We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Sandy Beach
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My adult daughter and I spent a wonderful week at Sandy Beach Hotel, half board. Food was fantastic, staff incredibly helpful, even let us stay later in our room as we had a late flight out at no extra charge. Pool could have been warmer but so near to the warm sea it didnt matter :o)

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

Well what can we say this hotel is 10 out of 10, the food was great no fault lots to choose from. The rooms, bar, restaurant and pool are all great no issues all clean and smart. The staff are the best i have come accros they go the extra mile and it was the icing on the cake, they are all friendly and do take there time to look after you.

A few things that i need to say to put people in the right,

1, Yes the hotel is full of Germans so what!!! they are also was some English, French and Spainsh. If you are english don't be put off with the fact that they are lots of Germans there other wise you mite as well stay in the UK!!! Every nationality that was at this hotel were great and we made friends with some German people which was really good. Also if there are German people there you can be sure of good quality.

2, There was no broken glass near or around the pool.

I would recommend that you try this hotel, we liked it that much that we are looking at booking to go again in May.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkshire_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Have stayed there for 2 weeks from 3rd to 17th of July. Have been together there with my friend. Real pleasure. We had a very fast check in and after 5 minutes, the bellboy knocked on our door with our luggage.
We came just before dinner time, so we went down in the restaurant which is located outside ( in case of bad weather they have a room inside). A few times we came about 7 p.m. so there were no problems with the tables. But if you came after 7, than you could wait a little before you get a place. (tip, come before 7 or after 8 p.m.) Morning buffet is great and big. There are everything from müsli to bacon, eggs and pancakes.
Lunch is not so big but there are a lot of food: fish, meet, potatoes, mini pizzas, different salads.
Dinner is just huge!!! Different fish, shrimps, meats, salads, 10 kinds of cakes, 6 kinds of ice-cream, fresh fruits. And 2-3 cooks are standing by to make some sausages, fish or meet to your order.
In the lobby they wrote everyday what theme there was for the evenings dinner. There been some Austrian, Chines, Mexican, Balcan, gala buffet and others. Everyday there was something new. So even you are on AI for two weeks we did not get tired from food.
Drinks - you can get what ever you want. When you will check in you will get the card with everthing on all inclusive. But anyway the drinks are very cheap.
We also got a safety deposit box, which cost 28 euro for 2 weeks.
Staff were nice and all the time would help you with everthing. Even there are always a lot of people, anyway they been fast enought to serve the drinks.
In the restaurant they have to lines with the smocking tables and 2 nonsmoking. If you dont want to set beside the family with the kids take the smoking line (anyway there are not so much people who smoked, so dont worry about smoke) To AI you will get a card that you have to show in lunch and dinner time (instead of an annoying red wristband) The room we got, #526, was very big, we had room for our clothes ( 2 girls on 2 weeks vacations, try just to imagine the volume) Big bathroom, with the ameneties (but dont know about quality ) The ressort is very big, so try that exit beside the restaurant it is the shortest way to the beach.
Swimming pool is clean and in good condition. The bar close to the pool is open from 11 to 17.The sunbeds area are also in good conditions, and there are always personal who will bring you the mattress or parasol.
On the top of the hotel are jacuzzi which you can rent for 50 euro for few hours with champagne and fruits.You can also find a nude area on the top of the building. Small but good gym you can visit on the 3rd floor.
Every evening there are some entertainment from the woman who is hired by hotel (some quiz and bingo) and also some different dancing and circus group.
The hotel has 2 type of room A and B.Type A on the 1st to 4th floor with the small kitchen, and the 5th to 11th it are standard room. For extra pay you can change you standard room to the more luxury.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
5  Thank fru_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Arrived at 3 in morning. Our room was prepared with a snack and drinks left for us. Some good sound sleep needed and that was what we got. Our room was a pool view but the view was abscured by foliage, however this was a god send as it sheltered us from the sun during the day and kept our room cool. I think this was the largest room we have ever had in a hotel with a walk in dressing area and wardrobe facility which meant there was no excuse for guests to leave an untidy room. the beds were comfortable and sheets were changed I believe daily. There was also a fridge to use and you were allowed to take drinks from the bar in bottles which you could use when you wished.
The management did their best to discourage guests from the selfish act of "reserving" beds around the pool as tthis made their daily task of cleaning the area more difficult. This I'm afraid was an almost impossible task. I really can't see why this practice was so important as their were plenty of loungers and parasols for everyone. In fact one day they replaced all the loungers around the pool for new ones and all the towels placed on the old " reserved " beds were collectively removed by the management. What fun!!
Lounger mattresses were available and carried to your lounger by the pool assistant.
The pool bar was busy and the single bar staff did a remarkable job of serving efficiently, quickly, and good naturedly. What surprised me was that drinks were served in breakable glasses and guests took them back to their loungers around the pool with very few having the basic courtesy to return them to avoid breakages.
The pool was quite large enough for the number of guests with separate children pools, and surprisingly you could swim until 10p.m.
The restaurant was very good. Guests were quickly allocated a table according to their party size. Tables were freshly set for each party ( new cloths each time). The food was excellent in quality and variety. Drinks were served at the table with a system to identify the guests who were all inclusive from others paying for these extras. ( No arm bands worn at this hotel!). As guests were constantly arriving for meals it seemed sensible not to encourage people to just sit at tables for long perids after finishing their meals. Drinks were available at the bar area.
It was fascinating to watch the fastiduous cleaning routine of the food serving areas after each meal which was reassuring to see in any establshment serving and preparing food in a hot climate. I think I only saw one fly in the whole fortnight!
We experienced a sirroco wind in our second week. What an experience and one I really don't want to experience again. The constant wind was like a blast from a hot oven! Flowers just died. It lasted all day and we spent the day in our room except for meals which we ate in the indoor restaurant area.
I believe that this hotel has only recently started receiving any quantity of Uk guests, most were Spanish, German and French and hence their English skills were not as good as the other European languages which did mean that although I believe the staff were very friendly they could not share their pleasantries. This will, I believe, improve over time . But then who am I too criticise as I only have a basic smattering of French!!
On a final note we were to leave the hotel at 11.30 p.m. and were allowed to keep our room until this time and continue our all inclusive basis and were not charged anything!!
This is a hotel who pride themselves on their care of guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Our stay was in school holidays and also the Spanish national holidays, so as British we were out numbered 10-1. This normally doesn't bother me but the beach which is only 200m from the back door of the hotel was heaving with spanish and looked like somebody had emptied Wembly stadium the full length of it! Still it is their country so back to the hotel for a nice drink by the pool - well anywhere within the hotel now this was a task.

Daytime one small hut serving drinks round the pool with one very harassed bar tender which to be fair she did her best but frequently happened to walk off to collect glasses or cups and then wash them. finally you may get your refreshments.

Food is available at the open air seating and kitchens alongside the pool pretty much all day. Breakfast 7-11. Lunc 12-3. Afternoon snacks 3-5. Dinner 6-10. Once seated a senior waiter takes your drink order then a second waiter collect the slip of paper some time later and brings your drinks. This takes an average time of 10 mins to 30 mins. You can then select your food. this |i cant fault as most of it is cooked to order by the chefs, always Steak, chicken and at least 2 types of fresh fish to be barbequed. then Pasta salads, chips, Vegetables, breads, and carvery together with at least 4 dishes like veal a la cream.

food is definately 5 * and expect to put a lot of weight on. However once you have finished your first drink ordered with your meal it is nearly impossible to get a second. The main waiters just ignore you and walk straight past you signalling and calling and are quite rude when they do eventually take your order. So eat till your hearts content but a drink....you definately wont be taking advantage at this hotel of the all inclusive and my husband and i bought drinks locally, put them in the fridge in the room and frequently drank those. Sort of paying twice really!

So back to the rooms. We booked a pool view room but were given a downstairs (2 floors beneath the pool) road view side room. However after looking at the foilage around the pool and speaking to the other guests unless you were above the 8th floor you looked straight into the overgrown palm trees and the rooms were very dark all day.
The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were that flat you felt your head was underneath you. Sleep was better on the sunloungers around the pool!
the towels were changed daily but the beds... The valance on ours was grey from the mopping of the floor and had probably never been changed.

Entertainment. Very little throughout the day. Mini club for the kids, however the English children were ignored when they went to join in and one afternoon Myself and two dads ran our own games within the kids pool of walk the pirate plank with up to 9 children of all nationalities so it can be done!
The table tennis table was then monopolised by the very professional looking orientals who even bought their own bats!
Each evening their was a show of various dance styles or a fashion show supported by a duet singing. shows were ok but bar service same as dinner only one per person!

Overall. We booked this holiday for the location of the hotel - 30 mins transfer from airport, and 200 metres from beach, All inclusive. It definately ticked all these boxes however the staff spoil it, in the resturant Xavier was the only male waiter and the girl in the grey suit with the blonde hair (sorry cant remeber her name) was the only female we had any positive interaction from.

This 4 star hotel could easily be a five star with a different crew operating it. We did have a lovely holiday though, value for money - 2 adults, i child aged 5, day flight from Birmingham, tranfers included £1606 all inclusive during school holidays for 7 nights booked with Low cost holidays. Everybody's budget is different but I feel we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceyhBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Just returned and had a great time.There was 5 in our party and were made welcome from start to finish.The hotel was spotless considering the size and the food was better than expected great choice everyday(put on over half a stone).The hotel had entertainment in the day from darts and table tennis to waterpolo and football, but the evenings left a lot to be desired thought the resident duo were chronic .The hotel is centrally located but to be honest did not like the resort, too spread out and wont be returning but hotel was saving grace the staff were out of this world .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casewilltravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

On entering the hotel at 915pm the man at reception was very welcoming & whizzed us through so that we could make it to the restaurant which closed at 9.30pm.We left our cases in the foyer to be taken to our room whilst we ate. The food is like any other buffet service, however, drinks are ordered via the bar or waiter & your room number taken. There was a little confusion with our room number when ordering our drinks, the waiter was rude & spoke to us as if we were stupid, ( we presume where we d been rushed through the room number hadnt been set up yet) when it turned out not be our mistake-the waiter stormed off muttering-Great start we thought! Our room was very clean & spacious with a small dressing room, massive shower in the bathroom & a large balcony 'over looking the pool'- although a palm tree blocked most of our view. Something I find makes or breaks the look of a room is co-ordinating bedding, curtains etc, yes, I know thats probably really sad to most, but I like things to match, in our room even the massive sofa bed matched! I slept like a log at night- I usually wake several times when not in my own bed, we did meet another family whose mattresses were uncomfortable although these were changed on request. Food was delicious, a selection of freshly cooked meats- ie steak, fish, pork or chicken per meal aswell as meats in sauces, several veg, salad, chips, roast potatoes, mash & pasta meals. As well as fresh fruit & several desserts. My 7 year old daughter loves strawberries so we asked if they ever served them. From then on, for the rest of our stay on most days we had a bowl of strawberries left in our room! When abroad we usually go AI but my husband (being a fussy so & so) usually wants to eat out within days of arriving, the food here was so good that we only ate one meal out & that was because we d gone to the beach for the day! Towards the end of our stay the hotel was closing for a restaurant refit. So as guests left- no more were taken in, which was great for us. By our last day there were only 11 of us left, we had the pool to ourselves & were treated like royalty! Even the initial rude waiter was giving beaming smiles towards the end of our stay.
In a nutshell- Bad points; The pool did nt feel as heated as we thought it would be- having said that my husband mentioned it to the assistant manager who said to find her when it felt chilly again & she would check it. The AI finished at 11pm. There were no snacks between breakfast & lunch, only cakes & fruit between lunch & dinner. And nothing after dinner.
Good points- Too many to really include but some of them are- Very clean, rooms are large. Apart from the initially rude waiter & a waitress who was polite but always looked like she was sucking a lemon, everyone fell over backwards to help & were always smiling. Plenty of sun beds- with mattresses. Beach towels supplied, Kids club- although a lot of the activities were repeated frequently. Excellent food. Only a few minutes from the beach. You can close your eyes & make random directions-you will always come to a shopping centre within 15 minutes. Only 30 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wise_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £125 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing