We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ruby wedding and birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ruby wedding and birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a great hotel, staff excellent, room cleaned thoroughly every morning, choices for breakfast and evening meals were excellent, drinks/ great measures Facilities first class, plenty of beds and parasols, fresh towels every day in room and at pool. They went out of their way to help us celebrate our anniversary/birthday, iced bucket with cava and flowers in room, petals and candle on our dinner table etc Only negative I can think of is that the evening entertainment could have been better. However, everything else was so good that we will certainly return.

Room Tip: all rooms looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    368
    110
    26
    14
See reviews for
195
1,015
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grunstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I and my husband have stayed at this hotel approx ten times over the past nine years, and We just love being there. The service is excellent from the moment you enter the hotel. You are made to feel valued and treated as an individual. The glass of cava is always a nice gesture on entering the hotel and start your holiday. Breakfast starts at 8am, and seating is indoors and outside. The food is wonderful , with cava on tap and on ice. Hot fresh, food combining continental, and traditional. To sit out side in the morning on such a beautiful terrace for breakfast , starting the day with a chilled glass of cava is wonderful. Dinner is served at two seatings. Winter time at 18:00 and 20:00 and Summer time at 18:30 and 20:30. Reception will adjust according to suit but you will keep the same setting and table for your stay. The food once again is excellent , with a variety to suit everyone. This hotel is immaculate with a classic theme. Is there anything I think needs to be improved , yes , the evening entertainment is not good. The house band the Silvers need replacing , and the rest of the evening entertainment is either non existent or for a kindergarten. The guests are mainly German, with a percentage of Belguim, Holland,and UK. I have to comment that there is very little for families and children at this hotel. It trends towards couples aged 50 plus. To conclude attentive ,friendly staff. Excellent food, and just Simply the Best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for a two week period in September and found the hotel to be first class. Food excellent with a great variety. Our room was made up first thing every morning and thoroughly cleaned. One draw back was the walk to the beach which was very taxing however we got a taxi at the door of the hotel for 5 euros which was well worth it. The only other problem we had was with our waiter who for some reason took an instant dislike to my husband and constantly spilled wine or soup at my husbands side of the table. Avoid table 47 and Jacobo. This was the only member of staff who let the hotel down.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a sea view and great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

a last minute booking with thompsons and was extremely pleased with the quality of the hotel.
arrived 9pm and was taken straight to the dining room for evening meal. the resturaunt choice self service buffett) and quality was some of the best we have ever had (we have been on a dozen cruises too) the service throughout the hotel including cleaners seemed first class.
the location on the sand dunes was unique but a hard slog if you want to walk to the sea, which must be done if your fit enough. 2 nice swimming pools. only a short walk to centre of playa des ingles but that could be any of the spannish costas. overall top hotel, friendly staff and good value for money

Room Tip: if you REALLY want a room with a good view pay the extra, we were lucky and had one without the upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Check in was quick and efficient, staff were exceptional, couldn't do enough for you and always smiling. We travelled 1st week in October and did not have any problems getting a sun bed. There was a good selection of food which was nicely presented with something to suit everyone's requirements. Accommodation was good but the air con wasn't very efficient. I agree with previous reviews, the drinks are expensive but there is a supermarket just across the road where you can buy drinks to have on the balcony while watching the sun go down (there is a fridge in the room for keeping the drinks cool). More suitable for couples as opposed to families with young children - would consider returning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room 1st floor and up overlooking the pool and dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsash, Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Recently returned from 2 week break (1st 2 weeks September) and room, food,service and facilities were 1st class.
difficult to find any faults - staff were attentive without being annoying, food was excellent and particularly the option to eat in the Krystal restaurant - we dined there 3 times and each time was brilliant.
room was super - view across the dunes ( 4th floor and terrace with the sky above you --great ) and the pools were very good so cannot really fault it other than sun lounger deficit -- lots of towels and few spare seats on some days.

thoroughly recommend hotel - not the cheapest nor the dearest but we were made to feel welcome and looked after well.

good golf too - rec LOPESAN MELONERAS GOLF really lovely course with some interesting holes - much more interesting than Maspalomas course - very flat. also food at course v good and not expensive

Room Tip: go for 4th floor for elevation and balcony with great view and clear sky above !! great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This is supposed to be a Thomson 5 T platinum experience. It was poor.
The air con in the room took 12 hours to cool the room on arrival. It clearly needs updating. The hotel could do nothing for us on this.
There are too many guests for the pool and restaurant areas and you are competing with rude German guests who made up most of those at the hotel... Many of which were 'parading' gay men. All of this was unusual for a family hotel? Sunbeds were claimed at dawn by towels and the hotel did nothing to manage this. The rule was get up early or get no sunbed. The towels were laid out early and the beds not occupied until late morning or afternoon.
The Thomson rep was rubbish. He could not deal with a complaint and averted his gaze when we tried to engage with him.
This was supposed to be a relaxing break and it was not.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Quality W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.5 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing