We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auf wiedersehen pet”
Review of Hotel Lucana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lucana
Ranked #71 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Auf wiedersehen pet”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Visited this hotel in April this year with my partner and also my grandmother, the idea being to take her on a nice hot relaxing holiday.

The hotel is billed as a 4 star but to be totally honest it’s a 3 star with some half baked attempt at extra facilities to achieve the 4 star badge. Considering we had paid around £700 each for an all inclusive week I can’t help but feel that we were utterly ripped off.

The food at best was ok, as was the alcohol. The rooms were adequate but had poor views. The thing that annoyed me the most was this hotel was billed as having gym and spa facilities, what a joke! A sauna that was cold, a broken treadmill in a makeshift greenhouse, it really was laughable! On the plus, the pool was a good size, it was quiet and the gardens pretty.

The hotel was entirely German which was no problem but just to be aware of this if you’re expecting any kind of English entertainment.

Would I recommend it? Well I guess it depends entirely what you pay for it..Easter bank holiday premium pricing was totally unacceptable for this hotel as was the lure of the Spa. It’s location is fairly central but the area is not exactly pretty and you part sea view will also feature a lot of concrete.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgelfling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    86
    39
    17
    9
See reviews for
61
97
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you're German you will love this holiday, if not, in my opinion, stay well clear, after queing for meals and drinks, it's so frustrating when a group of Germans just push their way to the front every single time! The hotel itself was nice enough and very clean, but the food was good and nothing special. The hotel does not really cater for children as there are no childrens snacks throughout the day and the evening entertainment was absolutely lousy. I wouldn't class this as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

3 girls on a girlie week,

mmmmm weather not great ;-(

Not many English people at the hotel so if you dont mind multi nationals then Lucana is great. We met some lovely people and was mistaken for the spa workers but hey ho all added to the fun.

We found the resort was more geared up for other nationalities (german) however this didnt put us off but thought I would mention it as it not like a British resort i.e Palma Nova Majorca.

Good accomodation, but 3 in a double room but the 3rd bed is like a childs bed so be prepared if your sharing. Lovely bathroom rooms kept clean. Room has a fridge, reasonable size balcony. Good reception service.

Food was good always found something to eat. The cocktail list was good the barstaff are willing to mix you up anything just ask..... the older guy Pedro on the pool bar was lovely.....
You dont have to wear a band which is good, but you have to keep your room key to show them as this indicates you are all inc, not all guests staying are.

brilliant hotel for what we paid

Thanks Lucana

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou-Lou-Lashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooler england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

having stayed last year at the same time i was a bit dubious after seeing recent posts. however i can say that the hotel now owned by a group and now private is better. yes the evening entertainment on some nights was poor a man with an organ singing but other nights was really good the burlesque the spanish dancing even the bingo was a great laugh. And yes there are a lot of germans but hey if you speak to them they are human after all. Otto the animation man was really good he asked you what you wanted to do, hey your on holiday get up and join in youd be amazed at the fun you can have and if you win its a bottle of champagne. The food was as usual very good i herd some people complaining that there were not enough choices hell at least 10 every night some people are hard to please. pool side snacks were different every morning and it was biscuits and cakes on an afternoon. small tip get a beer mat from the bar rip in half and place in your electric slot during the day keeps your air con on. not many children but my son made friends with them all so he was happy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivybridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were all really impressed with this hotel.Very relaxing, comfortable rooms, extremely clean, good choice of food and of good quality and the staff could not do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.2 pools, one main pool.. and one attached to the spa and Well Being Centre which we preferred as it was quieter and more relaxing, gym and jacuzzis right next to it too.Short path down to the beach from here.Panoramic views from the roof top terrace.Limited availability of snacks in between meals, however we found that we needed drinks more than food as the temperature in August was 35 degrees +.Not many English people here and a good idea to have some knowledge of spoken Spanish or a phrase book! Not many young families in the hotel and most activities were arranged for German guests, however the Hotel reception were happy to help you arrange your days out, horse riding and camel riding popular with my family. Tickets bought in advance from the hotel were no more expensive than buying them at the attraction and meant you did not have to wait in queues.Sand quite dark on the beach, got lighter towards the sand dunes of Maspolomas. Dunes definitely worth a visit.Water sports available a short walk up the beach.kids especially enjoyed the banana boat.The resort was fortunately not as lively as I had expected and a real 'Spanish' feel.
All in all exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flower060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have just returned from what i thought was a family friendly holiday,boy was i wrong! If you dont mind being outnumbered by rude Germans go ahead but personally i will never return to this hotel because they are who they cater for.There was NO entertainment for our children which they said there would be.This meant us having to go out every night to make our holiday better which i DID NOT expect to do.The hotel itself was clean enough but not the 4 star they stated.We went all inclusive and there was no snacks during the day which we were all dissapointed with especially my children because of not being able to get icecreams.It may sound ridiculous but my husband was told to leave the restaurant because he was not wearing trousers yet women were ok to prance around in hardly any clothes! PATHETIC! All in all we had a good holiday but no thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is a German run hotel.they do not cater for Brits or children. Very clean hotel but I wouldn't be going back for the simple reason Germans.the food is ok but no kids food and it said there was snacks in the day time NOT.if you can call biscuits and old donuts you will not enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#27 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Calma
Apartamentos Calma
#34 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Escorial
Escorial
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Quijote
Don Quijote
#87 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucana

Property: Hotel Lucana
Address: Plaza del Sol 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lucana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Lucana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucana Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Lucana Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing