We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We just got back from our holiday last night. The holiday was a last minute decision (just a week before we actually went) and our decision to stay at this hotel was predominantly based on the great reviews here on Tripadvisor. So it's only fair I add my opinion about this hotel as well.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and always willing to help.

Food: D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S!!
The food was absolutely delicious, as someone else mentioned in the previous review here - food that you'd die for. Breakfasts and dinners are a in a form of a buffet and you can have a table service too but the fantastic variety of food you can try in one night from the buffet is spectacular. There's plenty of choice for vegetarians, meat, fish/sea food lovers, just simply some delicates for everyone. Also worth saying, you can have a yummy lunch in the pool restaurant as well.

Accommodation - Very good
We were very lucky and were given a room on the top floor and our side of the hotel was also facing the dunes. The view was beautiful and as it overlooked the dunes and the sea it actually felt like you were in Egypt. We were also very lucky having quiet neighbours as the truth is that the walls are actually quite thin and you could hear your pals' conversations especially late at night. The room's furniture as well as the the whole hotel's could really do with a bit of upgrade as it's slightly worn off. But it's essential to say that the hotel has a very nice character. Our room was spotless, and really anywhere you went in or around the hotel everything was perfectly clean. The swimming pools were brilliant. Good sizes for keen swimmers and nicely located, the main pool is right next to the pool restaurant and the bar which overlooks the dunes and the view is just gorgeous. You don't have to worry about not getting a lounger, there's plenty of them for everyone.

Hotel entertainment
It'd be interesting to hear what other guests thought of the evening performances. We thought it was maybe 5 out of ten. Most of the evenings you'd get various singers singing in English and the same songs. The most played one was 'I will always love you' and hearing it for the fifth time although in a different version was getting on our nerves. I have to say that it was very enjoyable to sit on the hotel terrace late at night and enjoy your cocktails whilst listening to live music. BUT, it'd have been much more appreciated to hear some Spanish songs once you are on a Spanish island and not in the UK!

Hotel sports facilities
There's two tennis courts (costs 10Eur per hour) a spa that we didn't use. It's a shame that the hotel doesn't have more gyms and squash courts and also a bit cheaper.

Location
It was ok. It can be excellent, depending what you do and where you go.
It took us approximately 15-20 minutes to walk over the dunes to get to Playa del Ingles from the hotel. It was fun but it can be a good exercise for your legs. The beach (if you walk straight line across the dunes from the hotel) is nice and also less busy than main part of the beach where all the bars and restaurants are. Worth mentioning, if you want to avoid the dunes, you can just walk on the foot path and it will get you to the busy area of Playa del Ingles in about 30min.

If you want to experience realy Spanish/Canarian looking night clubs/places to go out have fun than you may be disappointed. On advice from our travel agent we took a taxi (about 5min journey and cost 3Eur) to the nearest place where we could go out, dance salsa and just enjoy ourselves. When we arrived it was a huge disappointment. It was full of tatty old looking disco clubs, full of steak houses and drunk British people. So we immediately returned back to the hotel. So if you want something more Spanish, more like salsa or just something different that you don't have in the UK you may be not be impressed.

However, it's worth making a trip to the top mountains (either renting a car or via agency as an organised trip) and go up to a little old town called Teror. On the way up, you'll have some amazing views and get a feeling like you're partially in South America and Sicily. The scenery is diverse, very picturesque and it's certainly worthwhile.
If you're a lover of watersports, you can go surfing with a surfing school that's just based by the Playa del Ingles. We went surfing for the first time and it was a great day out. The crew picked us up from our hotel and took us to the Play del Ingles where we learned how to surf. A wet suit and a lunch were provided on the day which was great.

Overall, it was an amazing week and a fantastic holiday for us. Would I go back? Yes I would.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor overlooking the dunes and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jeanina89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at the Riu Palace for the first time this June to celebrate our 21st anniversary. From start to end the staff were friendly and professional, sending up flowers and wine to our room. The sea view room we asked for was modern and clean and the food in the restaurant was much better than I thought it would be. We ate at the Kystal restaurant too which is excellent. Breakfast on the terrace is a great way to start the day so go early to get a table. Unfortunately the resort has seen better times and the Yumbo was depressing so we chose to stay within the hotel most nights. The drinks and cocktails are reasonable and I think this is the first time I have had a holiday where I felt so relaxed and chilled. We will definately return!

Room Tip: Higher floors with a sea view and balcony are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here the end week of June and had a fantastic stay. Food, staff and hotel lovely, rooms are comfortable and clean but traditionally decorated and could do with modernising. Pool area was clean and plenty of sun loungers avaliable. Bars and restaurants were a 20 min walk along a promenade which was fine but felt like quite a treck in the sun. Over all brilliant break and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesgettingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for a week at the end of June. Having been to gran canaria a few times we decided to try the Riu Palace Maspolomas. The hotel reception staff are really friendly, welcoming and helpful. We arrive on a Saturday evening so were told that dinner would be at 8.30 and they explained that we would have the same table all week. When we arrived for dinner, as we were a group of 4, we were informed they did not have any tables available for us so had to wait nearly 20 mins for one to become available. This did seem a little strange as there is only 2 sittings for dinner. The restaurant has quite a variety of food available although some of the quality isn't great (bread rolls are quite stale) but overall the food was good. Some of the staff in the restaurant were quite rude, not all of them but you felt like you were in the way of some of them!

Our room was big enough and very clean. I understand the hotel is due a refurbishment which is problably needed. Wifi is only available in reception and on the terrace - if would have been useful to have this throughout the hotel but not essential. The pool was very clean and we did not have any problems getting sunbeds round the pool although we were there by 9.30 every morning.

We had a great week and the weather was fantastic. There are a few bars around in some of the local centres if you want to get out in the evening but I would recommend going to Melonaras rather than either the Cita Center or Kasbar.

The watermark is a great day out if you need one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen_stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Having just returned from this hotel,i can only repeat what everyone has has stated.......Although situated in a quite position...there are,restaurants & bars EMPTY OF AN EVENING!!!!!) all you want,including entertainment is within the hotel,drinks are expensive.Half an hour walk into the outskirts of Playa De Ingles,along the promenade are also bars & restaurants struggling for buisness.
Nothing to moan about with this hotel,i have no intention of repeating what everyone else has said,if you have rooms overlooking the pool,and you leave your patio door open,it can be noisey up to 12,also first thing in the morning 7am when cleaning the patio area starts.No more moans just a brilliant place to stay,expensive yes,but worth it....PS FOOD TO DIE FOR,COULD NOT BE BETTERED ANYWHERE.

Room Tip: If you have a sleep problem keep away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george32surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed for 11 nights end June/beginning of July. Agree with other reviews, the hotel is lovely and we had a great time. The style of the hotel is a bit formal for my taste, but everything was immaculate. Staff were very good, helpful and friendly without being 'characters' which can get a bit wearing.

Food excellent. I especially liked the fresh strawberry juice at breakfast! I don't really like the Riu system of two sittings for dinner, and agree that some of the tables are too close together but that's a minor niggle really. Also appreciated being able to buy wine by the glass as I drink white and my husband red, so neither of us had to compromise! Ate in the Krystal restaurant once, the food was very good but helpings were large.

The pools are lovely, appreciated swimming in the smaller pool late afternoon/early evening when there was a guy playing sax on the bar terrace and the sound floated over.

At first I wasn't too keen on the location, but after a few days realised it was pretty good. The hotel overlooks the dunes, but it was too hot to walk across them. You can walk along the coastal promenade to Playa del Ingles beach. Just a short walk up the main road and you come to the bus stop at the roundabout, where you can catch buses all over the place - the Faro at Maspolomas, Palmitos Park, Puerto Mogan or Las Palmas - all great trips. The Yumbo Centre is further up the road, either great fun or hellish depending on your view, but usually entertaining at least.

I don't get up early, and we often went out and came back to the hotel at different times, but never had a problem getting a sunbed. Sometimes had to queue for an outside table at breakfast, but never for very long. Some reviewers have said the German guests got preferential treatment, but a huge proportion of guests here are return visitors (some have been here over 20 times) and I think it is more likely that the staff know them than that they are giving preference to a certain nationality.

All in all, had a great holiday and really did not want to come home!

Room Tip: we overlooked the side road leading down to the dunes, which was very quiet and cool in the afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is called Riu Palace Maspalomas but really it's in Playa del Ingles which is not as nice as Maspalomas. The only reason it's probably called this is because it overlooks the Dunes of Maspalomas which are fantastic and if you have the legs to work them, then do so. The hotel itself is magnificent and once they know your name on checkin, everyone will address you everyday like a longlost friend who can't do enough for you. The service, rooms, food, entertainment and surroundings are clearly five star and it's worth every penny. You have got lots of shops & entertainment in Playa del Ingles but it's really for the younger set and not for me.
If you love to be pampered and spoiled, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can afford a Dunes & seaview then it's worth every penny. Do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,581 reviews
1.0 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,641 reviews
29.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £162 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing