We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap Hotel for last minute break!!”
Review of Hotel Lucana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lucana
Ranked #61 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Having visited this hotel in October 2011 for Half term as a cheap quick get away I can certainly recommend. We were very welcomed and even the Germans made us welcomed. There were not many English in the hotel, but to be honest we prefer it that way. Perfect position for the beach and local amenities. The food was of a good standard and was plenty of choice each night although after a week we did get a bit fed up.
Would recommend for a nice cheap get away!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandaandjamesbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lucana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is very clean. Food is very good and has a good variety to choose from. The room we had was for my self, husband and two children was okay. Thee room its self was a good size but very dark as they have converted what looks like a balcony to make a room for the children. When we requested to have a balcony we were told that there were only 4 family rooms and they do not have balconies.
The amination team did not interact with the children until late in our stay. They were more involved with the maturer cliental. The mini disco is advertised to be held 3 times a week and this was only held once whilst we were there to our knowledge. The entertainment was poor and was aimed at the older generation.
The pool area was clean and the pools albet a bit cold were fine. You can hire towels at a €10.00 deposit. The beach you can access easily and is very nice. We walked to the Sand Dunes and had a great time.... well worth the walk!
In all we did have a great time, the weather brilliant but it was February after all.

Room Tip: Dont request a family room. The balcony rooms with sea view are well postioned for afternoon sun,
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TilerBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Hotel was nice,the terase was far to small for the capacity of the hotel,only few tables outside for siting. Pool was nice,good location. Food was great

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 29marquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The service in the hotel was very good in the bars and the restaurant. Special thanks to the Pedros, Ricardo, Wilheminia and Ubay. The wine could be improved so we drank Cava which was fine. The beer is fine and there is a full choice of local spirits and a good selection of cocktails. Red wine or Cava sangrias make a refeshing sundowner. The pool bar shuts at 10pm but the main bar was open to midnight and (sometimes) beyond.
Thanks also to the lady in reception who spoke english excellently and rang to confirm our transfers for us. You pay a deposit for the TV remote and towels at reception. This is understandable for the towels as alot of guests were taking them to the beach and on trips. Safety deposit boxes are in the room and payable.
We were on the third floor so had a sea view but rooms below this have a garden or pool view. If you can stand heights go for the 9th floor (901 best) and you will have a fantastic view towards the dunes of Maspalomas. You can sunbathe on the solarium on the roof where you will also get a fab view.
Rooms are pretty standard with joined twin beds, TV, spacious balcony etc. Ours was a bit tired and the decor a bit dull. The air conditioning seemed to be controlled centrally so it went off in the night when you needed it and our did not work that well but our friends was very efficient. Perhaps we should have reported it as when our friends had a light go they came straight away. The bathroom is very good with a great spacious shower, big vanity unit, bidet, hairdryer, large mirror with a great magnifying mirror for shaving or putting on make-up. It has a good fan and very bright lights as well. Our maid was excellent and the room was spotless. Tip: If you want bath robes just ring reception. These are good if you visit the spa.
Food - Breakfast - cereals, fruit, meats and cheeses, breads, croissants' jams etc, bacon, sausages, eggs - fried, scrambled, frittatas; tomatoes; beans and strangely carrots, beans and other veg. Best was the herby scrambled eggs. Worst were the sausages full of bouncy bits. Area for improvement- took 9 run throughs to brown your toast in the toaster!
Lunch - always a good selection of soups,bread,salads and hot dishes, fruit and ice creams.
Dinner - as for lunch but a wider choice of canapes,hot dishes and chefs specials. They have a gala dinner on a Wednesday. Best - the paellas, mussels, fish, pork ribs. Worst - frozen veg. Area for improvement - appreciate they are catering for all tastes but food could be bland even on the mexican night but I have experienced this in most spanish resorts. There are enough staff but quite often we struggled to find a free table and then had to wait for one and sometimes lay it ourself.
Wine, beer and soft drinks are available in the restaurant but you can take drinks from the bar. TIP - Men must wear trousers in the restaurant.
Entertainment is not really my cup of tea but the Burlesque dancers were good and Elvis had everybody up dancing. The animation team repeated everything in English and it was one of the english couples who won the quiz.
As per earlier review we preferred the smaller pool reached through the pretty gardens with stream (with toe nibbling fish) or via the spa. The pool has fountains and a good built in jacussi. There are also two other jacussis and a small but adequate gym. From this level there is a door with a path straight to the beach. Morning aquarobics took place in this pool as it was much warmer than the big pool.
The beach is lovely with man made chines and you can walk all the way along it or the promenade to the dunes of Maspalomas. This part of the coast is very built up with big hotels and numerous shopping centres, bars, restaurants (It is Blackpool not St Ives).The bus station is around the corner from the hotel and has good links around the island. Puerto Mogan was my favorite as it is very pretty (also popular with Brits). You can bus all the way there or get a ferry from Puerto Rico. Yes as Brits we were very much in the minority, there were 3 other couples and a family besides the 4 of us in The Lucano. As well as Germans there were Norweigans, Finns and Belgians. We found them very friendly and only once at the bar did a man push in front of us but that happens in pubs here too. Brits can be rude too. They did stare a bit but perhaps because we dressed up in the evening and the germans don't seem to bother.
Taxis are abundant and cheap. It was just under 6 Euros for 4 of us to go to The Lighthouse at Maspalomas which is lovely for a special night out. Very nice restaurants, plush hotels and expensive designer shops. Great beach here for windsurfers or boarders. I have been to Ibiza rcently and found the drinks out much more expensive. Usually we found we were paying 15 Euros for 2 large and 2 small beers though

Room Tip: For great sea views towards Maspalomas ask for 901, 801, 701 etc. These are corner rooms, apparently...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diamond1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

M37, F28 we stayed last year in August 2010 had a lovely time, this year in August 2011 it was a totally different experience.

The hotel is 95% German this year it was 50% last year. They are the rudist people i have ever met, No manners, rude, arrogant, push into queues, ignore you and look you up and down as though you are dirt. They make no effort to try and communicate with British guests and i tried, in fact i felt i was invading their hotel and so you feel isolated.
The hotel now has new owners from last year and is now set up as a German hotel. The British rep doesn't even visit the hotel now as there are hardly any Brits she came every day last year. Didnt see her once in two weeks. Other Brit guests were given a number to ring to try and arrange their own coaches at the end of their holiday.

The entertainment is awful, a different man every day playing an organ badly and singing even worse.If you have kids then there is nothing for them to do other than try and get on 1 table tennis table/ pool table by the pool, pool volleyball once a day where the German men more or less have a punch up, this hotel is not for kids. We went out every night as i would of hung myself listening to the hotels entertainment, plenty of night life, kasba center and the yumbo center full of bars and clubs within 15 minute walk, Sparkles showbar at the yumbo is a very good night out.

Lunch and evening meal in the restaurant was ok, men have to wear trousers for evening meal. a reasonable choice with a salad bar and sweets, although the breakfast is poor, cold food, skin covering beans and eggs, twenty person queue for coffee machine, the pool snacks during the day are some dry biscuits in the afternoon which is very poor, nothing else available.

There are a good selection of all inclusive drinks (local booze) from 10am till 12 at night served at the main bar and a poolside one, although when busy and with the Germans pushing in it can take 20 minutes to be served.

You have to get up early for a sunbed by the pool as they are gone by 9 o clock.
The hotel is right by the beach which is good. A couple of minutes walk and the beach is lovely with sunbeds which you have to pay for.

The rooms are clean with air con and the staff are very friendly apart from the people on reception who have adopted the German way of doing things.

Make your own mind up if you like but you wont be seeing me there next year i will try another hotel when i go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woolymammoth663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week 28th August and had a very enjoyable holiday. The room we had was spotless clean with an excellent sea view. The hotel areas we used were the same, with helpful staff who seemed to actually want to be helpful and friendly. The food was always fresh and cooked to a good standard with plenty of choice. Im pretty sure that if our stay had been for two weeks we could have had something different to eat each night compared with the first week. It is also the first hotel we have stayed at that provided a selection for diabetics although im not sure how many nights it was on. The main pool area near to the bar was always fairly busy so we used the smaller pool area which was some 80 to 100 mtrs away down a series of steps. Around this pool were two jacuzzis and a mini outdoor gym all free for use. The steps issue was about the only minor problem that we had during our stay it was a little bit awkward carrying drinks from the bar. The evening entertainment was pretty poor most nights but plenty of bars and shops about if you didnt want to stay in the hotel. Yes there was a lot of Germans but we found most of them to be fine. Anyway a little tip for you we have always found when the Germans use a hotel its normally worth another half a star. Another tip if you are planning to use this hotel they supply you with 1 beach towel per person changeable three times a week for a 10 euro deposit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pandanews75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is not for Brit's wanting a good relaxing holiday full stop…
We are a couple early 40’s looking for a nice relaxing holiday no hassle just a week away to recharge the batteries. We got to the hotel, everything looked great, the hotel was clean, staff pleasant, we thought wonderful. Then we started to realise that the hotel catered only for German people, nothing was in English. What put us off more than anything was the Germans glaring at us all the time it never stopped from the moment we went to breakfast until bedtime, everyone of them did it. I’m not blaming the Germans at all, I blame the tour operator CO-OP travel for offering empty places to Brits in German only hotels, it is unfair on both sides. It would be the exact same for them it they were put in an all English hotel, very uncomfortable.
We do not speak German, but you could make out the word Englander in nearly every sentence when they were in earshot which is not good.
For anyone planning to go to the Ingles resort, it’s worth noting that the 70plus percent of the holiday makers are German, so if it’s not your thing go elsewhere.

I hope I have explained it clearly enough, if you want to feel uncomfortable and be talked about all holiday this place it right up your street. The only good to come out of it were the other 3 English couples who fell into the same trap, we made it a good holiday going out on a night and leaving the Germans playing cards and reading books, while we drunk and partied as only we know how.

Room Tip: Dont get a family room, they are above the swimming pool pump room which starts up a 5am every morni...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Calma
Apartamentos Calma
#35 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#22 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos El Palmar
Apartamentos El Palmar
#56 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
Hotel THe Anamar Suites
#41 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucana

Address: Plaza del Sol 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £110 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lucana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Lucana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucana Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Lucana Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing