We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started well ended well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Sandy Beach
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 July 2014



This hotel belongs to a German chain so as you would expect the majority of guest are German which is not a problem as most of them are polite. They do get preferential treatment however this gets more noticeable during your stay. There is an exception and that is Sr Jose he is really pleasant and very attentive he will often see that you are being overlooked when he is serving in another part of the restaurant and come to the rescue. As for the head waiters some come across quite obnoxious except for Paco Santana who always had a smile and was very pleasant.

Welcome
I must say this was one of the most welcoming experiences I have received we were greeted with a glass of champagne and everything was explained for our stay. There is a €20 deposit for the towels and if you wish to use the safe deposit box in the room you have to pay €2 per day payable at the end of your stay normally when I have stayed away this has been included in the price of the room. There is free wifi in all areas of the hotel which I suppose balances out the price of the safe deposit charge.
The bags were taken to the room by a very friendly and helpful man.

Room
A typical holiday hotel room but it does have a dressing area which we found a bonus. On arrival there were two bottles of water a complimentary bottle of wine and champagne along with a basket of fruit which can be restocked upon request. There is a kettle in the room and you can order tea and coffee via reception. We were on the 6th floor any lower and your pool view is blocked by the palm trees so the higher the better is advisable. The room is cleaned daily but not to the standard of other hotels I have been to such as the RIU's.

Restaurant
As with any holiday hotel the food soon becomes repetitive but there is a good choice and of a good standard. Sometimes you may have to wait for a table especially during busy periods which is expected. Every night there is a different theme but sometimes found it difficult to see the difference. It does depend on who the waiting staff are as to the service you get some are quite abrupt but some are really pleasant.

Bar
This hotel is not exclusively an all inclusive hotel so those on the all in tariff have a restricted drinks menu however many of the drinks are branded which is a bonus.
The bar staff are very friendly especially if you leave a token of your appreciation as they do remember you, your tipple and the measures seem to increase too. There is a small bar area inside which fills up quickly when the entertainment is on. There is no specific drinking area you have to keep your dinner table if you want to carry on drinking after you have eaten. If you do wish to have more drinks after 2300 you will have to pay for them as the all inclusive ends at 2300.

Pool
Not the biggest pool in the world but it's adequate and never over crowded. The sun beds are as in most of this type of hotel like gold dust, you cannot put your towel out until 0845 which really works as it gives everybody a fair chance unlike some hotels I have stayed in where some towels are on the sun beds as early as 0400 which is not the case in this hotel. There are some sun beds by the pool and there is a sun terrace which is very open and gets very hot so beware especially in the first few days until you get use to the extremely hot sun. There is a pool bar which is open until 1900 every day.

Entertainment
This varies every night from knife throwing to the three tenors who were very good, it would be fair to say that it's not the best in the world but creates a good atmosphere.

General area
Approx 30 minutes from the airport and is about 200 yards from the beach. The beach is quite vast with plenty of sun beds which you do have to pay for. There are many bars and eateries all of a similar price. There are some shops about 5 minutes walk from the hotel this is where you also get the bus if you wish to explore this island. Do beware of the timeshare scam they are very convincing and keep telling you it's not timeshare but surprise surprise it is. You will be offered lots of freebies which I assure it is too good to be true so don't get drawn in unless you want a timeshare that is.

So in summary we enjoyed our stay here at the Sandy Beach the food was of good quality and the outside areas were cleaned well but it back to the RIU's in the future but thank you to the majority of the staff especially the reception staff and of course Sr Jose and Paco Santana.

Sent from my iPad

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaveH235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you for this feedback of your recent stay at our Seaside Sandy Beach ****.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had “one of the most welcoming experiences” at our hotel. We will certainly share your special mention with Paco, José, our reception and bar team, who will be proud they could make your stay a memorable one.

However we regret to learn that we were not able to exceed your expectations in all areas; especially the ones we consider among our biggest assets, like the cleanliness of the rooms and facilities and the varied gastronomy.

Moreover our guests come from many different European countries and we strive to deliver an attentive and friendly service to all our guests, regardless of their nationality. We are truly sorry and sad to read that you felt differently.

We really take your feedback seriously and will share your feedback with the relevant departments in order to ensure maintaining our consistently high standard.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which helps us to improve and adapt our services.

With kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Returned on Tuesday from a 10 night stay at this hotel. It was excellent and I'm already looking to go back in October. It is primarily a German hotel, but only one person gave us a problem, which was sorted out immediately by Ursula.
The whole hotel is cleaned and maintained to highest possible standard, every hour of the day.
The staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you out and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. All the staff work really hard, most are there from breakfast to 10pm and later. The food and drinks are out of this world, there is something for everyone.
The rooms are clean and are kept tidy. The pool was lovely and clean.
We had a garden room and it was quiet and just stunning.
Very close to the beach and the Yumbo centre.
The air conditioning is a god send and is in all rooms free of charge. There is a laundry room which is also free to use.
We met some lovely people around the pool, and we are firm friends now.
How this hotel is only a 4* I will never know, without a doubt it should be 5*.
Really can't wait to get back there and relax by the pool with a cocktail :)

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quiet, but still very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Steff,

What a pleasure to hear about your excitement over your recent stay at our Seaside Sandy Beach ****!

Your satisfaction towards our services and gastronomy makes us very proud and we are happy that our team could contribute to making your stay so enjoyable.

We have the great privilege of hosting many different nationalities in our hotel; as I always say “the whole of EU plus Switzerland” likes to stay in our Seaside Sandy Beach.

It is truly rewarding for us to read your praising words and your consideration of our hotel to be up to 5 stars standards. Our team works hard to maintain our high levels of service and your words are therefore much appreciated by all of us- Thank you!

We are glad that you spent an excellent holiday with us and wish to get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

With our best wishes,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just returned from this Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel today from a ten night stay. All the staff were very friendly and ready to help with a smile. We were received by name on arrival and given a room on the fourth floor

Food was fresh and delicious with plenty of options for everyone. To note I am Coeliac ( gluten free) and trying to work out what food I can have every meal time without me being ill afterwards is always a real worry for me . Both chefs in particular were absolutely brilliant, very caring and understanding and were willing to make special suitable dishes.They have a bakery on site so were able to provide me with gluten free bread and pasta. They also made a gluten free cake for me , as normally I would only be able to eat ice-cream or fruit, so this was an amazing treat for me. We have stayed at Sandals resorts and have been lucky enough to stay at some fantastic hotels all over the world, and this hotel offered a level of service to me that they could not meet. This was way beyond any expectations that we both had.


The waiters and waitresses work tirelessly and always with a smile on their face, tipping is not expected but we did and the staff appreciated it. They provide excellent service and we were happy to acknowledge this



Entertainment was very good with different shows every night and live singers who were excellent.

On the last day we were supposed to vacate the room at 12 midday. We asked for an extension until 3 pm which was granted and was much appreciated.

We really enjoyed our stay, thank you to all staff. The manager is also very hands on, she works tirelessly also alongside staff and runs a very organised establishment


We look forward to returning to this lovely hotel and staff. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeartbeatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guests,

We were truly overwhelmed by your kind words and are most happy to read that you enjoyed a fantastic stay at our hotel.

Your praise of our team makes us very proud and we highly appreciate your nice comments on their service and friendliness. It is a great boost for our entire team to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations and to contribute to making your stay such an enjoyable and memorable one.

Our Chefs are truly dedicated to providing an outstanding gastronomic experience to each of our guests and were thrilled to hear that you appreciated their special treats.

Once again, thank you very much for this lovely review. It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guests and we dearly hope to see you again in the near future.

With our best wishes,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just returned rom an amazing holiday at the Sandy beach. on arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and a cold glass of bubbly. We had a garden room number 135 and if you get the chance request it . We had a private terrace with a little garden it was beautiful and peaceful. The staff are amazing who all go beyond the call of duty and take care of everything there are a few that are a bit grumpy but luckily we didn't see them that often. the food has an amazing choice so you can never get bored and the bar has a great choice inc cocktails . The pool bar is an asset and the greatest part of the morning is called the sunbed Olympics where at 8.40 eager tourists wait with their towels to do battle for the pool side sunbeds it was always great fun and ended up with lots of giggles . This is a German hotel but apart from a few everyone got along just fine . We made terrific friends there and have agreed to meet back same time next year. Ursula works so hard ,she never sleeps and is always around to help . I would like to say thank you for the birthday cake very kind . They have a laundry room on site which is great for making sure you don't have dirty stuff to take home. They also have a medic on site should one be needed . we would give this place 10/10 and really cant wait to get back

Room Tip: They say the garden rooms are the cheapest but they really are lovely , very quiet with wonderful tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Sarah,

What a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

We are happy that you were fully satisfied with the tranquillity, comfort and views of your room and appreciated the variety of our gastronomic offer.

Providing an attentive and personalised service is our main concern and it is very rewarding for us to learn that the service by our team could contribute to making your stay a great one.

Please allow us to mention that the Seaside Hotel chain is owned by a German family, but our Seaside Sandy Beach is under Swiss management and we have the privilege of hosting many different nationalities in our hotel.

We truly appreciate your top rating and hope to welcome you back for another renewing stay next year.

With kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel, we were not disappointed from the word go, our room opened out onto the gardens, the room was spotless in fact every where was. The staff are great, the food is outstanding. the hotel is close to the beach if your not a pool person, we had a great holiday and cant wait to go back june next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sharon,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We wish to thank you for highlighting the service of our personnel as well as the general cleanliness of our hotel. Our team was thrilled to hear about your praise.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next summer, we remain with our best regards from Playa del Inglés.

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from a great holiday at the Sandy Beach Hotel. My wife and I were greeted at reception and were treated very well with a glass of champagne each. Check in was very quick and our bags were taken to our room a few minutes later. We arrived at the hotel at 2300 but were given a light snack of cheese dried ham and fruit /yogurt in our room. We were in the ground floor and had a garden view. Our room was actually under the swimming pool but was cool and we had no real complaints as you could hear a pin drop it was that quite at night. The rooms were cleaned daily but we have mixed feelings on the depth and quality of the cleaning. We did notice debris lying in the corridor for about three days including a cigarette end. The other floors were immaculate, so maybe we had a lazy cleaner on our floor. All the cleaners and staff are very friendly in the Hotel and special mention should be made to Nereida in the pool bar, Viera in the main bar and Emilio in the outside bar. All were very good and very approachable. The meals were very good and you even get Champagne for breakfast but not Dom Perignon!!!!. Only joking. The only improvement would be to get a rotary toaster for the hotel as the ones they have are small pair holding 8 bits of toast. The pool area is great and there are no problems getting a bed up to midday. The ppol men will supply you with clean towels and mattresses upon request. There is a deposit for the towels but is refunded on a token basis. The only other charge is for the safe at 28 euros for two weeks. Some people still insisted to queue for beds at 0845 when the pool opened!!! We could not understand why? The entertainment was good with a resident band playing each night until the scheduled entertainment at 2200. This went on till 2300. We had acrobats / Magicians and singers come in along with dancers. The Il Trio opera singers were excellent. The hotel is a 5 min stroll from the back door of the hotel which requires your door access card to operate the lift and to get back in by electronic sliding glass doors. You can haggle for trips at the roundabout on the beach. We managed 70 euros for two on the Sagitarius Star boat which was All inclusive for botth of us with free snorkels and free banana boat ride. Jet ski was extra. We also went on the Bahia Cat which was not as good as you could not lay down to sunbath. We also did the island tour all day including lunch for 58 euros which was very good value as it includes a visit to the Rum Distillery at Aracus. One last thing to note is that be wary of the timeshare sellers at the roundabout by the beach even when they tell you it is not. DO NOT FOLLOW THEM. Also if you are easily shocked be wary if you walk on the beach towards the sandunes as there is a nudist beach which people do mingle with as they walk down to the beach. We did wonder why the beach was busy with walkers!!! Anyway this was a great holiday with good memories and new friends made. Well done to all the staff at the Seaside Sandy Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you want a sea view you need a high room. Good WIFI in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for having chosen Seaside Sandy Beach **** and for sharing your impressions with the traveller community.

How lovely to hear that you spent a great holiday and keep good memories of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our pool area as well as the entertainment with our trio whose voices truly are exceptional.

Above all, we appreciate your praise of our personnel, especially Nereida, Viera and Emilio, who we are proud were able to render a great service through their friendly and attentive attitude. We will certainly share your kind words which are very rewarding and encouraging for the entire team, thank you!

Please rest assured that we will follow up on your remarks with our team members as we strive to ensure that our high standards of cleanliness are consistently met and maintained.

Again, thank you for this lovely review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our 3rd visit here ,and it still is one of the best hotels we have stayed at and,It was so lovely to see that the majority of staff are still there which says a lot as some of them have been there many years, Ursula does a grand job in the restaurant, The food is exceptional,and so clean everywhere ,We will be back !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Paula,

Thank you very much for having returned to our Seaside Sandy Beach **** and for sharing your feedback with the traveller community.

We are happy to learn that you consider our hotel to be “one of the best” and that you appreciated our gastronomy, cleanliness and the friendly service by our team.

It makes us very proud that most of our personnel has been loyal to us for many years and truly enjoys pampering our guests.

We thank you again for this lovely comment and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

With our best wishes,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#6 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £113 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing