We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The staff,food, surroundings are all of a very high standard. The first time we holidayed in Gran Canaria we stayed at the Riu Palace Melonaris which is also a very good hotel and the location is possibly better than this one but there is just something special about this place it keeps drawing us back. We would agree with the comments made by Brummy40, we too are happy to enjoy the hotel surroundings and only venture out when visiting the small well price super market only a few yards away from the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea facing room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    368
    110
    26
    14
See reviews for
195
1,015
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our third visit to this magnificent hotel so that should say enough about the quality as stated by most other reviews before. However, some clients go too far in pushing their limits. For the second time we saw two dutch couples, whom you can't miss at their territorial marked site next to the toilets of the main swimming pool, each needing 2 mattresses and a pile of towels to suit their comfort. They didn't even bother when mattresses weren't available anymore. Shame on them to exploit the professional behavior of the hotel staff and the good manners of other guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great food, spacious room, lovely view and very friendly service. Could not find one thing to complain about during the 7 days we spent here! To be honest, we did not expect a hotel like this in Playa del Ingles.
Our one year old baby received extra attention from the staff. We were kindly given a room with large private terrace, which was perfect for the little one to run around safely. The childrens' pool is small, but enough for us. There weren't many families with kids in the hotel, so we had it basicly to ourselves. Getting around with the pram was easy (both in the hotel and the surrounding area.
We had breakfast + dinner in the hotel every day and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the variety. Can definately recommend both! We are big eaters and don't mind spending money on good food. But there was no point leaving the hotel for food, because I don't think we would have found better anywhere else in the city.
This was our first visit to a Riu hotel, but definately not the last.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The only decent thing in playa del ingles! Hotel, like many in the chain, is great. Pity it can't be shifted elsewhere though. The resort is grim and full of horrible hotels from the 1970s. This hotel is an oasis and offers great service. Just plant yourself there and don't bother venturing out though!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

After my first stay in a Riu hotel in mexico I was totally blown away with how amazing it was. This hotel was ok, but not as good as a previous stay with Riu. The hotel is clean and tidy, some parts are quite dated and in need of upgrading. From other comments I can say 90% of the customers here are german and sadly that means most of the staff speak german, none of the staff I spoke to spoke clear english, The menu for dinner although has theme nights it mainly german oriantated. If I did stay here again I would not have the dinner package added as it did not seem worth it and the selection was very limited unless you are into german foods. The pool area is clean and tidy, but finding a waiter is not alway easy. At one point it was quicker to walk to the bar and pay for the drink than wait for the waiter to come over. The rooms are quite old fashioned, remind me of a 70's room, but water pressure is really good and hot, which is not always the case. If you are hiring a car out dont expect to get parking space in the hotel grounds as most of the maids use them. Views are excelent from here and everything is only a couple of euro taxi drive away. It is nice enough and I would mark it 7/10, I think that I was so amazed by the Riu in mexico my expectations were to high but in fairness it was nice enough and think most people would be happy here.

Room Tip: Sea view is by far the best which will include the pool and dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

First some small whining: the bed was a bit hard, so if you are used to a softer one, it might be an issue. The walls (as always in Spain) are thin, and you can here everything from your neighbors, the good news being the clients being very silent and well behaved. The hotel room is very classical, so if you are looking for a hip design hotel, don't come here. The bathroom would need some updating, but served well its purpose, and I guess it's also ecological keep the things as they are. There was wifi only in the lobby area (it that would be something you need during you holiday...)

Playa del Ingles in general, and the corner of the hotel is quite an uninteresting area, and the (of not so good quality) shopping centers are a bit of walk away (there is, however a little supermercado just opposite to the hotel). And the beach is of course behind the dunes, which might be exhaustive for a person, who is not fit.

So what did impress us? It was the service and the overall friendly attitude of the people working there. One really felt welcome! The hotel also turned out to be very "gay friendly", i.e. they were equally friendly with everybody, as it should be. In addition the breakfast buffet was great, the pool area beautiful, the view to the dunes fantastic (you might need to pay extra for that), the cleaning was superb (the hotel is situated by sand dunes, and there was never sand inside the hotel!), the Krystal restaurant was very good (needs and extra reservation; it's the little one behind the main dining room), and the location with regard to the dunes perfect (it's not a bad idea to have a picnic there, as long as you take your rubbish back and do not easily get offended naked men, as it is an unofficial nude area, especially in the part were there are bushes).

We like the hotel so much, that we might go back. It was better than the huge five star Lopesan Costa Meloneras hotel other side of the dunes (especially the breakfast was less noisy and with better variety), and surprisingly it competed with its service level with the Four Seasons Bophorus in Istanbul, which is of course in a totally different class of hotels.

Room Tip: You might consider paying extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

OK here goes – I’m not going to repeat what everyone else has said. We do like spending time at this hotel – we were there in Jan & March - never seen so many "returnees" of different nationalities but here are a few observations.

New innovation – the hotel has now started serving bar snacks, either to the small bar area outside the lunch time restaurant or directly to your beach bed.

Which leads on to?

They could do with a few more places in the bar area – as the weather was great, people were waiting for a table to clear in order to get a drink & sit under a parasol.

The dress code in the restaurant at night time needs to monitored & reinforced – there were a few instances of people wearing shorts & baseball caps – surely its not asking too much for people to dress appropriately.

The “House Band” is changed every 2 months – the one we caught in March were very German orientated – having said that, it is the Germans who dominate the dance floor – they really do enjoy their dancing.

One of the main attractions of this hotel is its proximity to the sand dunes – however as someone else has already touched on, it can also be its downfall. In January the wind really got up & it constantly rained sand for 3 days, to such an extent that it was impossible to take advantage of the sun. The terraces & pools were submerged in sand & it was not pleasant at all. It doesn’t happen often however. A minor irritation & it won’t stop us becoming “returnees”

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talamanca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.5 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing