with a fridge, ample wardrobe space & coat hangers and a hair dryer. Safe hire €14 for the week. Balconies are
spacious and not overlooked by others. We would suggest that the hotel consider installing lights on the balcony so you could sit out on the balcony of an evening and read/ have a drink.

Upon arrival you will be allocated an evening meal time - either 6.30 or 8.30pm but the hotel will accommodate you if you wish to change. Breakfast and dinner is typical buffet style with plenty of choice for even the fussiest of eaters. We were pleased with the variety of food.

If you fancy something at lunch time the hotel bar serves light bites and ice creams, and all very cheap!

We had no problem getting sun loungers round the pool, although I imagine in peak season it might be more of a problem. We did see hotel staff remove towels from some sun loungers which had been left for a while so the hotel are proactive in this regard.

If like my partner you are a gym bunny, the hotel has a gym which is free to use for guests. A little on the small side, it does have a treadmill, 2 bikes and weight machines. There are however no free weights.

If you are looking for a hotel which provides lots of activities to participate in the day time (darts/bowls/aqua aerobics etc) then this isn't the hotel for you. If you are after a holiday to just sit and relax uninterrupted by the pool (as we were) then the Riu Don Miguel is perfect for you.

There is evening entertainment in the bar area - usually a singer. As we were on holiday during the start of the World Cup, the hotel out up a big screen in the bar area so you could catch all the games.

The beach is a 20 minute walk downhill from the hotel. There is a free shuttle bus, which you can catch opposite the hotel. However don't make the mistake we did - in order to board the bus you need to show the driver the card (business card size) the hotel give you on arrival which details your room number and evening meal sitting time. Unfortunately we left this in our room! The last bus is at 5.45pm but if you fancy enjoying a drink or two at one of the beach bars after this time, a taxi back to the hotel will cost less than €3.

The Yumbo centre is a short walk from the hotel - filled with lots of touristy shops and bars. This comes to life at night. We found drinks to be very cheap.

Checkout from your room is 11am. As we had a late flight home, we paid €25 to keep our room until our airport transfer coach picked us up, which meant we could have a shower and get changed (& do that last minute packing). However if you can't keep your room on/ don't want to there are 2 courtesy rooms and a left luggage room for your bags.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riu Don Miguel. We had no complaints and would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break. We can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ClarkeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at the Don Miguel many times and I can't fault the hotel & the facilities.

Check in was quick & smooth, as I didn't want or request a "pool view" I was very happy with the room allocated - room 461, this room is a couple of mins stroll to the lift

I stayed on a half board basis
I have no complaints with the food served, there is an excellent variety of food & there is something for everyone's palate
Yes, the hot food available is not scalding hot, but who wants burnt lips ?

I have read past reviews of the hotel and feel very disappointed that people post negative reviews of the food (but everyone is entitled to their reviews) yes, sprouts / carrots / peas etc are sometimes available at breakfast; but please remember the hotel does it very best to cater for ALL taste & palates of ALL customers.

The pool area is spotlessly clean & well maintained by the pool area & the time I stayed there was no problem in finding a sunbed
The pool restaurant / cafe / snack area is spotlessly clean & the staff friendly & attentive with speedy service
There is a small gym area
The evening "entertainment" sometimes can be poor but the "Polynesian" show I thought was great, with some "audience" participation which was funny

The location is excellent for the Yumbo centre, this is a shopping centre by day with many places to eat both snacks & restaurants, at night the Yumbo becomes "alive" with the many bars, cabaret / drag bars which is across the road making the hotel very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at the Don Miguel for 5 nights, had a fab room, ask for 3/4th floor overlooking the pool. Ours was overlooking the stage so you can sit on your balcony of an evening and watch the entertainment in the comfort I your own room!
Location was good, if you wanted to go out in playa del ingles, perfect! That wasn't really for us but it cost 4 euros to go to Maspalomas which we found was much more chilled and bit classier, Meloneras was nicer still and cost 7 euros in a taxi.
Hotel was very clean, maids excellent, reception staff were ok, not as helpful as other Riu's we've stayed in.
Food at breakfast wasn't bad, I opted for pancakes, croissant and scrambled eggs every morning. Get there for 9.30 latest or they start cleaning everything away! Food in evening was good, outside BBQ is lovely, lots of fish options which isn't our cup of tea but may be ok for others!
Didn't have a problem finding a sunbed, pool area is gorgeous and well kept, outdoor bar is very attractive and waiter service is always a bonus.
There's a supermarket over the road, the entertainment is on from 6pm til 12, and there is music on all day but it's very appropriate music for a chilled late afternoon. Found it quite soothing for an afternoon nap, on the balcony etc!
No noise from the yumbo centre but a 5-10 min walk away! Loved it! Would recommend, best 3 star hotel I've stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cookiescream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here between the 7th and 14th of June as part of a package holiday with Thomson. We were extremely happy with our room 066. We did not have any views but the room was always cool as the sun didn't shine in through the window. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and spacious.

The hotel itself was also cleaned and spotless, the decor and outside areas were immaculate. we loved the pool area and the outside eating area. One of the sides of the pool needed attention but didn't spoil our enjoyment.

The food on offer for half board customers was fantastic and we could not want for anything. There was fresh grilled fishes, mixture of bbq meats or stir fried meats and lots of salad and veg. We found no fault and looked forward to dinner.They also had soups, cheeses and a mixture of puddings.

We will definitely stay in a hotel from this company again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After reading review regarding this hotel, I was excited for my stay. How wrong could I be, I cant even believe people have gave this hotel such good reviews saying should be four stars etc. The food was horrible, a lot of choice but not tasty ( both of us are not fussy eaters, and other diners agreed the food was poor). The room we were giving looked onto the main road, so noisy when trying to sleep, the room above us, you can hear every foot steps, drawers opening etc. resulting in a disturbed sleep. The entertainment is pretty much the same every night! A singer who sings the same songs every night, this hotel really needs to provide more of a variety of entertainment, we ended up going to other hotels to watch their entertainment. They do provide a room to leave your cases when you have to check out early, but me and my partner were shocked that it is right next to the main entrance, unlocked anyone could walk in, we asked staff do they not lock it and people can just request when they need in for the cases, which resulted in a very rude manager telling us no in a aggressive manner. The plus of this hotel is that its very clean and tidy. I would never book with this hotel again, I have stayed in very budget hotels that are much more better than this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Property: Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 4-Storey building. 1.5 Km from the beach and seafront promenade. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 300 M from the city centre. 200 M from a shopping centre. 30 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Don Miguel Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Don Miguel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing