We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, friendly hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in room 4044 - great views of the dunes, sea and grounds.

This is a really good hotel, well situated if you want a quiet relaxing holiday, or if you want to enjoy the party life of Gran Canaria!

Confortable rooms, immaculately clean with friendly housekeeping staff.

Stayed on half board basis - good variety of food and waiting staff and chefs cooking fresh food in restaurant were hospitable and friendly too. Food selection was varied with a Canarian corner each night - letting you taste local food.

Pristine, well maintained grounds makes this an ideal chill out hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from the Riu Palace.This was our third stay.Hotel as ever impeccable.
Attention to detail was fantastic rooms cleaned to a high standard.All staff at breakfast and evening meal very attentive.Food choice was excellent all tastes catered for.Great hotel for couples who want a lazy week in excellent surroundings.This hotel is one I will definitely be returning to.

Room Tip: Tip avoid breakfast rush go down 9.30 get a table on the outside balcony enjoy a glass of Cava and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 14 days and when we arrived at 11.30pm after missing one of our cases at the airport we were greeted by TONI. Left all the details with him and he was amazing! 1st class service!! The suitcase arrived the next day thanks to him! He always seem to be there from early morning till late at night. The hotel staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble from them, you can tell they enjoyed there work. At breakfast our waiter ENRIQUE was brillant and also JOSE PENQ our evening waiter were excellent, and GLORIA IBIS who serviced our rooms to a great standard! The food was amazing, so much choice!!! If we ever come back we would love to stay here again!!!! Thank you to everyone for a brilliant holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 14 days, the hotel was very clean, the staff in all areas were excellent, they were always polite and happy, The only problems with this Hotel are the attitudes of the guests, they are mainly German and if you can't speak in German you get ignored and treated as if you are from another planet ! Sorry but we will not return to this hotel, there are far more places to enjoy your holidays

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great service, Great food, Great location Rooms very big we had a room at the back of hotel over looking the sea & sand doings! We will defo be bck hotel was very safe staff very friendly. We had good everyday in hotel 10/10 something for everyone in the food hall

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed many times in the hotel and its really the best place so for. I tried also other hotels and the RIU palace maspalomas is the best.

I agree, they should refurbish the hotel but its still a very nice place to stay.

When i ll go back to gran canaria i ll stay there again for sure.

Stayed: August 2013
5  Thank Twentytwentyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

In general, good value for the money holiday resort. Let me flesh out my observations a bit.

Rooms. Mine was not very big but adequate. It was furnished with a small TV, full bathroom and a terrace. Floor is with a carpet which I personally don't like very much. No bathropes or slippers provided. Bath gel + shampoo in a common doser attached to the wall over the bathtubs. Rooms are clean and generally quiet except for the noisy cleaning which starts VERY early in the morning (cleaning ladies talk loudly in occasions and of course make noise not filtered by the walls so you will be woken up) . Beware if you are among those who like to wake up late while on holiday.


Facilities. Well furnished for a holiday resort: swimming pools, Jacuzzis (exterior), wet and dry saunas, tennis court, hairdresser, small gym, massages,etc. 


In the pool areas (two main pool areas) is very difficult to find free sunbeds and parasols. And everybody simply ignores the instruction for not reserving sunbeds, which is not at all enforced by staff.


No WiFi in hotel except in a packed area near the reception (this can be a nuance or a bless depending on how you look at it). Other than that there is a small room with 3 computers (one of them connected to a printer) costing 1 Euro for 15 mins connection. This is a holiday resort and not by any chance a business hotel so don't book here expecting it is in any way (I.e. if you try to work remotelly at times while your family enjoys the holidays, as I''ve done sometimes).


This is not a beach hotel. Beware of it. To get to the beach you need to walk a long way (20-25 mins) through a promenade overlooking the dunes until you reach a stair that leads to to the beach area in one extreme of the Maspalomas beach. The alternative is to cross the dunes, which takes also 15-20 at good path and is definitelly not suitable to everyone. Both options are very challenging or simply not suitable to handicapped people. Maspalomas beach is nice, if you are ok with nudism.


Buffets both for breakfast and dinner are abundant and varied and of pretty good quality.


Waiter service in pools is ok in the larger swimming pool area but less frequent in the smaller area (more far away from the bar). In general, cost is quite adequate and variety is ok.


If you ask they will tell you they have a free parking, but actually parking area is very limited with just a handful of parking slots and most likely all will be occupied when you try to park.


Riu chain brags on the friendliness of their staff. In my experience I would say staff is generally friendly, but somehow inconsistently: some are friendly, a few barely answer to a "Buenos días". Some make an effort to be very friendly with some hosts and pretty much ignore others. In general, most are at least correct and a few excell at their customer-orientedness. 


Most of the hosts I would say are foreighners (many german).


In general a nice resort with good ratio quality vs cost.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Meridio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
658 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £122 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Alpha Holidays Limited, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing