We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at Lucana not again, isolated by rude Germans.”
Review of Hotel Lucana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lucana
Ranked #62 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 30 September 2011

M37, F28 we stayed last year in August 2010 had a lovely time, this year in August 2011 it was a totally different experience.

The hotel is 95% German this year it was 50% last year. They are the rudist people i have ever met, No manners, rude, arrogant, push into queues, ignore you and look you up and down as though you are dirt. They make no effort to try and communicate with British guests and i tried, in fact i felt i was invading their hotel and so you feel isolated.
The hotel now has new owners from last year and is now set up as a German hotel. The British rep doesn't even visit the hotel now as there are hardly any Brits she came every day last year. Didnt see her once in two weeks. Other Brit guests were given a number to ring to try and arrange their own coaches at the end of their holiday.

The entertainment is awful, a different man every day playing an organ badly and singing even worse.If you have kids then there is nothing for them to do other than try and get on 1 table tennis table/ pool table by the pool, pool volleyball once a day where the German men more or less have a punch up, this hotel is not for kids. We went out every night as i would of hung myself listening to the hotels entertainment, plenty of night life, kasba center and the yumbo center full of bars and clubs within 15 minute walk, Sparkles showbar at the yumbo is a very good night out.

Lunch and evening meal in the restaurant was ok, men have to wear trousers for evening meal. a reasonable choice with a salad bar and sweets, although the breakfast is poor, cold food, skin covering beans and eggs, twenty person queue for coffee machine, the pool snacks during the day are some dry biscuits in the afternoon which is very poor, nothing else available.

There are a good selection of all inclusive drinks (local booze) from 10am till 12 at night served at the main bar and a poolside one, although when busy and with the Germans pushing in it can take 20 minutes to be served.

You have to get up early for a sunbed by the pool as they are gone by 9 o clock.
The hotel is right by the beach which is good. A couple of minutes walk and the beach is lovely with sunbeds which you have to pay for.

The rooms are clean with air con and the staff are very friendly apart from the people on reception who have adopted the German way of doing things.

Make your own mind up if you like but you wont be seeing me there next year i will try another hotel when i go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woolymammoth663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week 28th August and had a very enjoyable holiday. The room we had was spotless clean with an excellent sea view. The hotel areas we used were the same, with helpful staff who seemed to actually want to be helpful and friendly. The food was always fresh and cooked to a good standard with plenty of choice. Im pretty sure that if our stay had been for two weeks we could have had something different to eat each night compared with the first week. It is also the first hotel we have stayed at that provided a selection for diabetics although im not sure how many nights it was on. The main pool area near to the bar was always fairly busy so we used the smaller pool area which was some 80 to 100 mtrs away down a series of steps. Around this pool were two jacuzzis and a mini outdoor gym all free for use. The steps issue was about the only minor problem that we had during our stay it was a little bit awkward carrying drinks from the bar. The evening entertainment was pretty poor most nights but plenty of bars and shops about if you didnt want to stay in the hotel. Yes there was a lot of Germans but we found most of them to be fine. Anyway a little tip for you we have always found when the Germans use a hotel its normally worth another half a star. Another tip if you are planning to use this hotel they supply you with 1 beach towel per person changeable three times a week for a 10 euro deposit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pandanews75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is not for Brit's wanting a good relaxing holiday full stop…
We are a couple early 40’s looking for a nice relaxing holiday no hassle just a week away to recharge the batteries. We got to the hotel, everything looked great, the hotel was clean, staff pleasant, we thought wonderful. Then we started to realise that the hotel catered only for German people, nothing was in English. What put us off more than anything was the Germans glaring at us all the time it never stopped from the moment we went to breakfast until bedtime, everyone of them did it. I’m not blaming the Germans at all, I blame the tour operator CO-OP travel for offering empty places to Brits in German only hotels, it is unfair on both sides. It would be the exact same for them it they were put in an all English hotel, very uncomfortable.
We do not speak German, but you could make out the word Englander in nearly every sentence when they were in earshot which is not good.
For anyone planning to go to the Ingles resort, it’s worth noting that the 70plus percent of the holiday makers are German, so if it’s not your thing go elsewhere.

I hope I have explained it clearly enough, if you want to feel uncomfortable and be talked about all holiday this place it right up your street. The only good to come out of it were the other 3 English couples who fell into the same trap, we made it a good holiday going out on a night and leaving the Germans playing cards and reading books, while we drunk and partied as only we know how.

Room Tip: Dont get a family room, they are above the swimming pool pump room which starts up a 5am every morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Visited this hotel in April this year with my partner and also my grandmother, the idea being to take her on a nice hot relaxing holiday.

The hotel is billed as a 4 star but to be totally honest it’s a 3 star with some half baked attempt at extra facilities to achieve the 4 star badge. Considering we had paid around £700 each for an all inclusive week I can’t help but feel that we were utterly ripped off.

The food at best was ok, as was the alcohol. The rooms were adequate but had poor views. The thing that annoyed me the most was this hotel was billed as having gym and spa facilities, what a joke! A sauna that was cold, a broken treadmill in a makeshift greenhouse, it really was laughable! On the plus, the pool was a good size, it was quiet and the gardens pretty.

The hotel was entirely German which was no problem but just to be aware of this if you’re expecting any kind of English entertainment.

Would I recommend it? Well I guess it depends entirely what you pay for it..Easter bank holiday premium pricing was totally unacceptable for this hotel as was the lure of the Spa. It’s location is fairly central but the area is not exactly pretty and you part sea view will also feature a lot of concrete.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgelfling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you're German you will love this holiday, if not, in my opinion, stay well clear, after queing for meals and drinks, it's so frustrating when a group of Germans just push their way to the front every single time! The hotel itself was nice enough and very clean, but the food was good and nothing special. The hotel does not really cater for children as there are no childrens snacks throughout the day and the evening entertainment was absolutely lousy. I wouldn't class this as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

3 girls on a girlie week,

mmmmm weather not great ;-(

Not many English people at the hotel so if you dont mind multi nationals then Lucana is great. We met some lovely people and was mistaken for the spa workers but hey ho all added to the fun.

We found the resort was more geared up for other nationalities (german) however this didnt put us off but thought I would mention it as it not like a British resort i.e Palma Nova Majorca.

Good accomodation, but 3 in a double room but the 3rd bed is like a childs bed so be prepared if your sharing. Lovely bathroom rooms kept clean. Room has a fridge, reasonable size balcony. Good reception service.

Food was good always found something to eat. The cocktail list was good the barstaff are willing to mix you up anything just ask..... the older guy Pedro on the pool bar was lovely.....
You dont have to wear a band which is good, but you have to keep your room key to show them as this indicates you are all inc, not all guests staying are.

brilliant hotel for what we paid

Thanks Lucana

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou-Lou-Lashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

having stayed last year at the same time i was a bit dubious after seeing recent posts. however i can say that the hotel now owned by a group and now private is better. yes the evening entertainment on some nights was poor a man with an organ singing but other nights was really good the burlesque the spanish dancing even the bingo was a great laugh. And yes there are a lot of germans but hey if you speak to them they are human after all. Otto the animation man was really good he asked you what you wanted to do, hey your on holiday get up and join in youd be amazed at the fun you can have and if you win its a bottle of champagne. The food was as usual very good i herd some people complaining that there were not enough choices hell at least 10 every night some people are hard to please. pool side snacks were different every morning and it was biscuits and cakes on an afternoon. small tip get a beer mat from the bar rip in half and place in your electric slot during the day keeps your air con on. not many children but my son made friends with them all so he was happy

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Pa...
#16 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#88 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucana

Address: Plaza del Sol 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £95 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lucana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Lucana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucana Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Lucana Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing