We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honest reflection”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lucana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lucana
Ranked #69 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
wooler england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“honest reflection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

having stayed last year at the same time i was a bit dubious after seeing recent posts. however i can say that the hotel now owned by a group and now private is better. yes the evening entertainment on some nights was poor a man with an organ singing but other nights was really good the burlesque the spanish dancing even the bingo was a great laugh. And yes there are a lot of germans but hey if you speak to them they are human after all. Otto the animation man was really good he asked you what you wanted to do, hey your on holiday get up and join in youd be amazed at the fun you can have and if you win its a bottle of champagne. The food was as usual very good i herd some people complaining that there were not enough choices hell at least 10 every night some people are hard to please. pool side snacks were different every morning and it was biscuits and cakes on an afternoon. small tip get a beer mat from the bar rip in half and place in your electric slot during the day keeps your air con on. not many children but my son made friends with them all so he was happy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    86
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
61
97
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ivybridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were all really impressed with this hotel.Very relaxing, comfortable rooms, extremely clean, good choice of food and of good quality and the staff could not do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.2 pools, one main pool.. and one attached to the spa and Well Being Centre which we preferred as it was quieter and more relaxing, gym and jacuzzis right next to it too.Short path down to the beach from here.Panoramic views from the roof top terrace.Limited availability of snacks in between meals, however we found that we needed drinks more than food as the temperature in August was 35 degrees +.Not many English people here and a good idea to have some knowledge of spoken Spanish or a phrase book! Not many young families in the hotel and most activities were arranged for German guests, however the Hotel reception were happy to help you arrange your days out, horse riding and camel riding popular with my family. Tickets bought in advance from the hotel were no more expensive than buying them at the attraction and meant you did not have to wait in queues.Sand quite dark on the beach, got lighter towards the sand dunes of Maspolomas. Dunes definitely worth a visit.Water sports available a short walk up the beach.kids especially enjoyed the banana boat.The resort was fortunately not as lively as I had expected and a real 'Spanish' feel.
All in all exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flower060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have just returned from what i thought was a family friendly holiday,boy was i wrong! If you dont mind being outnumbered by rude Germans go ahead but personally i will never return to this hotel because they are who they cater for.There was NO entertainment for our children which they said there would be.This meant us having to go out every night to make our holiday better which i DID NOT expect to do.The hotel itself was clean enough but not the 4 star they stated.We went all inclusive and there was no snacks during the day which we were all dissapointed with especially my children because of not being able to get icecreams.It may sound ridiculous but my husband was told to leave the restaurant because he was not wearing trousers yet women were ok to prance around in hardly any clothes! PATHETIC! All in all we had a good holiday but no thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is a German run hotel.they do not cater for Brits or children. Very clean hotel but I wouldn't be going back for the simple reason Germans.the food is ok but no kids food and it said there was snacks in the day time NOT.if you can call biscuits and old donuts you will not enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

stayed here with my partner november 2010 . would go back just for the cleanliness of the hotel ,and location . have had better food ,i must say ,but always a decent choice ,and never went hungry. staff in my opinion very friendly . some german guests a bit rude ,but most very pleasant .entertainment of an evening is rubbish ,but were early birds for the balcony at night ,and my own vodka and coke (supermarket next door to hotel).for a cheap all inclusive for less than a £1000 for 2 for a week in the winter sun ,and a great location ,you cant go wrong

Room Tip: high floor room ,better views of the dunes to the right of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

As you're reading this, like me you choose to do a little research on your hotel before you book it. I have two words to say to you - "BOOK IT". After returning from the Lucana I read past reviews to check on what the complainers were moaning about and found the comments not just trivial but laughable. This hotel is without doubt the best value for money hotel I have stayed in and I have been going on holidays in Europe for over 40 years. The food was excellent and varied. Bearing in mind AI buffets can get a bit monotonous my wife and I normally eat out at least once when on AI holidays but didnt feel the need to do so at the Lucana.

Contrary to previous reviews we found the drinks package excellent. The rooms were larger than I have experienced in other Spanish hotels and the bathroom was extremely well equipped.

The hotel was spotless, the staff were efficient and very friendly and we will definitely be returning.

We paid £550 for a week which works out at under £40 per night each in high season. This is incredibly good value for money and I fail to see how people could complain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_fuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Having read some of the reviews i find it hard to understand what some people expect in relation of what they pay, this hotel is a four star hotel, the rooms are very clean and the food was excellent with plenty of choice everyday. Most of the staff were chearful and helpful throughout, the only downside was sunbeds were reserved ( go to the bottom pool alot warmer and you should get a bed) and the rude ignorant Germans who persistantly pushed in at the bar. Please be aware gents take a pair of long trousers as NO SHORTS are permitted for evening meals.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkSue44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Calma
Apartamentos Calma
#33 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Quijote
Don Quijote
#93 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escorial
Escorial
#20 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucana

Property: Hotel Lucana
Address: Plaza del Sol 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lucana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Lucana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucana Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Lucana Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing